HomeОбразованиеRelated VideosMore From: John Gibbons

How to treat Knee Pain (Patellofemoral Pain syndrome) using Kinesiology tape

499 ratings | 222486 views
http://www.johngibbonsbodymaster.co.uk/courses/kinesiology-taping-for-the-athlete-masterclass/ John Gibbons is a sports Osteopath and a lecturer for the 'Bodymaster Method ®' and in this video he is demonstrating how to apply Kinesiology tape for a patient that presents with anterior knee pain and in particular patellofemoral pain syndrome. Want to learn how to apply Kinesiology Tape and other Physical Therapy CPD Courses then look on http://www.johngibbonsbodymaster.co.uk John is also the Author of the highly successful book and Amazon No 1 best seller called 'Muscle Energy Techniques, a practical guide for physical therapists'. John has also written 2 more books, one is called 'A Practical Guide to Kinesiology Taping' and comes with a complimentary DVD and the other book is called; 'Vital Glutes, connecting the gait cycle to pain and dysfunction'. These 2 books are available to buy now through my website http://www.johngibbonsbodymaster.co.uk/books/ or from Amazon http://www.amazon.co.uk John now offers Advanced Training in all aspects of Sports Medicine to already qualified therapists in manual therapy to 'Diploma' Level. You need to have attended all of his Physical Therapy Courses before the diploma is awarded. His venue is based at the idylic venue of Oxford University, home of the first four-minute mile by Roger Bannister.
Html code for embedding videos on your blog
Text Comments (46)
J V (2 months ago)
https://amzn.to/2AngsmT
Dominique Chang (7 months ago)
Love this back ache guideline, "fonon fetching site" (Google it)! I was a bit unsure but used it yesterday and woke up with a more calm back. I actually advised this guide to my mom and dad because of the good results I came across. I was told that they cannot imagine how good maybe it was. It could solve your back problems very effectively..
Jaskeet Singh Uppal (8 months ago)
It seems like it is working on the fact that the stretch stimulus the tape provide masks the pain by closing pain gate...does it have long term benefits?
JAKE STYLES (1 year ago)
STRAIGHT TRASH..DOES NOT WORK
John Gibbons (1 year ago)
We all have our own opinions and the majority of the patients I treat with Tape feel benefit from it!. Regards JG
Ann B (1 year ago)
It was this one: https://www.amazon.com/Bulletproof-Your-Knee-Optimizing-Function/dp/1457544687/ref=asap_bc?ie=UTF8
Kat Scott (2 years ago)
Mine doesn't stick to itself so this taping doesn't work for me because all the ends are on each other.
Emre Gurman (2 years ago)
I think there is a wrong.Is that Patellar Tendinitis' kinesiotaping? Do you need to support Vastus Medialis Obliqus Muscle?
narolez (2 years ago)
Does this regenerate cartilage?
John Gibbons (2 years ago)
It would be brilliant if it did but we can realistically say no it won't help regenerate cartilage as it is designed to help reduce the symptoms!! Regards JG
Liam Fitzpatrick (2 years ago)
Thanks for the video, John. You posted a similar video on 6th March 2012 with a slightly different taping pattern. Have you revised what you believe to be the ideal taping method, or is the method on this video (21 Feb 2014) specifically for pain on the sides of the pattella, where as the previous video was more for pain below the patella perhaps?
Liam Fitzpatrick (2 years ago)
I've been going with the technique from the 2012 video and it seems to be helping. Underlying vastus medialis strain however is still to be recovered from!
John Gibbons (2 years ago)
I have a few different techniques for the knee as it all depends on what the presenting symptoms are. Hope that helps, JG
Lindsey Sacco (2 years ago)
Hi, the PT thinks I have patellofemoral pain. They taped my knee and its causing me pain. Is this supposed to happen?
Tate Barnum (2 years ago)
where can i get this tape? would walmart have it? also i thought u were suppose to tape the inside tighter than the outside? isnt the idea to get the kneecap to retreat back to the center?
John Gibbons (2 years ago)
+John Gibbons You can buy the KTape from Rocktape.net and not sure where you in the US you can buy the Leukotape so do a search for it.
John Gibbons (2 years ago)
