Home
Search results “Strip mining coal pictures christmas”
Germany's last black coal mine shuts down for good | DW News
 
02:32
For 200 years, German coal mining shaped industry and infrastructure, social conditions and social life in Europe. At the end of this year, an important era in German history will come to an end when the Proper-Haniel coal mine shuts down. For more news go to: http://www.dw.com/en/ Follow DW on social media: ►Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/deutschewellenews/ ►Twitter: https://twitter.com/dwnews ►Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/dw_stories/ Für Videos in deutscher Sprache besuchen Sie: https://www.youtube.com/channel/deutschewelle #CoalMining #GermanCoal #DWNews
Views: 4001 DW News
300 Ft. Down-- Inside the Viper Coal Mine
 
03:24
State Journal-Register photographer T.J. Salsman takes you deep inside the Viper Coal Mine in Williamsville, IL.
Coal Towns in West Virginia along Coal Heritage Trail
 
09:05
http://coal Geology.Com Coal Towns in West Virginia along Coal Heritage Trail
Views: 5624 Ankan Basu
Paradise by John Prine
 
03:51
Old Prine song about the horrors of strip mining in Kentucky
Views: 2714813 johngalt2626
Truck Fest 2013: Smokey Big Rigs Burnouts & Drag Racing Revealed
 
05:48
( http://www.TFLtruck.com ) When you think of a Big Rig Semi...you probably don't immediately think of drag racing...or do you? This weekend at Bandimere Speedway just outside of Denver, Colorado hundreds of Big Rig Semi trucks lined up on the drag strip to see which one is the kind of the mile high drag strip and which one is the fastest mile high pickup dragster. Can a big rig run a sub 20 second quarter mile? You bet. Can a big rig run a sub 15 mile....no problem. Can a Big Rig run a sub 10 second time? You'll have to watch the video to find out. In another fun and informative TFLtruck video we see what happens when the Big Rig Semi Trucks line up behind the Christmas Tree. Check us out on: Facebook: ( https://www.facebook.com/tfltruck ) Twitter: ( https://www.twitter.com/tfltruck ) and check out our car videos on YouTube at: The Fast Lane Car ( http://www.youtube.com/user/romanmicagearguy )
Views: 3167434 The Fast Lane Truck
Centralia, PA and the Graffiti Highway
 
05:43
Now a ghost town, Centralia was a small community in the mountains of Columbia County, Pennsylvania, that in the early to mid 1900's had an average population of 2,400 residents. On May 27, 1962 the Centralia Borough Council hired five members of the volunteer fire company to clean up the town landfill, located in an abandoned strip-mine pit next to the Odd Fellows Cemetery just outside the borough limits. This had been done prior to Memorial Day in previous years, when the landfill was in a different location. The firefighters, as they had in the past, set the dump on fire and let it burn for some time. Unlike in previous years, however, the fire was not fully extinguished. An unsealed opening in the pit allowed the fire to enter the labyrinth of abandoned coal mines beneath Centralia. The borough, by law, was responsible for installing a fire-resistant clay barrier between each layer, but fell behind schedule, leaving the barrier incomplete. This allowed the hot coals to penetrate the vein of coal underneath the pit and start the subsequent subterranean fire. Centralia's population, as of the 2010 census, was reported to be 10 resisdents.
Views: 21311 Ground Pilot Images
Tour Of Taylor
 
05:47
Tour Of Taylor Pennsylvania
Views: 447 Justin Johnson
2008 Dec26 DrivinginMartinCountyKYon645
 
00:51
The day after Christmas 2008. This is a short video of what it looks like driving through Eastern Kentucky on a typical winter day, rainy and not snowy.
Views: 681 Doyle Mills
I Love This Town.m4v
 
04:35
Slideshow of pictures from Thunder on the River 2011, Concert on Happy Top featuring Chad Warrix, and 2012 Easter Egg Hunt in the Beattyville City Park. Music by Bon Jovi's "I Love This Town".
Views: 158 Beattyville1
Battle Ships 3D Great War On Dream Land Ocean Sea
 
03:40
King Star Gamer: Non Stop Quick game plays of wold's most top games collection buzz game shows. Adventure games, car race games, run games, shooting games, fight games, tank games, puzzle games, etc. one stop funny games collections buzz..
Views: 126 KingStar Gamer
Cape Breton 06
 
05:16
Youth Trip to Cape Breton
Views: 2899 jerloho
Earth Movers
 
02:33
Two 657G Caterpillar Scrapers back filling at strip mine operation.
Views: 384353 JimHowDigsDirt
The Altoona Story and 100th Celebration
 
05:38
Short history of Altoona, Alabama with photos from the past.
Views: 4000 cwrabama
Appalachian Green Parks Project (1974) Documentary
 
58:40
Appalachian Green Parks Project (1974) Documentary Originally produced and broadcast by WOUB-TV
Views: 260 Life Full of Cheese
3 Dead After Shooting in Rural Kentucky
 
