HomeНаука и техникаRelated VideosMore From: The Linux Experiment

How to edit videos on Linux with KDENLIVE - 1 - Learn the Interface

332 ratings | 5499 views
I use Kdenlive for all my videos, and people tend to underestimate what this editor can do. Since I now master a few of its tips and tricks, although I'm by no means an expert, I think it's time to give back, so here are a few video tutorials to help you use Kdenlive. In this first part, we'll see how to setup a new project, and change project defaults. What I use to make my videos: Microphone: https://amzn.to/2PsNWXl Articulated mic arm: https://amzn.to/2Iy6DZ2 Tripod: https://amzn.to/2VeLRUt Monitor: https://amzn.to/2UQRZTb Speakers: https://amzn.to/2IR7qDR Bluetooth USB adapter: https://amzn.to/2UQS89b Keyboard: https://amzn.to/2IAuIyD Smartphone lenses: https://amzn.to/2DnNrcr Graphics card: https://amzn.to/2XCEaVo Motherboard: https://amzn.to/2KZt63t CPU: https://amzn.to/2IFjKrw Kdenlive's interface is highly modulable: as in most KDE apps, you can re-arrange any panel or box to use the space you want. Let's see what we get: - The menu bar, where you'll get every option available in Kdenlive. - The clip bin: this panel hosts every clip, image, audio file, title or anything else you might want to add to your project. You can add any type of file just with a simple drag and drop, or use the menu to add files. Clips here can be organized in folders, by clicking on the "New Folder" icon, and dragging the desired clips inside your folder. - The Properties pane: this is empty for now, but it will host any effect you'll add to the selected clip, whether it's in the bin or the timeline, the effects you've applied to a whole track, or the properties of a transition you've added in the timeline. - The Effects / Transitions panel: This is where you'll find any audio or video effect that you can add to the selected clip or track. You'll notice a tab at the bottom named "transitions", where you'll find the... transitions you can apply to move from one video clip to another. - The Monitor: this is where you can preview your video, as it will look like when it's rendered. You'll notice two tabs at the bottom: the first one is the clip monitor, which lets you preview the selected clip, and the Project Monitor, which lets you preview the entire project. Finally, on the bottom of the screen, you have the timeline, where you'll drag your video and audio files, add your transitions, and generally manage how your video will play out. The general workflow Kdenlive's workflow is simple. First, you create a new project and select the settings you'll use. Second, you add your clips, video, audio, or images, to the clip bin. Third, you drag these clips to the timeline, in the general order you want to play them, adding transitions and effects as you go, all while monitoring what the final video will look like in the Project Monitor. Fourth, you render the video, selecting the video format and quality. Adapting the interface to your needs Kdenlive's interface can be totally reshaped to look like anything you need. To move the different panes, you can click the view menu, and select "show titles" . From there, you can drag any panel where you want it to go. You can overlay two or more panels to create tabs for each of them in the same space, or simply remove a panel if you don't need it. You can also resize any panel, or the timeline itself to use the desired space. If you deleted any of the panels, and want to show it again, just go to the "View" menu, and tick the panel you want. Basically, what you'll want to keep in view is the clip bin, from where your sources are, the properties panel, which you'll need to be able to add effects and transitions, and the monitor, to preview your video. Ideally, the monitor should have plenty of space, so you can pay attention to details. The effects and transitions panels are pretty important too. I generally remove the clip monitor only, since most of the time, I recorded and named each clip I use, so I know what's in it. Once you've set your interface up, I recommend saving that layout, in the "View" menu, to make sure you can get back to it if needed. You can create multiple layouts an switch from one to another at will, so you could create one for when you edit the video, and one for when you preview and do the smaller edits or details. For each video you want to make, you'll have to create a project. This is simple: just click "File - New Project". You'll get a settings window to select which profile you want to use, including the resolution, the framerate, the folder where you want to store the project. Kdenlive's project create a structure for files and folders. Where you've created your project, you'll get a few folders. This way, all the folders created by Kdenlive are located in the same directory as the rest of the stuff related to the project. Follow me on Twitter : http://twitter.com/thelinuxEXP
Html code for embedding videos on your blog
Text Comments (124)
Leselupe (2 months ago)
Great video. Can you please explain render quality options and export settings in a next video. Kdenlive has advanced rendering settings i do not understand. (Quality 15, 30, 45..., enable gpu acceleration,...) What are the best settings for exporting for Youtube/Web?
