HomeОбразованиеRelated VideosMore From: Britec09

Dangerous Cryptolocker Ransomware Virus

232 ratings | 11033 views
Dangerous Cryptolocker Ransomware Virus [email protected] crypto ransomware “Attention! Service return of credits casinos, informs you about the arrest of your files and suspension of the operation of your computer. For resolution of situation, please contact our customer support. – [email protected]” In this video we will take a look at HitmanPro.Alert 2, I will be testing it against a new crypto ransomware called [email protected], its a nasty crypto ransomware which can encrypt all your data files on your computer, dropbox and mapped network drives, once encrypted, you data will be held to ransom for a sum of money until you pay the cyber-criminal, never pay for decryption of data. If you have never herd about this, then that is good news for you, because it means you have not been infected by this infection, this type of malware can cripple a company in no time and infect every workstation on the network HitmanPro.Alert 2 http://www.surfright.nl/en/alert http://www.briteccomputers.co.uk
Html code for embedding videos on your blog
Text Comments (88)
Ahmet KUYUMCU (1 year ago)
I thank you very much. You take this risk to download the viruses to your computer without fearing to show them to us. Thank you very much. You do not get your labor back, it makes me sad. :(
it's over. (2 years ago)
I just wanted to say that Firefox turns off security system sometimes. For example Norton. I use avast! and Malwarebytes Anti-malware + task manager. But once I got hacked somehow.
Jon Joneza (2 years ago)
also minus having backups the next best thing to counter ransomware/encryption is GPO policies that can deny the ability to change the file formats ect in certain folders.
Jon Joneza (2 years ago)
One correction. its not difficult to be 100% protected. It is impossible :P but nice video. Honestly in this day in age educating users not to blindly click on stuff or open attachments is more important than any software made to prevent infection.
Alrek Arinbjorn (3 years ago)
you should troll the tech-support scammers
Daniel Dawn (3 years ago)
Is there any way I can block Cryptolocker from accessing the network? Because that would be a pain. I can backup anything important to Google drive.
followfornothing (4 years ago)
Your background disappeared too!
thermaldog (4 years ago)
Britec09 fantastic videos! what is your anti-virus software of choice? is just HitmanPro? I use ESET NOD32 and malwarebytes, what do you think of these?
Richard Gailey (4 years ago)
Brian, can you run the same virus again in a test environment, but this time use CryptoPrevent by FoolishIT to see if it helps. CryptoPrevent was one of the first tools to be created when the CryptoLocker virus was first released. It's also free and very useful for your readers. Blocks against other nefarious malware as well due to its GPEdit functions.
Britec09 (4 years ago)
+Richard Gailey There was no software at the time of making this video that was blocking this variant.
JOHN PLAYS MC (4 years ago)
Great vid Brian It was your vids wich got me interested in learning about these nasty online threats keep up the good work if it wasn't for you I whouldnt have known about these nasty crypto ransomewares
JOHN PLAYS MC (4 years ago)
Could you possibly do a video on the crypto vrius known as CTB-locker
Chickerino Radio (4 years ago)
the virus can still encrypt some data until hitman pro alert detects it and blocks it... btw its an epic program!
samrosario1060 (4 years ago)
I purchased Malwarebytes Premium via.  Download and a Malwarebytes Portable Disc which gave me the Chameleon program.   Could you please create a video which explains about the purchase of  the Malwarebytes Premium download version and the Malwarebytes Portable Disc, and the correct way to use either of them.
Michael Moose (4 years ago)
AppGuard  is light and will protect you from cryptolocker!  Also, Shadow Defender will stop this headache!
Michael Moose (4 years ago)
Hitman Pro is not that good at cleaning mal-ware!  Replace with herdProtect! Not a good ideal to Hitman Pro Alert and  Malwarebtyes Anti-Exploit egual a headache! One or the other but, not both!
kjemradio (4 years ago)
Another good one Brian.  I'm not surprised by these results.  What you tested, and the folks over at Surfright tested could have been different variants of this cryptolocker-esque virus.  No two viruses are ever going to act the same, and when you consider over 70K viruses are released into the world daily, this will happen.  That's why when tech companies or magazines run these anti-virus scans and say "product X is far superior to product Y" is a BS proposition.  If they did the test 10 minutes later they'd get a different result. As you said nothing is 100% guaranteed in the anti-virus world.  Imagine the lawsuits if companies made the claim "we guarantee our product will never allow a virus on your system."  That's why they don't I'd like to see you run this test again on the same machine.  This time load it with free anti-virus (like Comodo or Avast), and MalwareBytes Pro, and see if in fact those tools working together can prevent the encryption.   What we techs need to teach is that security is layered.  So a tool like this along with anti-virus, MalwareBytes Pro, Web of Trust, Abine's DoNotTrackMe will give greater protection. Ultimately we can't stop those people who insist on opening attachments from people they don't know, or going to bad sites by clicking on an email link.  Ironically if they did stop, folks like you and I would be out of work.  LOL
Sammy 234 (4 years ago)
can you make a vido on how to stop your computer to stop rebooting on start up plz 
chickenpwn000 (4 years ago)
Will you do a video on solely decrypting files? I'd appreciate that greatly. I know last year in January you linked us one tool called "Birele File Decrypt" or something, but I think that was only for that specific encryption that was done by that piece of ransomware. Could you show us other ways of decrypting files with other tools or other methods please?