00:43
Plus3 Dead After Shooting in Rural Kentucky3 Dead After Shooting in Rural KentuckyThe Associated PressA deputy coroner says a man shot and killed an elected official and a county employee at an eastern Kentucky convenience store Friday, then turned the gun on himself. (May 30)Police swarmed to this convenience store --the site of a Friday afternoon shooting....Among the dead ---- an elected official --- a government employee... and the gunman. 55-year-old Jerry Fugate shot the two men --and then turned the gun on himself. The deputy coroner says Fugate used a shotgun --likely at close range on his victims. Ben's Quick stop is near Hazard, Kentucky ---a rural town more than 100 miles southeast of Lexington. Investigators don't have a motive for the shooting----A clerk at the Ben's Quick Stop says the shooting victims were likely in this part of town ' to eat. 'Magistrate Jimmy Darrell Neace was 53 ---and county road department employee Lew-allen Caudill was 60 years old. ___ ___, The Associated Press.(****END****) ANCHOR VOICE:-------------------------VIDEO PRODUCER: Michael Waldon ------------------------------VIDEO SOURCE: WYMT--------------------------VIDEO APPROVAL: Donna Starddard ------------------------------VIDEO RESTRICTIONS: courtesy video wymt
Views: 8909 Associated Press
WYOMING   CASPAR & CHEYENNE 1947 EDUCATIONAL FILM  "THIS LAND OF OURS"  76574z
 
09:23
The 1947 episode “The State of Wyoming,” part of the Carl Dudley Productions motion pictures series This Land Of Ours, gives viewers a taste of the western state. Wyoming sits at a high elevation, with expensive plateaus and majestic mountains. Some of the state’s notable cities are Casper (01:46), home of Fort Caspar (01:06), and Cheyenne (01:15), the state’s capital. Oil and coal are two major industries in the state due to the abundance of the natural resources. Strip mining operations (02:15) harvest the coal deposits. Timber (02:33) and agriculture are two other major industries. Wyoming’s primary crops are potatoes and sugar beets. Climate makes raising turkeys common in Wyoming, but sheep (04:00), horses (04:57), and cattle are also prominent livestock. The “cowboy” lifestyle of ranching has led to the rise of Dude Ranches (05:08), where city dwellers can experience life on a ranch. Other popular activities for locals and visitors alike are taking pack trips into the Bighorn Mountains (06:08), hiking the Tetons in Jackson Hole (06:28), and taking in Devil’s Tower (06:45). However, Wyoming’s most famous attraction is Yellowstone National Park (07:12), with its abundance of wildlife, waters, and geysers—including the world-famous Old Faithful (07:32). We encourage viewers to add comments and, especially, to provide additional information about our videos by adding a comment! See something interesting? Tell people what it is and what they can see by writing something for example: "01:00:12:00 -- President Roosevelt is seen meeting with Winston Churchill at the Quebec Conference." This film is part of the Periscope Film LLC archive, one of the largest historic military, transportation, and aviation stock footage collections in the USA. Entirely film backed, this material is available for licensing in 24p HD, 2k and 4k. For more information visit http://www.PeriscopeFilm.com
Views: 335 PeriscopeFilm
Tyrone O'Sullivan speaks on the Miners Strike of 1984-85 2/5
 
09:55
Tyrone O'Sullivan, Secretary of Tower Colliery NUM during the great Miners' Strike of 1984-85, speaks here as a committed socialist on May Day 2014 about the strike, the events that led up to it and the need for trade union militancy, solidarity and internationalism today. The public meeting, called by the Socialist Party, took place at the Maldron Hotel in Cardiff. Below is the text of the press release that was issued before the meeting. "There are those who are making television programmes and giving interviews now saying that the miners were the architects of their own downfall -- or blaming Arthur Scargill. Those are lies. The truth has got to be told. We had to fight. "We were forced into the strike by the Tory Party, who were supported by the likes of Neil Kinnock, because he feared the strength of working people as much as the Tories did. We scared the hell out them, because we didn't just fight for ourselves, we supported others as well, in this country and internationally. "In the 1970s working people were strong. We were moving society in the right direction. Because of the defeat of the miners, Thatcher -- in her role with Reagan -- was able to set the world back 40 years. All the work the miners had done supporting struggles in this country -- and in countries like Nicaragua and South Africa -- was set back. The Tories won and they changed the world. "Of course when Thatcher beat Scargill, she didn't beat the miners. What she didn't realise was that in Wales -- to take our case -- there were 22 Scargills, 44 Scargills in the pits. When the strike ended, we didn't go away. "We were the lucky ones in Tower. We carried on after the strike just as before. We kept fighting. We kept travelling all over the country -- we kept supporting others -- and when other pits closed, the best people came to Tower, the men who wouldn't take redundancy. By closing all those pits, the Tories accidentally gave Tower the best army in the world and that's why we were the last pit in South Wales." "In Tower, we always used May Day to invite people from the other pit areas -- Durham, Yorkshire, Kent -- down to a dinner and a march in Aberdare. We always used that opportunity to talk politics and bring all the areas of the NUM together. In 1984, the very year the strike started, Nottingham was meant to be coming down. If we'd only had them down the year before, history might have been different. "We need to explain the lessons of the Miners Strike to this generation, so that they are prepared for the battles of today. Others may change, but I don't. I still have the beliefs I always had -- and always will have."
Views: 211 SouthWalesSocialist
This is Mylan Park
 
