Home
Search results “Human gut microbiota species”
Claire Fraser - The Human Gut Microbiome in Health and Disease
 
01:06:42
This lecture is part of the IHMC Evening Lecture series. https://www.ihmc.us/life/evening_lectures/ Human beings are colonized with a diverse collection of microorganisms that inhabit every surface and cavity of the body. This collection of microbes, known as the human microbiome, is made up of nearly one thousand different bacterial species and exists in a mutualistic relationship with us as its host. Indeed, we could not survive without our microbial partners. Claire M. Fraser, Ph.D. is Director of the Institute for Genome Sciences at the University of Maryland School of Medicine in Baltimore, MD. She has joint faculty appointments at the University of Maryland School of Medicine in the department of Medicine and Microbiology/Immunology. She helped launch the new field of microbial genomics and revolutionized the way microbiology has been studied. Until 2007, she was President and Director of The Institute for Genomic Research (TIGR) in Rockville, MD, and led the teams that sequenced the genomes of several microbial organisms, including important human and animal pathogens. Her current research is focused on characterization of the human gut microbiome in health and disease. Her work on the Amerithrax investigation led to the identification of four genetic mutations in the anthrax spores that allowed the FBI to trace the material back to its original source. She is one of the world’s experts in microbial forensics and the growing concern about dual uses – research that can provide knowledge and technologies that could be misapplied. Dr. Fraser has authored more than 300 publications, edited three books, and served on the editorial boards of nine scientific journals. Between 1997 and 2008, she was the most highly cited investigator in the field of microbiology and has been recognized for numerous awards. She has served on many advisory panels for all of the major Federal funding agencies, the National Research Council, the Department of Defense, and the intelligence community. In addition, she has contributed her time as a Board member for universities, research institutes, and other non-profit groups because of her commitment to the education of our next generation of scientists.
Views: 41365 TheIHMC
The Gut Microbiome in Health and Disease | Susan Tuddenham, M.D., M.P.H.
 
18:54
Susan Tuddenham discusses the role of the intestinal microbiome in human health and disease. To learn more about this event and to access slides for this presentation please visit: http://www.hopkinsmedicine.org/institute_basic_biomedical_sciences/news_events/2017_The_Frenemy_Within.html
Gut Microbiota and Ageing | Simin Nikbin Meydani
 
05:29
http://www.weforum.org/ Is the secret to health in later life hidden in our gut? Simin Nikbin Meydani from Tufts University, USA, says disease is not an inevitable part of ageing, and bacteria in our gut may play a key role in how we age.
Views: 1204 World Economic Forum
Our Microbes, Ourselves: Gut Bacteria's Key Role in Immunity Is Tuned to the Host Species
 
03:08
A new study suggests that the superabundant microbes lining our digestive tract are ultimately our evolutionary partners, shedding light on the hygiene hypothesis. According to this idea, living in increasingly hyper-hygienic environments might contribute to recent spikes in childhood allergies, as these beneficial host-specific microbes are hindered by the plethora of antibacterial home products and cleaning chemicals. Learn more at http://hms.harvard.edu/content/our-microbes-ourselves Like Harvard Medical School on Facebook: https://goo.gl/4dwXyZ Follow on Twitter: https://goo.gl/GbrmQM Follow on Instagram: https://goo.gl/s1w4up Follow on LinkedIn: https://goo.gl/04vRgY Website: https://hms.harvard.edu
Views: 18940 Harvard Medical School
Your Microbiome and Your Brain
 
10:10
We've talked about the trillions of microbes inside you before, but we're learning that these little creatures may have more influence than you thought! Meet your Microbiome: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ybk7E7SLbWw Hosted by: Olivia Gordon ---------- Support SciShow by becoming a patron on Patreon: https://www.patreon.com/scishow ---------- Dooblydoo thanks go to the following Patreon supporters—we couldn't make SciShow without them! Shoutout to Kevin Bealer, Mark Terrio-Cameron, KatieMarie Magnone, Patrick Merrithew, Charles Southerland, Fatima Iqbal, Sultan Alkhulaifi, Tim Curwick, Scott Satovsky Jr, Philippe von Bergen, Bella Nash, Chris Peters, Patrick D. Ashmore, Piya Shedden, Charles George ---------- Looking for SciShow elsewhere on the internet? Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/scishow Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/scishow Tumblr: http://scishow.tumblr.com Instagram: http://instagram.com/thescishow ---------- Sources: https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC4228144/ https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC414848/ https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC3039072/ https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC4367209/ https://link.springer.com/chapter/10.1007%2F978-1-4939-0897-4_3 https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC3564958/ http://www.nature.com/news/the-tantalizing-links-between-gut-microbes-and-the-brain-1.18557 http://www.nature.com/news/gut-brain-link-grabs-neuroscientists-1.16316 http://www.gastrojournal.org/article/S0016-5085(11)00607-X/abstract?referrer=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.nature.com%2Fnews%2Fthe-tantalizing-links-between-gut-microbes-and-the-brain-1.18557 https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC1664925/ https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC4362231/ Images https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Gray848.png https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Serotonin-Spartan-HF-based-on-xtal-3D-balls-web.png
Views: 288138 SciShow
What is GUT FLORA? What does GUT FLORA mean? GUT FLORA meaning, definition & explanation
 