starfiremale (4 years ago)
Just got a new PC and want to download some of your recommendations I had on my old one,, has tube removed some of your vids cos I can't see the ones I want,,
Lazar Lazarius (4 years ago)
Like allways great vid, ...... I use Malwarebytes Anti Exploit - and hapy to see video  if you can.   bye
Graham Linux (4 years ago)
Surf the web using Linux, its safer. Use Windows for offline work if you need windows programs.
ironic meme (4 years ago)
Ok
Graham Linux (4 years ago)
+Ticci-Toby and Masky (theasdfman. my name changed XD) Steam machines will have Debian Linux as its operating system but I am sure most people will have no idea as it will be skinned so you can't tell I am sure. There will be similarities to Android in that the equipment will be from different manufacturers just like Android is Samsung HTC etc, for example Alienware are making a steam machine as are many other people, so there will different specs and prices.
ironic meme (4 years ago)
So Steam machine runs on a Linux kernel kinda like android?
Graham Linux (4 years ago)
+Ticci-Toby and Masky (theasdfman. my name changed XD) First of all there is nothing to stop you keeping windows for games. Most of the malware people get is from surfing the web and clicking on bad links or opening emails they should not. If people did all that stuff using a Linux live disc it would remove a lot of the risks. Secondly Linux has come on leaps and bounds in the gaming department and with steam now on Linux will rival Microsoft as a gaming platform. When the first steam machines hit the stores it is set to grow.
Nissim Ezra (4 years ago)
u r the best thx
Britec09 (4 years ago)
Thanks Nissim, glad you enjoy the videos, all the best.
robin welch (4 years ago)
Another great Vid Brian, which site can you get it from?
Noel Dowds (4 years ago)
Hi Brian , Great vid and heads up on Hitman pro Alert ,,, Can this be run alongside Malwarebytes Anti Exploit ???            Poss When you get 5 minutes you could run a comparison on the 2 products .                     Cheers Noel
Britec09 (4 years ago)
Yeah be doing a video on Malwarebytes Anti Exploit very soon. Not sure running both Malwarebytes Anti Exploit and HitmanPro Alert would be a good thing, but I am not 100% sure about if you can or not.
andrew cooper (4 years ago)
I know you mean the best for us computer users but i installed this and I could not even watch youtube ,so i had to do a restore as i could not find it to uninstall then a full virus scan to make sure my system was ok.i,ll give this one a miss thanks.
Britec09 (4 years ago)
I know its not for everyone.
T-510 (4 years ago)
Thanks Brian, I just installed the full version. You have great material on your channel, I actually learned about your channel last year in one of my cyber security college classes.
Britec09 (4 years ago)
Cool, I know they use my channel in some classes at college
grim rank (4 years ago)
Great video Brian
john robert lightfoot (4 years ago)
Another video from the Master Brian, great stuff, any thing that helps against viruses has got to be good.
Mitch Haman (4 years ago)
Great video. Thank you.
Britec09 (4 years ago)
Cheers Mitch
David Simpson (4 years ago)
Tks Brian, sad result but it's tough when you only have hitmanpro on its own. I look forward to your next one. :) Kind regards, DAve
Britec09 (4 years ago)
Yeah its not easy Dave.
proteusx (4 years ago)
It did not prevent damage to files. How can you say "It is a great product"?
Britec09 (4 years ago)
+proteusx I understand, but the program does block some crytolocker and other nasty's like: Zeus SpyEye Sinowal (aka Mebroot and Torpig) Ice-IX Citadel Cridex Carberp Shylock Tinba and many others...
proteusx (4 years ago)
Personally I do not need them. I use linux, and windows only through VMware.  But I have people who use exclusively Windows and  suffered from crypto locker and lost data.  I do not think they will be as kind to me If I recomended this "great product" and they lost their data all the same. P.S. I like your videos and your clear presentation of topics.
Britec09 (4 years ago)
OK so your going to stop using a Antivirus? because they don't stop every infection. At least these people are trying to stop these CryptoLocker ransoms. So I think your being a bit hard on these programs, they do block a lot of stuff.
Eagle Ales (4 years ago)
How can we find this kind nasty virus and what is the best software for our pc.
Andrew102 (4 years ago)
is malwarebytes anti exploit good?
Britec09 (4 years ago)
I be doing a video on that product soon, yes it is a good program.
Chas L (4 years ago)
How about testing the other program, Nick Shaw's CryptoPrevent?  I tried HMP.A and it prevented my Opera bookmarks from working.  Uninstalled, and all work.  Think they still have some development to go with this.  Thanks-
Britec09 (4 years ago)
No program can block this Crypto Ransom at the moment, even CryptoPrevent don't stop it. I need to talk to Nick and see if there is anything he can do to block it.