07:25
From its humble beginnings as reclaimed strip mining land housing 2 baseball and 2 softball fields, Mylan Park has grown to be one of the region's finest facilities for sports and community recreation, as well as a point of pride for Monongalia County. This is where it all started.
Views: 6045 InnerAction Media
Frosty with FrostPunk, and also Oregon Trail I promise
 
02:54:10
We need your help to survive the cold: which decisions will we make as leaders of this dystopian collective? Plus, yarn chat!
Views: 109 GamerCrafting
Lil' Corner Market in Frostburg, MD
 
14:20
The small town of Frostburg, MD enjoys its holiday celebrations, and St. Paddy's day is a two-week long event here. Meanwhile, a longstanding staple of the mountain town--a small business known as the Lil' Corner Market--is moving to a new location for the first time in over 60 years and announcing its grand opening...with new food items on the menu! Further, the Lil' Corner Market is known for catering the official Relay for Life and is supporting #TeamLEE's REPS FOR RELAY event. All donations go directly to the American Cancer Society for cancer research and to help cancer patients. To donate to the REPS FOR RELAY and support cancer research: http://main.acsevents.org/goto/lerongajang The live stream of REPS FOR RELAY will happen right here on my official YouTube page. Subscribe so you don't miss it: April 29, 2018, at 1:00 p.m. As individuals, we create ourselves; as a team, we create the world. For more content, find me on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/lerongajang Please also show support to my affiliate and support channels: Survive The Demise (STD) - WMD Progressive Thrash Project https://www.youtube.com/user/survivethedemise STD fans can also find the band with the following online vendors: Amazon https://www.amazon.com/Born-Slaughter-Explicit-Survive-Demise/dp/B00JKQQUPO/ref=sr_1_1?s=dmusic&ie=UTF8&qid=1480734251&sr=1-1-mp3-albums-bar-strip-0&keywords=Survive+the+Demise iTunes https://itunes.apple.com/us/artist/survive-the-demise/id858787112 Google Play https://play.google.com/store/music/album/Survive_the_Demise_Born_of_Slaughter?id=Bkfydesq6ajthlyov6y5tlzitoe Spotify https://open.spotify.com/artist/58nLKpV2WzqCv24LIMpmfL?play=true&utm_source=open.spotify.com&utm_medium=open ABC Dude Gaming https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCd_9MvCODIs6mv22U2vfcmg Terror Dudes https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCt_vDnR7Au6m0ZuQ5f3NVGw
Views: 283 lerongajang
OceanaGold Haile Construction  Slideshow
 
02:43
Haile Gold Mine Construction update
Views: 3685 OceanaGold Corp
Jay: A Rockefeller's Journey
 
01:56:48
Why would the heir to one of the nation’s largest family fortunes would come to one of the poorest states in the nation - and stay? This documentary traces the 50-year public service career of John D. Rockefeller IV, while capturing much of the political history of West Virginia, his adopted home.
First coal from Dry Fork Mine transported to Dry Fork Station
 
00:56
Ceremony celebrating the first coal being transported from Dry Fork Mine to Dry Fork Station on April 29, 2011. http://www.basinelectric.com http://basinelectric.wordpress.com
Views: 367 Basin Electric
Harlan County, Kentucky - Adventure Tourism
 
01:01
Harlan County, Kentucky is the perfect place for adventure. Black Mountain Off-Road Adventure area is over 7000 acres of ATV trails and is also home to the Black Mountain Thunder Zipline. Also, enjoy kayaking, golfing, mountain biking, horseback riding, and camping all in the breathaking mountains of Appalachia. Afterwards visit Portal 31, Kentucky's only underground exhibition mine, fully narrated by animatronic figures. Visit Harlan County and see "where the adventure begins".
Views: 484 blumediagrouphd
Team TONY 2011 at Chili Night 2009 - Beckley, WV
 
06:52
The campaign to elect Tony O. Martin Mayor of Beckley. Team TONY|2011 participated in Beckley's 19th Annual Chili Night for a night food, fun, games and prizes! The booth featured a classic game show theme, with Mayoral Candidate Tony Martin playing the game show host.
Views: 586 obrien5808
Axel Martens: "The Fall of the Berlin Wall" | Talks at Google
 