02:30
What is GUT FLORA? What does GUT FLORA mean? GUT FLORA meaning - GUT FLORA definition - GUT FLORA explanation. Source: Wikipedia.org article, adapted under https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/3.0/ license. SUBSCRIBE to our Google Earth flights channel - https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC6UuCPh7GrXznZi0Hz2YQnQ Gut flora (gut microbiota, or gastrointestinal microbiota) is the complex community of microorganisms that live in the digestive tracts of humans and other animals, including insects. The gut metagenome is the aggregate of all the genomes of gut microbiota. The gut is one niche that human microbiota inhabit. In humans, the gut microbiota has the largest numbers of bacteria and the greatest number of species compared to other areas of the body. In humans the gut flora is established at one to two years after birth, and by that time the intestinal epithelium and the intestinal mucosal barrier that it secretes have co-developed in a way that is tolerant to, and even supportive of, the gut flora and that also provides a barrier to pathogenic organisms. The relationship between some gut flora and humans is not merely commensal (a non-harmful coexistence), but rather a mutualistic relationship.:700 Some human gut microorganisms benefit the host by fermenting dietary fiber into short-chain fatty acids (SCFAs), such as acetic acid and butyric acid, which are then absorbed by the host. Intestinal bacteria also play a role in synthesizing vitamin B and vitamin K as well as metabolizing bile acids, sterols, and xenobiotics. The systemic importance of the SCFAs and other compounds they produce are like hormones and the gut flora itself appears to function like an endocrine organ, and dysregulation of the gut flora has been correlated with a host of inflammatory and autoimmune conditions. The composition of human gut flora changes over time, when the diet changes, and as overall health changes. A systematic review from 2016 examined the preclinical and small human trials that have been conducted with certain commercially available strains of probiotic bacteria and identified those that had the most potential to be useful for certain central nervous system disorders.
Views: 1046 The Audiopedia
What’s Your Gut Microbiome Enterotype?
 
04:29
There appear to be just two types of people in the world: those who have mostly Bacteroides type bacteria in their gut, and those whose colons are overwhelmingly home to Prevotella species instead. Subscribe to Dr. Greger’s free nutrition newsletter and get the Evidence-Based Eating Guide: A Healthy Living Resource from Dr. Greger and NutritionFacts.org. Sign up at https://www.nutritionfacts.org/healthkit. If whatever gut flora enterotype we are could play an important role in our risk of developing chronic diet-associated diseases, the next question is can we alter our gut microbome by altering our diet? And the answer is -- diet can rapidly and reproducibly alter the bacteria in our gut, the subject of my next video, How to Change Your Enterotype (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/how to-change-your-enterotype). These are part of a new expanded series on the microbiome that I’ll be unfolding in the coming months. Make sure you catch the first four in this series: • How to Reduce Carcinogenic Bile Acid Production (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/how-to-reduce-carcinogenic-bile-acid-production/) • Putrefying Protein and “Toxifying” Enzymes (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/putrefying-protein-and-toxifying-enzymes/) • Microbiome: The Inside Story (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/microbiome-the-inside-story) • Prebiotics: Tending Our Inner Garden (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/prebiotics-tending-our-inner-garden) Who we have living in our gut may also play a role in autoimmune diseases. See Why Do Plant-Based Diets Help Rheumatoid Arthritis? (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/why-do-plant-based-diets-help-rheumatoid-arthritis) Have a question for Dr. Greger about this video? Leave it in the comment section at http://nutritionfacts.org/video/whats-your-gut-microbiome-enterotype and he'll try to answer it! http://www.NutritionFacts.org • Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/NutritionFacts.org • Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/nutrition_facts • Podcast: http://nutritionfacts.org/audio/ • Subscribe: http://http://nutritionfacts.org/subscribe/ • Donate: http://www.NutritionFacts.org/donate
Views: 107097 NutritionFacts.org
How Bacteria Rule Over Your Body – The Microbiome
 
07:39
What happens when microbes talk to your brain? Kurzgesagt Newsletter: http://eepurl.com/cRUQxz Support us on Patreon so we can make more videos (and get cool stuff in return): https://www.patreon.com/Kurzgesagt?ty=h Kurzgesagt merch: http://bit.ly/1P1hQIH The MUSIC of the video: Soundcloud: http://bit.ly/2kqh1a8 Bandcamp: http://bit.ly/2y2YLbW Facebook: http://bit.ly/2qW6bY4 THANKS A LOT TO OUR LOVELY PATRONS FOR SUPPORTING US: Brittany Mackinnon, Frank Ziems, Rami Rahal, Dinler Amaral Antunes, Janet Rothers, David Metzger, Luke Zehrung, Malcolm Bruce, Sebastián Schiavinato, MikeSkowron, Justin Benavides, Jayant Sahewal, Marty Otzenberger, Lor (aka FigmentForms on Tumblr), Nicu Farmache, Stan Mertens, Haakon T Nordli, Jacob, Shpend A. Mustafa, John Clendenin, Issam Rachidi, Rafael Pereira, carey armstrong, marscmd, Alexander Edlin, Andrew Walker, Jeffrey Pugh, Daniel Cecil, Ayur Pulle, Floyd T Pollard, Wesley De Cocq van Delwijnen, Georgios Zacharopoulos, thylakoide, AG HAbraken, Marc Bartscht, Tarald Sponnich, Nicole Matthews, Adam Simons, Nicole Hobday, Jack Macqueen, Maximilian Fink, Henoch Argaw, Joshua Phoenix, Peter Fintl, Hoang Viet, Richard Emerson, Nick Hofmeister, Zotin, Heron Cortizo, Hannah Beth, John, Aleksa Bjelogrlic, Fabio Palamedi, Jessica­Kim Danh, James Vilcek, Igor Vaisman, ilia, Flatag, Alex Leighton, Rebecca Percz, Fatima Chairez, James Buchanan, Sarah Spath, Hugo James Ludlow Brooks,Bulbul A Rajon Help us caption & translate this video! http://www.youtube.com/timedtext_cs_panel?c=UCsXVk37bltHxD1rDPwtNM8Q&tab=2 How Bacteria Rule Over Your Body – The Microbiome
Scientists Find Human Gut Bacteria Generates Electricity
 