ButtonWalls (4 years ago)
if i never download .exe files and run then can i still get viruses?
ButtonWalls (4 years ago)
what are other ways i can get infected other then email attach ments
Britec09 (4 years ago)
yes you still can get infected.
Orangeswirl (4 years ago)
Have you reviewed threatfire at all? 
Britec09 (4 years ago)
I don't think so, I have used it in some of my videos, but not done a review.
zx8401ztv (4 years ago)
Thanks brian :-) If the encription system is part of windows, cant you get there first and encript all user files?, surely windys wont allow double encription? Im possibly talking crap as ive never done such a thing lol. ive been lucky on my system so far, but i back stuff up so i dont really give a dam ha ha :-))
zx8401ztv (4 years ago)
+Britec09 Its an evil program, i didnt see any demand for money or is that at the end of encription? Your virtual machine is bloody handy :-))
Britec09 (4 years ago)
These are the worst of the worst I think, because it encrypts everything on the computer and network.
bh ringer (4 years ago)
Too bad HMP.Alert didn't fair well in this case. Glad to hear you still gave a favorable review anyways. The developers are well on their way to creating a product that no computer should be without IMHO. Did you test the same sample against Nick Shaw's CryptoPrevent? Is this by any chance the newer CTB-Locker variant or just another variant/copycat of the original CryptoLocker? Thanks for another great vid.
bh ringer (4 years ago)
Lawrence Abrams at bleepingcomputer.com  has just created an info and FAQ on the new CTB Locker bit.ly/1nQEAn7
Britec09 (4 years ago)
Yeah HitmanPro Alert is a great program, I suppose most Antivirus programs fail at some point, it just happened in my video, but I still think the program is good and with time will be great, it already does a good job at blocking these Crypto Ransomware. I think it is a new variant.
Great as usual. Tnx alot, Brian. Best Regards from Israel
Britec09 (4 years ago)
Glad you liked it.
r9o2b0e2r1t7o (4 years ago)
Nice video Brian, very useful :)
Britec09 (4 years ago)
Thanks
Jack M (4 years ago)
Great video as always Brian. I'm a big fan of HMP as well as Alert, so I was a little worried when I saw this. I contacted the CEO and here is his response below: "This new variant is not picked up by our CryptoGuard in Alert because the cybercriminals behind this new variant have devised a new approach. Alert is capable of blocking CryptoLocker, CryptDefense and CryptoWall but not this new variant. The new variant creates an encrypted copy of each file and removes the original file. We are currently working on HitmanPro.Alert 3 and will update CryptoGuard as well to address this new approach of this variant"
Britec09 (4 years ago)
Yeah the video was not meant to make HMP Alert look bad, it was a test and the file happened to be a new variant and I hope in time it will block it. HitmanPro.Alert is a great product like I said in my video. 
Kevin Adair (4 years ago)
Good video Brian!  As with every new tool available on the market, there are bound to be some bugs.  As it gets better with time I'm sure it'll be a force to deal with these nasty virus's.
P M (4 years ago)
Another nice video Brian, I would be interested to see how Avast Hardened Mode deals w/ this very nasty ransomware. I'm pretty sure  Avast Hardened mode (aggressive or moderate Mode) would block it,so please test it and we'll all see. Thanks.
P M (4 years ago)
Cheers Brian. I look forward to watching it.
Britec09 (4 years ago)
I see what I can do Andy
Apotheosis (4 years ago)
Brian, Show a video about Internet Explorer Zero Day
Britec09 (4 years ago)
Will do at some point.
Guilty Spark (4 years ago)
Hi Brian, could you do a similar test with BitDefenders Anti Cryptolocker please? I'd be interested to see just how many of these programs are actually effective as the malware is constantly updated.
Stuart Johnson (4 years ago)
Great video as always Brian. A little disappointing with the results. But I understand this is one of those major issues with Cryptoware. Great stuff Brian.
Britec09 (4 years ago)
Yeah, HitmanPro Alert has blocked a lot of these type of infections, but sadly in this case it did not. Its still a great product.
Avonidsed (4 years ago)
When it matures hopefully this will be a good defence against Cryptolocker
MrCube17 (4 years ago)
Does Windows Defender protect against Cryptolocker too?
excollier114 (4 years ago)
+MrCube17 Vipre.
Britec09 (4 years ago)
+it hurts when IP Can't agree more Windows Security Essentials is not that great.
IT Hertz WAN IP (4 years ago)
MalwareBytes works well and Brian would probably agree with me
MrCube17 (4 years ago)
what DO you recommend lol?
IT Hertz WAN IP (4 years ago)
@MrCube17 i wouldn't recommend Windows Security Essentials, it has a very low hit rate.
Artemis TDM (4 years ago)
Wait Why am i here in 0 mins and 24 Seconds?

Would you like to comment?

Join YouTube for a free account, or sign in if you are already a member.