53:19
25 years ago the Berlin Wall fell - suddenly. A most hideous and much hated vice designed to prevent the East Germans to leave their country, that had stood for 28 years, and that had cost the lives of at least 136 people trying to overcome its imprisonment was unexpectedly opened - by accident. I was almost 18 at that time. Haven grown up quite sheltered in a tiny town in the rural North of East Germany, I was watching the late night (West German) news as I saw footage of Berliners - first hundreds then thousands - crossing the "Death Strip" into West Berlin. An event that had seemed as likely as a UFO landing on the White House lawn had just happened - and it changed my life and the world as we knew it forever. Let me tell you my story, about the Wall, the daily life in East Germany in the 80th, the events leading up to November 9th, and the rare happy end of a revolution in 1989. Bio: Axel Martens was born 1972 in a small East German town 120 miles North of Berlin. Going through the typical East German school system including mandatory communist youth organizations, Axel was in his final year at high-school when the Berlin Wall fell. After finishing school, Axel moved to Berlin where he studied computer science and worked for SAP AG. In 2004, after finishing his Ph.D., Axel moved to the USA and started working for IBM Reseach in New York. Axel joined Google in October 2012 and works in New York as Tech Lead in CorpEng.
Views: 2131 Talks at Google
Knox County Life 2.wmv
 
04:35
pictures from the knox county area
Views: 297 1982jmw
Former Miss Kentucky admits she sent topless photos to young boy: Officials
 
05:50
Former Miss Kentucky admits she sent topless photos to young boy: Officials: https://abcnews.go.com/US/miss-kentucky-admits-topless-photos-young-boy-officials/story?id=59710040. Thanks for watching, subscribe for more videos: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC7Odi4U648cKmgL5MExopHw?sub_confirmation=1 She impressed beauty pageant judges with her fiddle playing and tugged at hearts with her personal battle with multiple sclerosis, but now former Miss Kentucky Ramsey Bearse is back in the spotlight for all the wrong reasons. The 28-year-old Bearse was arrested in West Virginia on suspicion of sending topless photos via Snapchat to a teenage boy, authorities said. "This is a very difficult day and this is a shock to her and to me, and to everyone else," Bearse's attorney, Al Emch, told reporters following her arraignment in Kanawha County, West Virginia, Magistrate Court. Bearse, an eighth-grade science teacher at Andrew Jackson Middle School in Cross Lanes, West Virginia, was charged with four felony counts of distribution or display of obscene matter to minors. She was arrested on Thursday after she admitted to investigators from the Kanawha County Sheriff's Office that she sent the victim at least four topless images of herself between August and October, according to a criminal complaint. At the time, the victim was 14 or 15 years old, sheriff's officials said. An investigation was launched on Dec. 5 when the victim's mother contacted the sheriff's office to complain she discovered the nude photos of Bearse on her son's cell phone, according to the criminal complaint. "The parent informed me that her son attended Andrew Jackson his sixth through eighth grade during which Ramsey Bearse was a teacher during some of that time," sheriff's Detective S.D. Ferrell wrote in the criminal complaint. Officials at Andrew Jackson Middle School would only confirm that Bearse is a teacher at the school. "We cannot comment on personnel matters, but we will follow all applicable policies and procedures," Kanawha County Schools District officials said in a statement. "The safety and security of our students is our top priority." Following her arraignment on Friday, Bearse, who has been married to a coal mining executive since 2016, told reporters, "I have no comment to make to you all at this time." If convicted of the charges, Bearse faces up to 20 years in prison and a $100,000 fine. Emch's request to have her released on her own recognizance was rejected by a magistrate, who told him during the arraignment, "I don't think that would be proper at this stage." Bearse was released from custody after posting a $10,000 property bond, officials said. She was crowned Miss Kentucky in June 2014 under her maiden name Ramsey Carpenter. She went on to compete in the 2015 Miss America pageant in Atlantic City, placing among the top 12 semi-finalists and winning the preliminary talent competition for her bluegrass fiddle playing. The winner of the Miss America pageant the year Bearse competed was Miss New York Nina Davuluri. During her reign as Miss Kentucky, Bearse promoted the platform of multiple sclerosis awareness, speaking out in numerous interviews about being diagnosed in 2010 with the disabling disease of the central nervous system. She served as #FormerMissKentucky, #admits, #sent, #topless, #photos, #young, #Officials #abcnews, #photos, #Snapchat, #MissKentucky, #beauty, #pageant, #sex, #minor, #school, #teacher, #arrest, #Kentucky, #multiplesclerosis, #judges, #beautycontest, #photography, #WestVirginia, #students, #usnews, #nationalnews, #localnews
Views: 420 David Dolan
Life in a Day__in Harlan County Kentucky
 
05:48
Hi, Thank you for giving everyone a chance to be part of something so special. We wanted so much to film a great sunset and film more of the Blanton Forest on July 24th, but we was unlucky with the clouds and it was way too hot and humid to walk back into the woods, so really sorry about that. But it was a wonderful day and we had lots fun doing it. The Hawk you see at the first and last of the video is one of Phoenix's babies, which we nicknamed Buckbeak, who came by early in the morning to say hi : ) So Thank You again and again for this great opportunity to remember : ) God Bless You and Thank You Tammy
Views: 2930 phoenixbirdlives
Gilligans Appalachia
 
28:32
Giligans Appalachia is a 1/2 hour documentary produced in 1995 by WV PBS. Watch this comedy and you might just learn something.
Tyrone O'Sullivan speaks on the Miners Strike of 1984-85 5/5 (Summing up after questions)
 