05:12
Scientists Find Human Gut Bacteria Generates Electricity Yet another example of the giant, hilarious joke we call reality is the human gut. Apart from the brain, the gut is probably at once the least understood and most important part of human physiology. Of course it is. One, it’s where the food goes, and you are what you eat, as they say. Two, it’s gross and unglamorous to discuss. Even the word gut has a deranged onomatopoeia to it. It’s the sound made by a sad water balloon, and that’s a bit like what it describes. Michelangelo might have hid the form of a brain in the Sistine Chapel, but there’s not that many subversive small intestines in the great works. Still, the discoveries about the human digestive system keep coming, and like a lot of the best science, it just keeps getting more mysterious... SOURCES: by Sequoyah Kennedy Sequoyah is a writer, music producer, and poor man's renaissance man based in Providence, Rhode Island. He spends his time researching weird history and thinking about the place where cosmic horror overlaps with disco. You can follow him on Twitter: @shkennedy33. Website: https://www.mysteriousuniverse.org Check the article here: https://mysteriousuniverse.org/2018/09/scientists-find-human-gut-bacteria-generates-electricity/ Video's Music source: https://musopen.org Music Licensed under Creative Commons CC1.0 - Public Domain: https://creativecommons.org/publicdomain/mark/1.0/ LIKE, SUBSCRIBE, COMMENT BELOW & SHARE SHARE SHARE WITH OTHERS! ********************************** WELCOME! 😃 SUBSCRIBE ► http://bit.ly/2vHZRJk | ★ PREVIOUS VIDEOS ► https://bit.ly/2J3vKjI | ★ PLAYLISTS ► http://bit.ly/2ihjMJZ ★ SUBSCRIBE TO MY CHANNEL TO BE INFORMED FOR NEW VIDEOS! Enjoy the most by clicking on the Subtitles/Closed Captions icon provided that you can find on the right bottom of the videos with the words CC. ► Become a Holy Guardian Angel contributer! Send your own articles to the channel for consideration. You can also record them with your own voice, or send them via email to me. Send everything to: [email protected] ► Check the Discussion/Community Tab to be informed about my latest news: https://bit.ly/2pPZmZy LIKE, SUBSCRIBE, COMMENT BELOW & SHARE SHARE SHARE WITH OTHERS! ********************************** Social Media & Other Links: SUBSCRIBE ► http://bit.ly/2vHZRJk DISCUSSION/COMMUNITY TAB ► https://bit.ly/2pPZmZy PAYPAL DONATIONS WELCOME [email protected] ► http://bit.ly/2w3B5mP LIKE MY FACEBOOK ► http://bit.ly/2usDEeA FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER ► http://bit.ly/2urLb1e FOLLOW GOOGLE+1 ME ► http://bit.ly/2vSmewd CHECK OUT MY OTHER VIDEOS ► https://bit.ly/2J3vKjI THANK YOU FOR WATCHING THIS VIDEO! LIKE, SUBSCRIBE, COMMENT BELOW & SHARE SHARE SHARE WITH OTHERS! Be Blessed **********************************
Gut Flora – Balance Colon Bacteria - Good Health
 