Ian Bacanov (3 months ago)
Greate tutoril mate...Good job
The Linux Experiment (3 months ago)
Thanks :)
Marcellus Drum (3 months ago)
Amazing! Thank you very much, I really hope you give this course some time
The Linux Experiment (3 months ago)
I definitely will :)
Brad Olson (3 months ago)
Excellent, thanks.
The Linux Experiment (3 months ago)
Thank you for watching !
Average Linux User (4 months ago)
Very useful! Looking forward to watching other parts
The Linux Experiment (4 months ago)
Thanks ! There are a few already online :)
Bilal Heuser (4 months ago)
Giving back?? But I never borrowed anything in the first place ...
The Linux Experiment (4 months ago)
I was thinking more about me giving back to people who are watching and to Kdenlive :)
Mr Dashpuppy (4 months ago)
Kinda looks like a Resolve clone.. I wonder if Resolve now works in Linux properly..
The Linux Experiment (4 months ago)
It existed before Resolve, I think. For me, Resolve doesn't even start :)
Saad Sami (4 months ago)
which distro you use as your main?
The Linux Experiment (4 months ago)
Manjaro Budgie :)
i'm editing the videos of my channel via kenlive and chotcut and audacity for audio gimp for images via gnu/linux system
The Linux Experiment (4 months ago)
Good choices ! I use Audacity (very little) and Kdenlive, plus GIMP as well :)
PSK Research (4 months ago)
For basic video editing, tweaking, enhancing, & alterations, I use simple & easy AVIDEMUX. Very little learning curve or experience required. There's a version for Linux, Windows, & Macs.
robert cortez (4 months ago)
kdenlive My favorite video editor for windows and Linux it's awesome
The Linux Experiment (4 months ago)
It's a great video editor !
Rahul Mallah (4 months ago)
That was interesting
Unleashed Code (4 months ago)
One of the best Linux video editors for Pro's to Users has to be Davinci Resolve.... Two options.... free and paid..... and the free one has everything you could possibly need from a modern editor....... It's my go to editor now.....
The Linux Experiment (4 months ago)
Thanks a lot :) Deepin DE is great, I actually might install it on Manjaro instead of Budgie.
Unleashed Code (4 months ago)
@The Linux Experiment Thats such a shame.... I hope you manage to install it or they change the installer for you... I really am very impressed by the software. Just to help others I use Fedora 29 Gnome and it installs cleanly with no issue..... Love the channel by the way... you got me testing deepin de the other day..... now looking forward to Fedora 30 as they are going to include it as an optional DE :)
The Linux Experiment (4 months ago)
I would love to use it but it just won't start on my system. I tried everything I could but it just won't start.
yagomont (4 months ago)
Love the professional format of your videos. Keep up the good work!
The Linux Experiment (4 months ago)
Thanks a lot ;)
Guglielmo Bartelloni (4 months ago)
Have you ever tried Olive video editor? It's fantastic
The Linux Experiment (4 months ago)
Not yet but many viewers have recommended it, so I'll have to try it :)
I'm Linux (4 months ago)
Nice put I really want you to make a detailed video about the same editing techniques you use in your videos!
The Linux Experiment (4 months ago)
Yeah I Guess :) the next 2 episodes will be basic editing, the more advanced stuff will come after that !
I'm Linux (4 months ago)
thanks ! guess I'm in a hurry cause I already know beyond the basics :)
The Linux Experiment (4 months ago)
It's coming :) I'm starting with the basics, but every trick I use will be covered !
dankest-TV (4 months ago)
The question is, "did you make this video entirely on Kden"? 🤔
The Linux Experiment (4 months ago)
Absolutely :)
fatih nararya (4 months ago)
How stable is Kdenlive? I.e. how does it handle jumpcuts every 5 seconds?
The Linux Experiment (4 months ago)
Oh ok then with the open source drivers it works pretty well !
Conchita Mendez (4 months ago)
​@The Linux Experiment I have an AMD graphics card.
The Linux Experiment (4 months ago)
Are you using intel graphics ? I had tons of crashes with the Nvidia driver, with AMD it's a lot more stable :)
Conchita Mendez (4 months ago)
I always used the packeted version from the standard repository. Despite working on rather oldish hardware, I never had any stability issues but I'm on KDE anyway.
The Linux Experiment (4 months ago)
It looks pretty nice, but it seems that they hit a snag in the distros development, they are back in track, but they have a lot of work to catch up on Budgie and the distro itself. Flatpaks are, apart from some minor issues, a good solution for apps they depend on tons of libraries.