08:46
Tyrone O'Sullivan, Secretary of Tower Colliery NUM during the great Miners' Strike of 1984-85, speaks here as a committed socialist on May Day 2014 about the strike, the events that led up to it and the need for trade union militancy, solidarity and internationalism today. The public meeting, called by the Socialist Party, took place at the Maldron Hotel in Cardiff. Below is the text of the press release that was issued before the meeting. "There are those who are making television programmes and giving interviews now saying that the miners were the architects of their own downfall -- or blaming Arthur Scargill. Those are lies. The truth has got to be told. We had to fight. "We were forced into the strike by the Tory Party, who were supported by the likes of Neil Kinnock, because he feared the strength of working people as much as the Tories did. We scared the hell out them, because we didn't just fight for ourselves, we supported others as well, in this country and internationally. "In the 1970s working people were strong. We were moving society in the right direction. Because of the defeat of the miners, Thatcher -- in her role with Reagan -- was able to set the world back 40 years. All the work the miners had done supporting struggles in this country -- and in countries like Nicaragua and South Africa -- was set back. The Tories won and they changed the world. "Of course when Thatcher beat Scargill, she didn't beat the miners. What she didn't realise was that in Wales -- to take our case -- there were 22 Scargills, 44 Scargills in the pits. When the strike ended, we didn't go away. "We were the lucky ones in Tower. We carried on after the strike just as before. We kept fighting. We kept travelling all over the country -- we kept supporting others -- and when other pits closed, the best people came to Tower, the men who wouldn't take redundancy. By closing all those pits, the Tories accidentally gave Tower the best army in the world and that's why we were the last pit in South Wales." "In Tower, we always used May Day to invite people from the other pit areas -- Durham, Yorkshire, Kent -- down to a dinner and a march in Aberdare. We always used that opportunity to talk politics and bring all the areas of the NUM together. In 1984, the very year the strike started, Nottingham was meant to be coming down. If we'd only had them down the year before, history might have been different. "We need to explain the lessons of the Miners Strike to this generation, so that they are prepared for the battles of today. Others may change, but I don't. I still have the beliefs I always had -- and always will have."
Views: 312 SouthWalesSocialist
Dinos and drama: Jurassic World and callout culture
 
02:53:19
Let's talk about Instagram drama and dinosaurs
Views: 154 GamerCrafting
1934:  A New Deal for Artists
 
30:33
The Public Works of Art Project gave artists an opportunity to create art during the Great Depression. Co-Curator of the American Art Museum, Ann Wagner, discusses the federal government and its program to support artists, the artists' lives working on the federal pay roll, and select paintings from the exhibition 1934: A New Deal for Artists.
Colouring Light   Brian Clarke   An Artist Apart
 
58:35
Subtitles Avaliable (English and Portuguese). Brian Clarke is one of Britain's hidden treasures. A painter of striking large canvases and the designer of some of the most exciting stained glass in the world today, he is better known abroad - especially in Germany and Switzerland - than in his own country and more widely recognised among critics, collectors and gallery owners than he is by the general public. In this visually striking documentary portrait made by award-winning film-maker Mark Kidel, Clarke returns to Lancashire where he grew up as a prodigy in a working class family and charts his meteoric rise during the punk years and eventual success as a stained glass artist working with some of the world's great architects, including Norman Foster and Arata Isozaki - and producing spectacular work in Japan, Brazil, the USA and Europe. Contributors include his close friend and architect Zaha Hadid, architect Peter Cook and art historian Martin Harrison.
Views: 1805 Gustavo Paiva
Interview: Jeremy Till in conversation with Denise Scott Brown (Full version)
 
41:35
On the occasion of her being awarded an honorary doctorate by University of the Arts London, pioneering American architect, planner and theorist Denise Scott Brown speaks to Head of CSM Professor Jeremy Till about her life's work from her home in Philadelphia. Subscribe to our channel: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC-ePURNUTvYu2dKvW0-tHqg?view_as=subscriber?sub_confirmation=1
It's Cold AF with Frostpunk (and later, Oregon Trail probably)
 
02:28:16
We need your help to survive the cold: which decisions will we make as leaders of this dystopian collective? Plus, yarn chat!
Views: 88 GamerCrafting
Things Mr. Welch is No Longer Allowed to do in a RPG #1-2450 Reading Compilation
 
03:19:57
A list of things that Mister Welch is no long allowed to do in a tabletop rpg game. From Dungeons and dragons, call of cthulu, Pathfinder, Star Wars, and many other tabletop games and modules! 2450 entries in all! If you wish to see more from Eastside Show SCP (Eastside Steve), be sure to subscribe today for the latest videos! https://goo.gl/KekHSK The complete reading compilation of "Things Mr. Welch is No Longer Allowed to do in a RPG" numbers 1-2540! Enjoy the insanity, featuring RPG loop holes, insanity, and all sorts of table top shenanigans! Read along with me! ♣Read along: http://theglen.livejournal.com/389635.html TVtropes page: http://tvtropes.org/pmwiki/pmwiki.php/Blog/ThingsMrWelchIsNoLongerAllowedToDoInAnRPG "Pixel Peeker Polka - slower" Kevin MacLeod (incompetech.com) Licensed under Creative Commons: By Attribution 3.0 License http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/3.0/
Views: 168340 Eastside Show SCP
Lindsay Anderson Wakefield Express 1952
 