08:50
Gut Flora – Balance Bacteria With Probiotics More info normalcolon.com/gut-flora Support Me By Purchasing Through Amazon. Buy anything on Amazon http://amzn.to/2jeWOSP (Amazon Affiliate link) Buy Custom Probiotics http://amzn.to/1NamQki (Amazon Affiliate link) The microbial battle that is being waged inside all of us can be considered one of the classic battles between good and evil. Our gut flora should be probiotic in nature. The microbiome is associated with every disease, including diabetes, cancer, and autism, according to Dr. Michael Synder. We are our bacteria. 100 trillion bacterial cells within the body, bacterial cells outnumber human cells 10 to 1, bacterial DNA within the body outnumbers human DNA 100 to 1. The microbiome weighs more than the liver. Since the microbiome is so significant, having a full understanding of its capabilities and interactions are crucial in order to understand the human body as a whole. Our microbiome determines who we are. Within the colon is 3 pounds of bacteria that consists of over 400 different species. Probiotic bacteria contribute to colonization resistance and reduce overall space available to pathogenic bacteria. These gut flora control pathogens, regulate immunity, regulate inflammation, synthesize vitamins, synthesize enzymes, increase mineral bioavailability, synthesize neurotransmitters, regulate hormones metabolism, regulate blood sugar, regulate appetite, and contribute to liver health. The gut flora also has a close connection with the brain. The Gut flora makes Neurotransmitters like serotonin and dopamine and can communicate directly with the brain. There are a number of factors that affect probiotic bacterial concentrations. In order to keep probiotics healthy, live a healthy lifestyle and eat natural foods rich in fiber in order to feed them. The biggest factor affecting probiotic levels is antibiotic use. Those who have taken antibiotics have likely displaced their natural bacterial balance. This results in a condition known as bacterial dysbiosis. In addition, laxatives, heavy-metal toxicity, corticosteroids, environmental pollutants, chemotherapy, radiation, antibacterial soap, toothpaste, shampoo, and detergents can all affect bacterial levels. Ideally, avoid antibiotics or at least take part in a probiotic supplementation regimen immediately after antibiotic use. Those who are looking for an alternative to antibiotics can consider supplementing with iodine. Some symptoms of bacterial dysbiosis include, Gray hair, balding, dementia, diabetes, obesity, eczema, anemia, stroke, cancer, Parkinson's, Alzheimer's, constipation, arthritis, anxiety, depression, OCD, ADHD, autism, yeast infections, asthma, inflammation, autoimmune diseases, and respiratory problems. Ideally, correct bacterial dysbiosis with probiotic supplementation. The gut flora is directly connected with proper immune system function. In fact, 70% of the immune system is attributed to probiotic bacteria. Good bacteria increase lymphocytes, increase interferons, increase cytokines, simulate phagocytosis, and simulate antibody formation. Healthy bacteria also initiate the GALT, otherwise known as the innate immune system response. In this way, the body is able to communicate with probiotic bacteria and identify between healthy and pathogenic organisms. In order to remove pathogenic bacteria from the body, take part in a colon cleanse and remove the mucoid plaque that offers hospitality to them. In addition, make sure food is being digested properly, and if not, correct the issue by increasing stomach acid production or supplement with betaine hydrochloride. After mucoid plaque and undigested food are removed from the digestive system, one should inoculate their colon with probiotics. This will allow healthy bacteria to reclaim their space and promote good health. Those who consume fermented food like kimchi, Kefir milk, and Kombucha tea are able to introduce probiotics into their digestive system. GcMAF supplementation is a treatment to help people with weak immune systems. GcMAF is currently going through regulatory issues in both the United States and Europe. After probiotics have established themselves, it is important to feed them with pre-biotics. Since bacteria eat soluble fiber, consume a diet rich in fruits, vegetables, beans, and even oat fiber. In some cases, fecal transplants have been used in order to introduce healthy bacteria into the gut. Initial procedures have proven to be successful and are likely to be used with greater frequency. Understanding of the microbiome will likely change medical treatments in the future. Instead of just focusing on the human element, futuristic doctors will concentrate on the microbiome as well. All products at normalcolon.com/gut-flora
Views: 10825 Normal Colon
The microbiota as instructor and arbiter of immune responses in health and disease
 
01:08:00
The microbiota as instructor and arbiter of immune responses in health and disease Air date: Wednesday, February 22, 2017, 3:00:00 PM Category: WALS - Wednesday Afternoon Lectures Runtime: 01:07:59 Description: NIH Director's Wednesday Afternoon Lecture Series The vertebrate intestinal tract is colonized by hundreds of species of bacteria that outnumber the total cells in the host, yet must be compartmentalized and tolerated to prevent invasive growth and harmful inflammatory responses. A key function of commensal microbes is to contribute to the adaptive immune repertoire and to diverse lymphocyte effector functions. T cell responses against non-invasive commensals contribute to shaping the repertoire of effector/memory and regulatory T cells. How T cells elicited by commensal bacteria can influence autoimmunity is a central question that remains unsolved. The Littman Lab studies the antigenic specificity of microbiota-induced T cells and the mechanisms by which their functions are acquired upon interaction with distinct commensal species. His lab finds that Th17 cells, which are central to mucosal barrier defense but also participate in autoimmune disease, are induced by specific constituents of the microbiota, and acquire effector function only after additional exposure to endogenous adjuvants, such as the serum amyloid A proteins. The lab's studies in mice are not only relevant for human autoimmune diseases, many of which have Th17 cell involvement, but may also provide insights into how commensal microbe-specific T cell responses could be harnessed for mucosal vaccination and cancer immunotherapy. For more information go to https://oir.nih.gov/wals/2016-2017 Author: Dan R. Littman, M.D., Ph.D., Investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute; Kimmel Professor of Molecular Immunology at New York University School of Medicine Permanent link: https://videocast.nih.gov/launch.asp?22148
Views: 5698 nihvcast
THE GUT MICROBIOME AND THE BRAIN
 
07:36
The gut microbiome includes bacteria, bacteriophages, viruses, fungi, protozoa, and archaea, and this community of organisms is critical to the maintenance of human health, as well as in the pathophysiology of various diseases. The community in your gut is unique, much like your fingerprint. They began to colonize you the moment you were born and can change throughout your lifetime. Good bacteria in your gut help you absorb nutrients from your food. They also take up space and hog vital nutrients so harmful microorganisms are not able to colonize, and educate immune cells in the identification of harmful invaders. However, did you know that your gut microbiome also affects your mental health? These tiny beings help you break down food traveling through your intestines, hence producing metabolites influencing all your cells – including those of your nervous system. Simultaneously, immune responses to harmful pathogens produce molecules that can also affect brain physiology. But that’s just scratching the surface. A healthy and diverse microbiome is essential for normal cognitive and emotional processing. Your microbiome communicates with the central nervous system – aka the brain and spinal cord – through nervous, endocrine, and immune signaling mechanisms. We don’t yet have a good understanding of how the gut microbiome and central nervous system influence one another, but it’s been shown that changes in gut flora composition can result in increased intestinal permeability, allowing neuroactive compounds through and activating the inflammatory response. Yet other microbiota can produce compounds that affect gene expression in the nervous system. Research has shown that changes in microbiota can cause depression, change social interactions, protect from stress-induced changes to the immune system, and can cause physiological changes that are even transferable between species! Our lifestyle has a major effect on the composition of our microbiome. What we eat, our stress levels, and our emotional state determine which organisms can live on in our gut. The human gut microbiota is generally fairly stable and resists change in community makeup. However, the brain can modulate the composition of our gut community by changing intestinal permeability and secretions, as well as through the release of hormones that affect microbial gene expression. Our gut flora composition can also be perturbed by changes in hormones or diet, antibiotics and stress. Reduction of the normal gut biota population – for instance while taking antibiotics – provides an opportunity for pathogens to colonize the gut epithelium. It has been known for a while that the gastrointestinal system communicates with the brain. The enteric nervous system is a mesh-like set of 500 million neurons governing the gastrointestinal tract. That’s 5 times as many neurons as there are in your spinal cord – no wonder the enteric nervous system is sometimes called the second brain! The enteric nervous system CAN operate autonomously, however, it communicates with the central nervous system via the vagus nerve and prevertebral ganglia. This biochemical signalling between the gastrointestinal tract and central nervous system is called the gut-brain axis. However, it is only now being realized just how much of an affect the microbiome has on the brain. Hence, this bidirectional interaction between the microbiome and the central nervous system has been termed the microbiome-gut-brain axis. The gut microbiome and central nervous system have bidirectional effects on one another. More research on this topic will help us get further insights into disorders of both the gut and the central nervous system. This is exciting news, because perhaps neuropsychiatric disorders will one day be treated through gut microbiota! Preclinical studies have identified plainly the powerful influence of gut microbiota on the central nervous system, but there are still issues with reproducibility, so we need continued improvement of experimental approaches. So what can you do to maintain the gut of your gut flora? Eat a healthy diet! Also, antibiotic resistance is no longer the only reason to not over-prescribe antibiotics.
Views: 247 Neural Academy
The microbiome: how might gut bacteria help treat cancer? | Cancer Research UK (2019)
 
