HomeОбразованиеRelated VideosMore From: John Gibbons

How to treat thoracic Back Pain and Rhomboids using Kinesiology Taping

769 ratings | 294278 views
http://www.johngibbonsbodymaster.co.uk John Gibbons a sports Osteopath, author and lecturer for the Bodymaster method ® and is demonstrating how to apply kinesiology taping for mid thoracic back pain. The pain could be originating from a a facet joint, rhomboids, lower trapezius and even the thoracic erector spinae. Interested in learning these techniques then look on http://www.johngibbonsbodymaster.co.uk This technique and more is taught on the Kinesiology taping Master-Class at the University of Oxford. John is also the Author of the highly successful book and Amazon No 1 best seller called 'Muscle Energy Techniques, a practical guide for physical therapists'. John has also written 2 more books, one is called 'A Practical Guide to Kinesiology Taping' and comes with a complimentary DVD and the other book is called; 'Vital Glutes, connecting the gait cycle to pain and dysfunction'. These books are available to buy now through my website http://www.johngibbonsbodymaster.co.uk/books/ or from Amazon http://www.amazon.co.uk John now offers Advanced Training in all aspects of Sports Medicine and physical therapy to already qualified therapists in manual therapy to 'Diploma' Level. You need to have attended all of his Physical Therapy Courses before the diploma is awarded. His venue is based at the idylic venue of Oxford University, home of the first four-minute mile by Roger Bannister.
Html code for embedding videos on your blog
Text Comments (65)
Ahmed Fouad (2 months ago)
Medial border scapular pain how to differentiate is it romboids or serratus anterior pain
John Gibbons (2 months ago)
If you have pain to the medial border then it could be the muscles you mentioned and easy enough to differentiate as the rhomboids is a retractor and the serrates an a protractor. Pain to this area could be a referral site for other structures, like the cervical spine, ribs, lungs etc so ask the right questions (cough, sneeze, laughing, deep breathing etc cause any symptoms). Hope that helps, regards JG
Vivien Lim (4 months ago)
Always seem to end up coming back to you and your taping techniques. Thank you for sharing this great information with us. So useful!
John Gibbons (4 months ago)
Thanks and pleased you like the videos...regards JG
DrTekchand Sharma (5 months ago)
Why you start this tape from proximal to distal for erector spinae .. And in lower back you apply from distal to proximal
oxygen RE (8 months ago)
Those strips don't come out from sweating?
Rachel Crawford (1 year ago)
My tape came in 10 inch pre-cut pieces. What lengths are you using?
MammalsShmammals (1 year ago)
ass so good you can see it sitting down!
Inbe (2 years ago)
What do I do if my whole spine is hurting and I have pain between my shoulderblades? My shoulderblades are not in pain, but on the side nearest my spine (if you know what I mean). What tecnique is working?
Art Sanchez (2 years ago)
this taping technique has worked the best for me and has brought me relief!!!!!!!THANK YOOOOU!!!!!!!!
John Gibbons (2 years ago)
+Art Sanchez I am pleased this taping technique helped you. Regards JG
Joshua Golden (2 years ago)
John I've been diagnosed with ankylosing Spondylitis. I've tried everything. will this help
blakespower (2 years ago)
what type of doctor do I see for scapula problems? the Orthopedics is no help and I am sick of paying him just to talk fr 10 minutes and pay 200 dollars for nothing. I dislocated my shoulder and now the scapula seems to stick our more I can't lay flat against a wall on hat side but m god side I can. also my left underarm seems less defined now and droops. I cannot rotate that arm back when holding them up at right angles, I cannot lay flat on my stomach with that arm above shoulder when I lay on that side its pain in shoulder blade and joint and my arm will not lay flat it sticks up when laying on my side. I really want answers and possible solutions
Randy Fruchter (2 years ago)
Find a local massage therapist that knows the body and work on the soft tissues. Not one that does "fluffy" oil massage. If you are local to Socal check out my website. myfleshvehicle.com
Kamruzzman ovi (3 years ago)
wow
Kamruzzman ovi (3 years ago)
+Kamruzzman ovi I read a lot of superb reviews on the internet about how exactly Backprolax Secrets (do a google search) can help you cures your back pain naturally. Has anybody tested out this popular back pain remedy?
guri bajwa (3 years ago)
y not tape the the spine region? it would provide stability to spine,
Blz Ahz (3 years ago)
I love the hashtag you've made with the tape #Backpain
Lindsey Six (3 years ago)
What if the pain Is one on the right side? and where the upper star is? Would you use all 4 in that case?
John Gibbons (3 years ago)
+Lindsey Six If you follow the technique as it will help for pain on either side. Its worth a try at least. Good luck...
Dustin Kiara (3 years ago)
Where can i buy it? I am from the philippines and i am also eoncounter upper back pain and sometimes it's make my neck stiff and i can't sleep well in wee hours bcoz it is disturbing....i want to try it and observe if it is working.....so anybody herr knows? Where to buy it? In philippine area's only?