32:23
Study of a traditional industrial community seen through the columns of its local newspaper. Originally intended to be a film showing how the paper was printed, in Anderson's hands it became a much more personal study of the communal life of a group of towns in the West Riding area of Yorkshire. Wakefield Express was commissioned in 1952 by the eponymous newspaper to celebrate its 100th anniversary. The film follows the local reporters as they travel around the area in search of newsworthy events: the local rugby tea, a school concert, a constituency political meeting, the launching of a ship and the unveiling of a war memorial among others. Although it was made four years before the advent of Free Cinema, Wakefield Express can be seen as a transition between Anderson's early 'industrial films' like Meet the Pioneers (1948) and his Free Cinema contributions, especially in the way in which he shows his interest in ordinary life and people, and expresses his own point of view as a filmmaker. In the words of the programme note, "there is nothing of the impartiality of the 'general survey' about the film's approach. Its perceptive, humanist outlook brings enough concern to the communal activities to view them, in turn, with affection and irony, exasperation and respect." -------------- 16mm, 30 min, black & white Director Lindsay Anderson Production Company Michael Robinson; Wakefield Express Ltd. Cinematography Walter Lassally
Views: 2221 Jorge Arabito
Auburn Coach Wife Kristi Malzahn Agrees with Match & eHarmony: Men are Jerks
 
12:23
My advice is this: Settle! That's right. Don't worry about passion or intense connection. Don't nix a guy based on his annoying habit of yelling "Bravo!" in movie theaters. Overlook his halitosis or abysmal sense of aesthetics. Because if you want to have the infrastructure in place to have a family, settling is the way to go. Based on my observations, in fact, settling will probably make you happier in the long run, since many of those who marry with great expectations become more disillusioned with each passing year. (It's hard to maintain that level of zing when the conversation morphs into discussions about who's changing the diapers or balancing the checkbook.) Obviously, I wasn't always an advocate of settling. In fact, it took not settling to make me realize that settling is the better option, and even though settling is a rampant phenomenon, talking about it in a positive light makes people profoundly uncomfortable. Whenever I make the case for settling, people look at me with creased brows of disapproval or frowns of disappointment, the way a child might look at an older sibling who just informed her that Jerry's Kids aren't going to walk, even if you send them money. It's not only politically incorrect to get behind settling, it's downright un-American. Our culture tells us to keep our eyes on the prize (while our mothers, who know better, tell us not to be so picky), and the theme of holding out for true love (whatever that is—look at the divorce rate) permeates our collective mentality. Even situation comedies, starting in the 1970s with The Mary Tyler Moore Show and going all the way to Friends, feature endearing single women in the dating trenches, and there's supposed to be something romantic and even heroic about their search for true love. Of course, the crucial difference is that, whereas the earlier series begins after Mary has been jilted by her fiancé, the more modern-day Friends opens as Rachel Green leaves her nice-guy orthodontist fiancé at the altar simply because she isn't feeling it. But either way, in episode after episode, as both women continue to be unlucky in love, settling starts to look pretty darn appealing. Mary is supposed to be contentedly independent and fulfilled by her newsroom family, but in fact her life seems lonely. Are we to assume that at the end of the series, Mary, by then in her late 30s, found her soul mate after the lights in the newsroom went out and her work family was disbanded? If her experience was anything like mine or that of my single friends, it's unlikely. And while Rachel and her supposed soul mate, Ross, finally get together (for the umpteenth time) in the finale of Friends, do we feel confident that she'll be happier with Ross than she would have been had she settled down with Barry, the orthodontist, 10 years earlier? She and Ross have passion but have never had long-term stability, and the fireworks she experiences with him but not with Barry might actually turn out to be a liability, given how many times their relationship has already gone up in flames. It's equally questionable whether Sex and the City's Carrie Bradshaw, who cheated on her kindhearted and generous boyfriend, Aidan, only to end up with the more exciting but self-absorbed Mr. Big, will be better off in the framework of marriage and family. (Some time after the breakup, when Carrie ran into Aidan on the street, he was carrying his infant in a Baby Björn. Can anyone imagine Mr. Big walking around with a Björn?)
Views: 208255 Shari Wing
What's on my mind? - Heritage
 
03:27
This is essentially a video response to Lemonette's video "Where do youtubers come from?" It was a great video idea and I had all these great pictures to use. I talk a little about both my mom and dad's families. There are some pictures at the end! til next time... All music courtesy of: Kevin MacLeod http://incompetech.com/
Views: 1709 EmB
Michigan | Wikipedia audio article
 