01:59
Our bodies are home to microbes that far outnumber our own cells. The bacteria, fungi and viruses that live inside us are collectively called our microbiome, and they play an important role in our health. But scientists also think that the bacteria in our guts might help some cancers develop and change how these cancers respond to treatment. Researchers around the world, including those now funded by Cancer Research UK’s Grand Challenge, are trying to find out more and look for ways to turn these bacteria in to new ways to treat cancer. You can find out more about the latest Cancer Research UK Grand Challenge teams on our blog: http://po.st/wLfB6o
Views: 2924 Cancer Research UK
The Invisible Universe Of The Human Microbiome
 
05:29
The next time you look in a mirror, think about this: In many ways you're more microbe than human. There are 10 times more cells from microorganisms like bacteria and fungi in and on our bodies than there are human cells. But these tiny compatriots are invisible to the naked eye. So we asked artist Ben Arthur to give us a guided tour of the rich universe of the human microbiome.
Views: 506025 NPR
How the Gut Microbiome affects the Brain and Mind
 
13:23
Get 10% off any purchase here: http://squarespace.com/WIL ▲Patreon: https://www.patreon.com/WILearned ▲Twitter: https://twitter.com/jeverettlearned The gut microbiota is a huge topic and has some very significant implications for health and nutrition. Here I've explained just a tiny bit of the research. A pdf with a transcript for the video and links to sources can be found here: https://www.patreon.com/posts/17115405 ________ Books: "The Good Gut" by Justin and Erica Sonnenburg - http://amzn.to/2ETThV2 "Missing Microbes" By Martin Blaser - http://amzn.to/2Hu43jh "Brain Maker" By David Perlmutter - http://amzn.to/2sF5EiO (Not mentioned in the video, but another good book on the subject) Will have the transcript with links up soon Featured Music: Broke for Free - Meiei Chris Zabriskie - Mario Bava Sleeps in a Little Later than he expected to Broke for Free - Breakfast with Tiffany Chris Zabriskie - Divider Kevin MacLeod - Rollin at 5 For Business inquiries: [email protected]
Views: 530055 What I've Learned
Life in the Lab: Working with human gut microbiota
 
04:55
Hilary Browne is a PhD student, working in the infection genomics group at the Wellcome Trust Sanger Institute. In this film he describes how to work safely in the lab with bacteria from the human gut including culturing them on agar plates and extracting the DNA for genome sequencing. The infection genomics programme uses a variety of different research approaches to study the biology and evolution of disease-causing organisms such as viruses, bacteria and parasites and understand how they cause disease in humans and other animals. This is one of a series of Life in the lab films providing a more in-depth insight to some of the laboratory processes used by different teams at the Wellcome Sanger Institute. The film has been developed to help support the OCR Cambridge Technical Level 3 in laboratory skills.
Views: 1036 yourgenome
Gut Microbes - Importance in Health and Disease
 
01:49
On May 29 patients and healthcare professionals around the world celebrate World Digestive Health Day to raise awareness of the millions of patients who suffer from a digestive or liver disease. This year, special attention is given to gut microbes and their strong relation with diseases in and outside the digestive system. This video was produced by UEG & ESNM, with the backing of the WGO, medical associations, patient organisations and the charity foundation 'Core'.
How To Improve Your Gut Bacteria 10 Ways To Enhance Your Gut Microbiota
 