ShaDoWVoiX (4 months ago)
@thelinuxexperiment you will stay on manjaro budgie or elementary is still your main and the Best os?
The Linux Experiment (4 months ago)
Elementary is still my favorite, and I'll come back to it eventually, but for now, I just get more performance from Manjaro on my new rig.
ShaTer (4 months ago)
Thank you Nick :)
The Linux Experiment (4 months ago)
You're welcome !
nortexoid (4 months ago)
Did you get a new monitor?
The Linux Experiment (4 months ago)
Yes, a 1440p 24'' from Lenovo
Paulus Aditya Hernawan (4 months ago)
great job brother, it really helps a lot of us!
The Linux Experiment (4 months ago)
Not lately ! I use the Flatpak version, on Manjaro, running on a. ryzen 5 2600, with 16gb of ram and a Radeon RX580
Paulus Aditya Hernawan (4 months ago)
@The Linux Experiment have you ever experienced crash in using Kdenlive? What is the specs of your current pc?
The Linux Experiment (4 months ago)
Thanks ! The next parts will be more hands on :)
Bharat Mohanty (4 months ago)
A promising player is on the way to Linux world "olive video editor". Still in alpha stage. Available on flatpak
The Linux Experiment (4 months ago)
Yeah I'll take a look :)
Nils Jacobs (4 months ago)
Daaa Cursor
Nils Jacobs (4 months ago)
@The Linux Experiment I already guessed that xD
The Linux Experiment (4 months ago)
Made it big so everyone can see it :)
Abdallah Tarek (4 months ago)
Awesome make all kdemlive as this video What is elementary is system requirement Is that works on core i3 6100u and 4gb ram And amd Radeon r5 m430 2gb I couldn't get driver for this graphics card on linux
The Linux Experiment (4 months ago)
It should work, yes. It would work best if you have an SSD though :)
Frederico Fávaro (4 months ago)
Just a great video! Waiting for the next one! :)
The Linux Experiment (4 months ago)
Thanks !
it is important to have royality free music on videos - a good source for selecting legal audio files might be my channel ;)
The Linux Experiment (4 months ago)
Good to know ! I'll check it out !
gaboversta 2. (4 months ago)
You can also put parts like the project monitor onto diffrent screens. Altough there will only be there, if kdenlive is highlighted. you can do that by simply moving them. I grab them at the tab bar and of they go. It's awesome: more space for effects and bigger preview
The Linux Experiment (4 months ago)
Yeah, I usually put the monitor fullscreen on a second screen, but it's hard to demo in a video :)
gaboversta 2. (4 months ago)
Is there a more nice programm in the world? no, I don't think so. I love kdenlive.
The Linux Experiment (4 months ago)
Love it too ! Especially since it doesn't crash anymore ^^
Lee Brooks (4 months ago)
I'm not a big Linux user (I have a Linux Mint laptop for the basics) but I always look forward to seeing your videos, could listen to you all day long. Your presentation style is excellent, very organised and easy to understand. Thank you for doing what you do and good luck for making your channel bigger in the future 👍👍👍
The Linux Experiment (4 months ago)
Thanks a lot for watching :) the channel is growing nicely, from 0 to 11000 in a year, and it's still going strong ! I'm pretty happy about the response :)
Hesam Gholami (4 months ago)
Very nice tutorial 👌🏻 thank you
The Linux Experiment (4 months ago)
Thanks !
Lars (4 months ago)
Wich Linux Distribution do you use?
The Linux Experiment (4 months ago)
Manjaro Budgie !
Stefan de Groot (4 months ago)
Great explanation and video!! Waiting for the rest :)
Stefan de Groot (4 months ago)
Yes )))
The Linux Experiment (4 months ago)
It should help !! Are you sure you need that 0.1% increase ?
Stefan de Groot (4 months ago)
@The Linux Experiment Thanks! The speed change I used in ffmpeg was less than 0.1%, but still becomes noticable after more than an hour playing. If i am right, the speed effect only allows with steps of 1%... The next thing I will try is to import the audio with the same sampling frequency as the audio recorded with the video. Maybe that helps :)
The Linux Experiment (4 months ago)
Might be that the speed was a bit higher / lower, which was not noticeable at the start but got audible at the end. Maybe try to use the speed effect on the track directly on Kdenlive ? This way you can preview it directly in the editor ?