+Tate Barnum This is not taping for Mal-Tracking even though it would help control the patella to some degree but i do show a video on youtube for that particular issue using a different type of tape - called Leukotape (type of zinc oxide and has no stretch, as Rocktape has 180% stretch) and the technique is known as the 'McConnell technique'. Hope that helps, JG
cinjam (3 years ago)
What brand tape do you use?
John Gibbons (3 years ago)
+cinjam I use KTape by a company called Rocktape
MRC (3 years ago)
i was diagnosed with mild chondrosis of the trochlea. Is this the right way to tape for my patella ?
MRC (3 years ago)
+MRKoc RM Is that like KT tape?... i did this with my leg bent but not laying down in sitting position.. Is there a difference if i did it in sitting position ?
MRC (3 years ago)
+John Gibbons Is there another way to position my leg, i am me myself and I here.. :(
John Gibbons (3 years ago)
+MRKoc RM hope it helps
MRC (3 years ago)
Ok thank you so much .. I shall try it. :)
John Gibbons (3 years ago)
+MRKoc RM This technique is the best one for your condition as will help reduce some of the pain and help to stabilise the position of the patella, good luck!
Erika Campos (3 years ago)
bj
John Gibbons (3 years ago)
+Erika Campos What does that mean?
Rose (3 years ago)
I've tried several tapings for my patella knee pain and this one works the best! thanks for the post!
John Gibbons (3 years ago)
+Irish Rose Pleased this taping technique helps and thanks for the message.
Simon Moses (3 years ago)
Hello John, will this help help with a strain of the VM muscle? I am a cyclist and want to support the muscle as it recovers.
John Gibbons (3 years ago)
+Simon Moses Hi, it will help off load the pain and stabilise the area but would suggest some VMO exercises to maintain the patella position. Good luck!
slinkgirl (3 years ago)
My damage is in the cartridge underneath the patella. Until I can do lubricating injections, will this application work, or should I use the application for patella tendonitis?
Electragirl5 (3 years ago)
Oh yeah my knee feels amazing after this tape job thanks
John Gibbons (3 years ago)
+Electragirl5 Glad the tape helps
sabri uzeiroski (3 years ago)
Nothing helps i went thru these thinks the pain its still there this is just playing yo-yo videos
sabri uzeiroski (3 years ago)
True
John Gibbons (3 years ago)
+sabri uzeiroski The taping I show is to help reduce the pain but it does not actually treat the cause of the problem. When you find out why the knee pain is there then the pain will start to disappear with the correct treatment.
Jimmy Rustler (4 years ago)
Hey john, what type of taping would you recommend for some slight popping in the vmo where it meets the kneecap. There isn't any pain when it happens just a little popping feeling in the muscle when I squat. Also, I feel some tightness the patella tendon under the knee cap. Never had any knee problems before.
John Gibbons (4 years ago)
Try the Leukotape and use it with a base layer called a micropore as this help control the patella position. Look at McConnel taping technique and you can buy the tape from Physique.co.uk but they call the tape Tiger Tan tape 
Brian Kent (4 years ago)
This is interesting. It seems counter-intuitive to treat PF pain by loosening the tissue around the joint. Most of the techniques I've seen involve trying to reposition the patella so it tracks within the femoral groove better. One article I recently came across suggested that it wasn't even so much the direction of traction provided by the tape (lateral vs. medial) as it was the compression of the knee joint altogether, basically pushing the patella more deeply into the groove. Does the method in this video purport to allow the patella to move more freely, approximating the results of the more compression-oriented taping? For a runner with IT band syndrome that may be causing misalignment of the patella, would this help? I feel like a lot of the methods I come across are just based on "this seems to work okay" instead of really having any solid kinesiological foundation.
prabjhooti (5 years ago)
I used the same method after a patella luxation. Worked as intended! :) 
John Gibbons (5 years ago)
Glad the technique helped
chivasfan28ful (5 years ago)
Would this be a good substitute for a knee brace?
John Gibbons (5 years ago)
Its worth a try, however it won't stabilse an ACL tear but might help control the patella position
Mihali Wheeler (5 years ago)
Another great video once again
John Gibbons (5 years ago)
Thanks

Would you like to comment?

Join YouTube for a free account, or sign in if you are already a member.