12:45
How To Improve Your Gut Bacteria 10 Ways To Enhance Your Gut Microbiota. Your body is full of trillions of bacteria, viruses and fungi. They are collectively known as the microbiome. While some bacteria are associated with disease, others are actually extremely important for your immune system, heart, weight and many other aspects of health. The gut flora make up a world of microorganisms that populate our gastrointestinal tract. It is estimated there are about 100 trillion of these microorganisms, called microbes. They are predominately made up of various strains of bacteria, but there are also some fungi and protozoa as well. Our relationship with the gut flora is considered to be one of mutual benefit. The gut flora may also be referred to as the microbiome, microbiota or microflora. Gut Bacteria and Diet Although the research in this area is quite preliminary, the following dietary changes may be of help in keeping your friendly gut bacteria happy and certainly will do you no harm: Decrease sugar and refined carbohydrates. These food components interact with gut bacteria through a process of fermentation and can contribute to excessive symptoms of gas and bloating. Get to know prebiotics. As you hear more and more about gut bacteria, you will also be hearing more and more about prebiotics. Prebiotics are ingredients in foods that encourage the growth of beneficial flora. Prebiotics are primarily found in vegetables and fruits that are high in soluble and insoluble fiber. Two other buzzwords are "fructooligosaccharides" and "inulins;" foods with these prebiotic components seem to be especially gut flora-friendly.
Views: 3701 Best For Health
Human Gut Microbiome
 
01:21:35
Presenter: Lisa Sardinia, PhD, JD Most of the tens of trillions of cells that make up the human body are actually microbes. The gut microbiota make vitamins for us, help us digest food, battle disease-causing microbes, and may influence our behavior.
How the food you eat affects your gut - Shilpa Ravella
 
05:10
View full lesson: http://ed.ted.com/lessons/how-the-food-you-eat-affects-your-gut-shilpa-ravella The bacteria in our guts can break down food the body can’t digest, produce important nutrients, regulate the immune system, and protect against harmful germs. And while we can’t control all the factors that go into maintaining a healthy gut microbiome, we can manipulate the balance of our microbes by paying attention to what we eat. Shilpa Ravella shares the best foods for a healthy gut. Lesson by Shilpa Ravella, animation by Andrew Foerster.
Views: 1528653 TED-Ed
Microbiome Diet - Animation Shows How To Feed Your Gut Bacteria
 
04:16
https://microbefiber.com We know that many plant foods benefit our health. Scientists now believe one reason for this lies with the gut Microbiome - the, bacteria in your intestines. Your microbiome is nourished by meals like this, rich in soluble fiber also referred to as resistant starch. Soluble fiber can't be digested by your body, but instead becomes food for your gut bacteria. Most starch is easily digested. Starch is dissolved in the small intestine and then absorbed by your body, providing you with energy and nutrients. The remaining, non-digestible portion is called resistant starch, or soluble fiber. The soluble fiber continues its journey through your gut and arrives at the large Intestine. We see that the soluble fiber has become exposed to the healthy bacteria of the gut microbiome. This species of bacteria specialize in breaking down soluble fiber. This breakdown process provides the bacteria with the fuel they need to survive. As they use the soluble fiber for energy, they release small carbohydrate molecules. The neighbouring bacteria feed on these carbohydrates. As the bacteria feed, they excrete even smaller molecules as waste. One of the final waste products is called butyrate, an energy source for your body. As the butyrate builds up, it is absorbed by the large intestine. The presence of butyrate encourages blood to flow into the vessels of the large intestine, keeping the tissue healthy. If your diet includes enough soluble fiber, these cells will use butyrate as their main source of energy. Here, we can see the molecular surface of one of the intestinal cells. The surface is covered in special proteins that actively pump butyrate molecules into the cell. Once inside, they can be harvested for energy. In addition, butyrate has other benefits. Intestinal cells are sensitive to DNA damage, caused by toxic foods and artificial ingredients. This cell's DNA has been damaged, resulting in a mutation. More damage could accumulate over time as the cell divides, which could lead to colon cancer. But, a steady supply of butyrate allows the damage to be more easily detected, and, the cell can activate a suicide program in response. Because the damaged cell destroys itself, it can't progress to form a cancer. A starved microbiome is unable to protect you from cancer. By eating foods rich in soluble fiber resistant starch, you can nourish your microbiome and improve your health! Original video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NI3KtR3LoqM Audio track remade for use in the USA with minor language edits from Australian english to USA English.
Views: 25280 MicrobeFiber
Inter-Species and Xenobiotic Interaction Landscape of the Human Gut Microbiome
 
40:43
Speaker: PATIL Kiran Raosaheb (EMBL, Heidelberg) Joint ICGEB-ICTP-APCTP Workshop on Systems Biology and Molecular Economy of Microbial Communities | (smr 3129) 2017_07_06-11_40-smr3129
The Gut Microbiota and Multiple Sclerosis | Dr. Jens Walter | MS Society of Canada
 
01:29:11
As humans, our intestinal tract is colonized by a dense and species-rich community of microorganisms (the gut microbiota) that is of paramount importance to our health. Recent clinical and experimental studies clearly indicate an important role of these communities in the etiology of multiple sclerosis and other autoimmune diseases. Dr. Walter discussed how the gut microbiota is implicated in the pathology of MS and how ‘microbial involvement’ provides explanations for the impact of the environmental risk factors of MS. He presented some of the microbiome-targeted treatment options that are currently discussed and researched in the field. Dr. Jens Walter is an associate professor and Campus Alberta Innovation Program Chair for nutrition, microbes and gastrointestinal health at the University of Alberta. After receiving his doctoral degree from the University of Hohenheim in Germany, he performed postdoctoral research into genetic and metagenomic approaches to study gut microbial ecology at the University of Otago in New Zealand. In 2006, Dr. Walter accepted a tenure track position at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln to work as a molecular microbial ecologist. He received tenure in 2012 before moving to the University of Alberta, Canada in 2014. Dr. Walter’s research focuses on the investigation of ecological and evolutionary processes that shape host-microbial symbioses in the human gut, and the application of these scientific concepts to develop microbiome-targeted nutritional and therapeutic strategies to improve human health. ------------------------------------------------------- To learn more about the MS Society of Canada, please visit our website or contact one of our MS Navigators: Website: https://mssociety.ca/ Phone: 1-844-859-6789 Email: [email protected]
Know Your Gut: uBiome Sequences Human Bacteria
 