Stefan de Groot (4 months ago)
@The Linux Experiment I am trying to sync video and audio of a piano concert. The audio and video were recorded on separate devices. I changed the audio speed with ffmpeg and in kdenlive it seemed almost perfect, but after rendering the audio was not entirely in sync at the end of the video (beginning was ok). Any experience with audio/video merging that could help me? :)
Malc Tulloch (4 months ago)
Incredible, thank you for posting.
The Linux Experiment (4 months ago)
Thank you for watching :)
SapphFire (4 months ago)
Nice! I'll try this out as soon as I can.
Ønly (4 months ago)
Do Kdenlive support plugins?
The Linux Experiment (4 months ago)
I don't think so
Veysel Erden (4 months ago)
Awesome video! Waiting for the rest.
The Linux Experiment (4 months ago)
Thanks !
Robert Kagan (4 months ago)
I use and love the olive video editor! You should definitely try it out!
machesischerzaperdavvero (4 months ago)
+1 Olive work like a charm
The Linux Experiment (4 months ago)
Third person to recommend it, I'll take a look :)
Alvaro_s19 (4 months ago)
Very useful video. It encourages me to start doing video edition in linux. I always have think that the interface of these programs were difficult to understand but you explained all very well. I hope you continue with these editing tutorials. Thank you ;-)
The Linux Experiment (4 months ago)
Thanks ! I'll try to explain all the basics and then move on to more advanced techniques :)
Google Google (4 months ago)
Nice video thank you, but as a suggestion can you do the same with OLIVE? Is a new editing video software very very promising and easy to use! Please!
The Linux Experiment (4 months ago)
Thanks for the tip !
Ilaria Somma (4 months ago)
@The Linux Experiment Good :) Just a note If you'll try it out: since you're on Manjaro, I recommend you to install it though Flatpak since the version in the repos is not updated :)
The Linux Experiment (4 months ago)
Noted :)
Ilaria Somma (4 months ago)
@The Linux Experiment I second this, it's an amazing editor and it deserves a lot of support since it's developed by a single person
The Linux Experiment (4 months ago)
I never heard of it, but I'll take a look !
Lesnite Neko (4 months ago)
I hate that you need to install a new sound server (phonon) when installing this if you are on GTK based desktop :/ But it is worth it I guess because Kdenlive is amazing <3
Coffee-Break-Tutorialss (4 months ago)
I love the idea of linux and this editor. But confuses me easily argy lol
Budget Tech (4 months ago)
thanks
The Linux Experiment (4 months ago)
You're welcome !
popeye2mil (4 months ago)
Could you give Pitivy a try :D!?
The Linux Experiment (4 months ago)
Thanks ! I'll try to release one each week
popeye2mil (4 months ago)
@The Linux Experiment I am starting to use it, since it looks the best out of all of the video editors. Cant wait for yout video
The Linux Experiment (4 months ago)
That's the one I used when I started :) I will go back to it and compare it at some point
Squid (4 months ago)
"Linux is for neckbeards" 🤔
The Linux Experiment (4 months ago)
Haha another one of the videos I'm working on ^^
Shinobu Yoshida (4 months ago)
Thx dude pls make more about Linux Programms 💪🏻🔥
Tomasz Gąsior (4 months ago)
Why do you have Adwaita GTK's file chooser dialog for open action but different theme for save action? :) How you can describe your look&feel experience with KDE app used in GTK-based desktop?
The Linux Experiment (4 months ago)
No idea ! I guess it's the Flatpak version of Kdenlive that messes things up.
DJ (4 months ago)
But what about Cinelerra?
DJ (4 months ago)
@The Linux Experiment If your going to try Cinelerra, make sure ti use Cinelerra GG, is the best version
The Linux Experiment (4 months ago)
Might make a comparison of various editors though
DJ (4 months ago)
Understandable
The Linux Experiment (4 months ago)
These tutorials are about Kdenlive, so I won't talk about other editors here :)
Neon TO (4 months ago)
Still 360p
D0ru5 (4 months ago)
Not anymore
Lesnite Neko (4 months ago)
360p Gang!
D0ru5 (4 months ago)
Next video: quitting youtube, YouTube alternatives....
The Linux Experiment (4 months ago)
Damn you, YouTube.
Cookie Cookie (4 months ago)
Damn Second
Abid Ali (4 months ago)
First

Would you like to comment?

Join YouTube for a free account, or sign in if you are already a member.