Hedz Tan (1 year ago)
Most sports shop has it. Try Runner, Planet Sports, Toby's or Olympic Village
John Gibbons (3 years ago)
+Coco Ordinal Hi, not sure where you can buy but Rocktape will post it to you so look on their website rocktape.net
Anushka Daga (4 years ago)
I have a sprained spine and my main areas of pain are my upper back and lower back... I also have developed quite a bit of pain in my neck and trapaezius muscle... will KMS tape help...???
John Gibbons (4 years ago)
Its worth a try as nothing to loose, if you are in Oxford then you can come for an appointment. Regards and good luck
juan cruz (4 years ago)
i strained my rhomboid will taping it help
John Gibbons (4 years ago)
Its worth a try as I am sure it will help you
Gabby B (4 years ago)
I have a lot of lower back pain and I just got kt tape but I used a piece today but it did not stay on? Why did it not stay on and how do I make it stay on?
John Gibbons (4 years ago)
I use Rocktape and that works well for me, I have also used KT tape and that was good as well. Maybe if you have any cream or body perspiration then it won't stick very well, its hard to say why without looking at you. You can try a spray adhesive before you apply the tape and that would help the tape stay on for longer........Hope that helps 
Holly Rhodes (4 years ago)
I've suffered with back pain for a long time until found a very effective treatment.
Russell Hund (4 years ago)
I have suffered with back pain for years until found out a effective treatment.
John Gibbons (4 years ago)
Yes the Kinesiology taping technique...
Merry Kniest (4 years ago)
I have pain EVERYDAY in that area and it real effects my day. I just bought Rock tap, I'm trying to find the right technic 
John Gibbons (4 years ago)
No problem
Merry Kniest (4 years ago)
Thank you!
John Gibbons (4 years ago)
Hi Mary, I am sponsored by Rocktape and it is a great product so I am sure it will help if you follow my technique. Good Luck 
FieldOVision (4 years ago)
why get the client to round their shoulders and apply the tape to keep them in that position? isn;t that why they are getting the pain in the first place by over stretching ? 
John Gibbons (4 years ago)
You generally lengthen the tissues first before you apply the kinesiology tape, its very different from Athletic taping as in this case you will probably shorten the tissues, however both techniques are very effective
Amber John (4 years ago)
I have suffered from back pain for decades till found a excellent cure.
RandallT Gibson (4 years ago)
I have lived with back pain for many years until learned a excellent treatment.
Yvonne A. Adams (4 years ago)
I've endured back pain for a long time till uncovered a very effective treatment.
Olivia Elias (4 years ago)
Hey there, I have lowered my own back pain a lot simply by eating some unknown foods that you could easily find in common place, and change several workouts position.
Raja Asif (11 months ago)
Would you like to tell me about those foods I will be grateful to you for this kindness .
Manuel Maestrini (4 years ago)
If I have an acute pain that comes and goes in my back (right side only) in an area that I would define near the scapula (specifically rhomboid and infraspinatus area) what kind of application should I use? do you have a video for that?
John Gibbons (4 years ago)
This technique should work well for pain in the rhomboids and trapezius, not so good for the infraspinatus muscle though
Engelhafen (4 years ago)
AND you could play tic tac toe on her back :D
cod first (6 months ago)
Ya sure may be win
Engelhafen (4 years ago)
She looks all glittery :D
Tyler Overton (5 years ago)
By anchoring the 3rd and 4th I-Strips to the left scapular, does that only retract the opposite scapular? What would be the difference if I was to split the tape in the middle and use the tape that way? Or to use the middle of the tape as an anchor, apply 75% stretch to one side and then to tape the other side with 75% stretch?
John Gibbons (5 years ago)
I would try the way you suggest and see what the patient says, thats what I do sometimes as it is the patient that will be wearing the tape for a few days
Alyssa Henninger (5 years ago)
Can I tape the upper and lower back at the same time?? Or just one
Facundo Chiquello (5 years ago)
Omg who is that lady, she gots a fine booty
Facundo Chiquello (5 months ago)
Hahaha good times
Zlatan Mustacevic (1 year ago)
Thanks for the Video clip! Sorry for butting in, I would appreciate your thoughts. Have you tried - Proutklarton Enjoy Playing Plan (search on google)? It is a good one of a kind product for relieving back pain in just 16 minutes without the hard work. Ive heard some awesome things about it and my best friend Jordan got astronomical success with it.
Facundo Chiquello (2 years ago)
+John Gibbons where can i find one just like her?
John Gibbons (2 years ago)
She is my future wife...
MrMagickent (4 years ago)
+John Gibbons funny doc.
Ari Huff (5 years ago)
What brand of tape are you using?
John Gibbons (5 years ago)
It is called Tiger K tape and you can buy from my website. 
Nate Miller (5 years ago)
Nice explanation.
Mihali Wheeler (5 years ago)
great demo, used this technique with great effect, well done

Would you like to comment?

Join YouTube for a free account, or sign in if you are already a member.