04:36
What kinds of bacteria live in and on us? And how much bacteria do we share with the people and pets we live with? A San Francisco-based company called uBiome is trying to find the answers. Anthony takes a tour of their lab and talks to the scientists working to sequence the human microbiome to learn how it affects our health and our daily lives. Read More: Order a uBiome kit here! http://ubiome.com/ uBiome on Facebook https://www.facebook.com/uBiome uBiome on Twitter https://twitter.com/uBiome Citizen Scientist: uBiome http://www.scientificamerican.com/citizen-science/project.cfm?id=ubiome-human-microbiome "uBiome has launched a citizen science effort to map the human microbiome, the microorganisms that inhabit every inch of our skin as well as our ears, mouth, sinuses, genitals and gut." Watch More: Bacteria Affects Personality https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lKKZQfwzWAM TestTube Wild Card http://testtube.com/dnews/dnews-341-smart-guitar-makes-anyone-a-musician?utm_source=YT&utm_medium=DNews&utm_campaign=DNWC Antibiotics Don't Help! https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tQZnhjJnD5E ____________________ DNews is dedicated to satisfying your curiosity and to bringing you mind-bending stories & perspectives you won't find anywhere else! New videos twice daily. Watch More DNews on TestTube http://testtube.com/dnews Subscribe now! http://www.youtube.com/subscription_center?add_user=dnewschannel DNews on Twitter http://twitter.com/dnews Anthony Carboni on Twitter http://twitter.com/acarboni Laci Green on Twitter http://twitter.com/gogreen18 Trace Dominguez on Twitter http://twitter.com/trace501 DNews on Facebook http://facebook.com/dnews DNews on Google+ http://gplus.to/dnews Discovery News http://discoverynews.com
Views: 93769 Seeker
Martin Blaser, New York University, „Human Gut Microbiota Perturbation and Disease”
 
42:58
Lecture by Prof. Martin J. Blaser, New York University, on "Human Gut Microbiota - Pertubation and Disease" at the Centre for Molecular Biosciences, Kiel University, September 5, 2017. Blaser studies bacteria of the human microbiome including Campylobacter and Helicobacter species that live in the mucus layer overlying the mucosal epithelium of mammals, including humans. Find out more: https://med.nyu.edu/medicine/labs/blaserlab/v1-mbr_blaser.html https://med.nyu.edu/faculty/martin-j-blaser More about the CRC 1182 "Origin and Function of Metaorganisms" in Kiel: http://www.metaorganism-research.com
Non-Antibiotic Drugs Affect our Gut Bacteria
 
09:15
The gut microbiome plays a vital role in metabolism, physiology, nutrition and immune response. Previous studies have shown that some non-antibiotic drugs can lead to changes in composition of the gut microbiome, but the extent of this is not understood. Scientists at EMBL have now screened the effects of 1,200 marketed drugs on the growth of 38 representative bacterial strains found in the human gut. This e-learning video showcases the story, methodology and findings from this breakthrough Nature publication, published on the 19th March 2018. http://dx.doi.org/10.1038/nature25979 Find out more and take our quiz and interactive exercises by visiting our e-learning website https://www.embl.de/training/e-learning/drug_microbiome/index.html
How The Gut Microbiota Affects Our Health with Dr. Erica & Dr. Justin Sonnenburg
 
43:57
Dr. Justin Sonnenburg is an associate professor of microbiology and immunology at Stanford and Dr. Erica Sonnenburg is a senior research scientist in the Sonnenburg lab where they the research many aspects the interaction between diet with the 100 trillion or so bacteria in the gut (specifically the colon) and how this impacts the health of the host (which in this case is a laboratory research mouse). In this episode we discuss the pivotal role fiber plays in fueling good bacteria in the gut to produce compounds that regulate the immune system including increasing the number of T regulatory cells, which are specialized types of immune cells that keep the immune system in check and prevent autoimmune responses, and how these compounds also increase other types of blood cells in the body in a process known as hematopoiesis. We also talk about how the lack of fiber in the typical American diet actually starves these good bacteria of their food. This has an effect not only on the immune system and autoimmune diseases but also results in the breakdown of the gut barrier, which leads to widespread inflammation and inflammatory diseases. Lastly, in this podcast, Dr. Erica Sonnenburg talks about how C-sections, have a negative effect on the infant’s gut due to the lack of exposure to bacteria present in the mother’s vaginal canal, and how the use of formula deprives the infant not only from the good bacteria present in Mom’s gut but also from special carbohydrates in breast milk that are good for the infant gut flora known as HMOs or human milk oligosaccharides. ▶︎ Get the show notes! https://www.foundmyfitness.com/episodes/the-sonnenburgs Links related to the Sonnenburgs: ▶︎ http://sonnenburglab.stanford.edu/ ▶︎ http://www.facebook.com/thegoodgut ▶︎http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/1594206287/ref=as_li_tl?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creative=9325&creativeASIN=1594206287&linkCode=as2&tag=foun06-20&linkId=IOKAGDTRCL47XQN6 Links related to FoundMyFitness: ▶︎ Join my weekly newsletter: http://www.foundmyfitness.com/?sendme=nutrigenomics ▶︎ Crowdfund more videos: http://www.patreon.com/foundmyfitness ▶︎ Subscribe on YouTube: http://www.youtube.com/subscription_center?add_user=foundmyfitness ▶︎ Subscribe to the podcast: http://itunes.apple.com/us/podcast/foundmyfitness/id818198322 ▶︎ Twitter: http://twitter.com/foundmyfitness ▶︎ Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/foundmyfitness ▶︎ Instagram: http://www.instagram.com/foundmyfitness
Views: 121783 FoundMyFitness
Your Gut Microbes Are Controlling Your Mind, Here’s What You’ll Do For Them
 