01:17:10
This is an audio version of the Wikipedia Article: Michigan 00:03:01 1 History 00:04:27 1.1 17th century 00:05:29 1.2 18th century 00:09:17 1.3 19th century 00:13:14 1.4 20th and 21st centuries 00:18:51 2 Government 00:18:59 2.1 State government 00:23:16 2.2 Law 00:23:52 2.3 Politics 00:28:38 2.4 Administrative divisions 00:30:30 3 Geography 00:37:54 3.1 Climate 00:39:54 3.2 Geology 00:41:18 4 Demographics 00:41:27 4.1 Population 00:45:50 4.2 Birth data 00:46:28 4.3 Languages 00:47:41 4.4 Religion 00:50:37 5 Economy 00:55:38 5.1 Taxation 00:57:04 5.2 Agriculture 00:59:30 5.3 Tourism 01:02:36 6 Transportation 01:02:45 6.1 Canadian international crossings 01:03:51 6.2 Railroads 01:04:34 6.3 Roadways 01:07:40 6.4 Airports 01:08:25 7 Large cities, townships, and metropolitan areas 01:10:15 8 Education 01:11:17 9 Culture 01:11:26 9.1 Arts 01:11:34 9.1.1 Music 01:12:14 9.1.2 Performance arts 01:13:00 9.2 Sports 01:15:37 10 State symbols and nicknames 01:16:34 11 Sister regions 01:16:49 12 See also Listening is a more natural way of learning, when compared to reading. Written language only began at around 3200 BC, but spoken language has existed long ago. Learning by listening is a great way to: - increases imagination and understanding - improves your listening skills - improves your own spoken accent - learn while on the move - reduce eye strain Now learn the vast amount of general knowledge available on Wikipedia through audio (audio article). You could even learn subconsciously by playing the audio while you are sleeping! If you are planning to listen a lot, you could try using a bone conduction headphone, or a standard speaker instead of an earphone. You can find other Wikipedia audio articles too at: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCuKfABj2eGyjH3ntPxp4YeQ You can upload your own Wikipedia articles through: https://github.com/nodef/wikipedia-tts "The only true wisdom is in knowing you know nothing." - Socrates SUMMARY ======= Michigan ( (listen)) is a state in the Great Lakes and Midwestern regions of the United States. The state's name, Michigan, originates from the Ojibwe word mishigamaa, meaning "large water" or "large lake". Michigan is the tenth most populous of the 50 United States, with the 11th most extensive total area, and is the largest state by total area east of the Mississippi River. Michigan has a population of about 10 million. Its capital is Lansing and its largest city is Detroit. Metro Detroit is among the nation's most populous and largest metropolitan economies. Michigan is the only state to consist of two peninsulas. The Lower Peninsula, to which the name Michigan was originally applied, is often noted as shaped like a mitten. The Upper Peninsula (often called "the U.P.") is separated from the Lower Peninsula by the Straits of Mackinac, a five-mile (8 km) channel that joins Lake Huron to Lake Michigan. The Mackinac Bridge connects the peninsulas. The state has the longest freshwater coastline of any political subdivision in the world, being bounded by four of the five Great Lakes, plus Lake Saint Clair. As a result, it is one of the leading U.S. states for recreational boating. Michigan also has 64,980 inland lakes and ponds. A person in the state is never more than six miles (9.7 km) from a natural water source or more than 85 miles (137 km) from a Great Lakes shoreline.The area was first settled by Native American tribes, whose successive cultures occupied the territory for thousands of years. Colonized by French explorers in the 17th century, it was claimed as part of New France. After France's defeat in the French and Indian War in 1762, the region came under British rule. Britain ceded this territory to the newly independent United States after Britain's defeat in the American Revolutionary War. The area was part of the larger Northwest Territory until 1800, when western Michigan became part of the Indiana Territory. Michigan Territory was formed in 1805, but some of the northern border with Canada was not agreed upon until after the War of 1812. Michigan was admitted into the Union in 1837 as the 26th state, a free one. It soon became an important center of industry and trade in the Great Lakes region and a popular immigrant destination in the late 19th and early 20th centuries. Although Michigan developed a diverse economy, it is widely known as the center of the U.S. automotive industry, which developed as a major economic force in the early 20th century. It is home to the country's three major automobile companies (whose headquarters are all within the Detroit metropolitan area). While sparsely populated, the Upper Peninsula is important for tourism thanks to its abundance of natural resources, while the Lower Peninsula is a center of manufacturing, forestry, agriculture, services, and high-tech industry.
Views: 17 wikipedia tts
"Bringing People Together to Protect the Big Muddy, presentation by Patricia Schuba
 
38:37
LEO: Bringing Together People to Protect the Big Muddy, Floodplains and Drinking Water Published: June 11, 2014 Presentation by Patricia Schuba, Labadie Environmental Organization Wednesday, June 11, 2014 Westport Coffeehouse Theater – 4010 Pennsylvania Ave. Kansas City, MO In the fall of 2009, the topic of a proposed coal ash landfill in the Missouri River floodplain monopolized the conversation at a local book club meeting in the small river town of Labadie, home of Ameren Missouri’s largest coal-fired power plant. Within one month, the group had organized as a nonprofit and held its first meeting in the basement of a local church. The group is now called Labadie Environmental Organization (LEO) . The group has been a key force in mobilizing local opposition to permitting of coal ash storage in the Labadie Bottoms, a section of Missouri River floodplain upstream of the St. Louis area. pscmeeting LEO’s success has been in giving voice to local people and in doing so, has begun the reclaiming of community power in making decisions that impact the environment and local economies. LEO President Patricia Schuba shared the story of how LEO formed and how it stayed true to its original mission to represent and empower impacted communities. She shared organizational choices which allowed LEO to stay together and effectively lobby on behalf of the floodplain and people. She shared information on the dangers of coal ash, current issues in energy and waste policy she is watching and how to message effectively on complicated scientific issues and how to build cross-community support. Patricia Schuba is the President of Labadie Environmental Organization and the Director of the Coal Ash Program at Citizens Coal Council.
Views: 55 kcdigitalvideo
Where Rivers Meet: Yukon Charley Rivers National Preserve
 
15:53
A journey on these rivers passes through an ancient landscape. Here the shallow crystal clear waters of the Charley meet the mighty silt laden Yukon. Stunning cliffs and rock formations rise above the river basins, home to the Han Athabascan people. Aspiring miners came here in the 1898 Gold Rush, leaving behind ghost towns and dreams. Peregrine falcons nest in the high bluffs overlooking the rivers. Recreationists float the rivers forthe solitude and for glimpses of historic sites left after the gold rush era. ***This version is NOT audio described. For the audio described version, please follow this link: https://youtu.be/WeFmIpVjD0s ***
The Rainbow Audiobook by D. H. Lawrence | Audiobook with subtitles  | Part 2
 
06:52:11
Briefly appearing in 1915, then banned and taken out of circulation for its adult treatment of sexuality, Lawrence's visionary novel The Rainbow attempts to situate the lives of three generations of the Brangwen family within the continuous social change marking the Victorian transformation of Britain. Farmer Tom and his Polish wife Lydia, whose peaceful rural existence re-enacts the potent myths of Genesis; artisan Will and the matriarch Anna, who go to live among the industrial and mining communities so rapidly sprung up around Nottingham; finally the restless Ursula who, moving to the city, seeks sexual and emotional fulfilment with the Polish-descended Skrebensky - the three couples are not merely illustrative of the changing times, but allow the author to study in depth the conflict between the outer 'social' selves of those individuals and what he curiously calls the 'inhuman' essential being, the 'is-ness' at the core of their psychical life. Lawrence evokes this dark, unconscious 'vital core' through a language of breathtaking poetic beauty; a rhythmic incantatory prose which listeners to this recording will find perfectly rendered by Tony Foster, in all its nuances. Like Paul Morel, the hero of the earlier Sons and Lovers, Ursula survives her losses to face a future of uncertain but radiant hope: "She saw in the rainbow the earth's new architecture, the old, brittle corruption of houses and factories swept away, the world built up in a living fabric of Truth, fitting to the over-arching heaven." (Summary by Martin Geeson) Genre(s): Published 1900 onward The Rainbow (Version 2) D. H. LAWRENCE Our Custom URL : https://www.youtube.com/c/AudiobookAudiobooks Subscribe To Our Channel: https://www.youtube.com/c/AudiobookAudiobooks?sub_confirmation=1 ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Audio Book Audiobooks All Rights Reserved. This is a Librivox recording. All Librivox recordings are in the public domain. For more information or to volunteer visit librivox.org.
Mountain Dew Mouth - Children of the Mountains - appalachia
 
02:19
Mountain Dew Mouth - 20/20 Children of the Mountains - appalachia Song is Mountain Dew by KJ52
Views: 77264 mountainnnnmmmbbb
The National for Friday June 2, 2017
 
59:50
Welcome to the National, the flagship nightly newscast of CBC News, hosted by Peter Mansbridge. To see more CBC News: http://www.cbc.ca/news »»» Subscribe to The National to watch more videos here: https://www.youtube.com/user/CBCTheNational?sub_confirmation=1 Voice Your Opinion & Connect With Us Online: The National Updates on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/thenational The National Updates on Twitter: https://twitter.com/CBCTheNational The National Updates on Google+: https://plus.google.com/+CBCTheNational »»» »»» »»» »»» »»» The National is CBC Television's flagship news program. Airing seven days a week, the show delivers news, feature documentaries and analysis from some of Canada's leading journalists. Voice Your Opinion & Connect With Us Online: The National Updates on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/thenational The National Updates on Twitter: https://twitter.com/CBCTheNational The National Updates on Google+: https://plus.google.com/+CBCTheNational »»» »»» »»» »»» »»» The National is CBC Television's flagship news program. Airing seven days a week, the show delivers news, feature documentaries and analysis from some of Canada's leading journalists.
Views: 14741 CBC News: The National