03:40
Microbes in your body can control how you feel and what you want to eat, here's how. Super Bacteria Has a New Enemy: The CRISPR Pill - https://youtu.be/zWzQf2xzJek Read More: Is Your Gut Making You Depressed or Anxious? https://www.scientificamerican.com/article/is-your-gut-making-you-depressed-or-anxious/ “If you had to guess the organ that has undue influence on your emotions, your mood, even your choices, what would you guess? The brain? Sure, but what else? The heart—that mythological seat of the soul? Not quite.” How Many Cells Are in the Human Body—And How Many Microbes? https://news.nationalgeographic.com/2016/01/160111-microbiome-estimate-count “Your body is a microbial melting pot, home to trillions of bacteria that help keep you healthy and regular. And for decades, scientists have shown their importance with this alluring factoid: The microbes in your body outnumber your own cells ten to one.” Your Gut Bacteria Want You to Eat a Cupcake https://www.theatlantic.com/health/archive/2014/08/your-gut-bacteria-want-you-to-eat “Humans’ gastrointestinal tracts are home to 10,000 species of bacteria, which get energy from our half-digested lunches. (Another estimate puts the number of species as high as 36,000.) In exchange, they help us break down food and keep harmful bacteria out, and have also been shown to help regulate fat storage and provide vitamins.” ____________________ Seeker explains every aspect of our world through a lens of science, inspiring a new generation of curious minds who want to know how today’s discoveries in science, math, engineering and technology are impacting our lives, and shaping our future. Our stories parse meaning from the noise in a world of rapidly changing information. Visit the Seeker website https://www.seeker.com/videos Elements on Facebook - https://www.facebook.com/SeekerElements/ Subscribe now! http://www.youtube.com/subscription_center?add_user=dnewschannel Seeker on Twitter http://twitter.com/seeker Trace Dominguez on Twitter https://twitter.com/tracedominguez Seeker on Facebook https://www.facebook.com/SeekerMedia/ Seeker http://www.seeker.com/ Special thanks to Maren Hunsberger for hosting and writing this episode of Seeker! Check Maren out on Twitter: https://twitter.com/marenbeatrice
Views: 111609 Seeker
The gut flora: You and your 100 trillion friends: Jeroen Raes at TEDxBrussels
 
08:59
Jeroen Raes is a bionaut, he researches the human microbiome. What he's discovered in his lab at the Flanders Institute of Biology could herald a major breakthrough not just in gastro-intestinal medicine, but in our fundamental knowledge of the human biology. It turns out that there are only three different types of gut bacteria and, just like blood groups, the three types are totally independent of race, sex, age or diet. Such a baffling finding leads to more research of course and Raes is currently testing his idea on a larger group . The implications for Crohn's Disease or obesity could be dramatic. http://www.tedxbrussels.eu In the spirit of ideas worth spreading, TEDx is a program of local, self-organized events that bring people together to share a TED-like experience. At a TEDx event, TEDTalks video and live speakers combine to spark deep discussion and connection in a small group. These local, self-organized events are branded TEDx, where x = independently organized TED event. The TED Conference provides general guidance for the TEDx program, but individual TEDx events are self-organized.* (*Subject to certain rules and regulations)
Views: 168750 TEDx Talks
Hungry Microbiome: Gut Microbiome
 
11:41
An animated overview of the human gut microbiome: the community of microbes in our insides. This video describes the various species of microbe that inhabit our digestive system and expounds their roles in digestion. Written and illustrated by Armando Hasudungan. The transcript can be found here: https://csironewsblog.files.wordpress.com/2015/01/gut-microbiome.doc
Views: 5939 CSIRO
Type 2 diabetes may be caused by gut bacteria
 
02:59
Studying gut bacteria can reveal a range of human illness. Now, new research shows that the composition of a person's intestinal bacteria could play an important role in the development of type 2 diabetes. These results, from a joint European and Chinese research team, have just been published in the journal Nature.Production: Lasse Foghsgaard Mathias NielsenPhotography: Mathias NielsenSpeak: Carl Hagman Read the official University of Copenhagen press release: http://news.ku.dk/all_news/2012/2012.9/gut-bacteria-could-cause-diabetes/ Read the scientific article in the journal Nature: http://www.nature.com/nature/journal/v490/n7418/full/nature11450.html
Why Microbiome Is Crucial for Your Health, and Important! What is Gut Microbiome?
 
05:06
Dr Strubbe Chiropractic Physician 727-541-6800. http://drjamesstrubbe.com http://drjamesstrubbe.com https://www.facebook.com/pages/Disc-S... 5687 Park Boulevard Pinellas Park FL 33781. Why the Gut Microbiome Is Crucial for Your Health Your body is full of trillions of bacteria, viruses and fungi. They are collectively known as the microbiome. While some bacteria are associated with disease, others are actually extremely important for your immune system, heart, weight and many other aspects of health. What Is the Gut Microbiome? Bacteria, viruses, fungi and other microscopic living things are referred to as microorganisms, or microbes, for short. Trillions of these microbes exist mainly inside your intestines and on your skin. Most of the microbes in your intestines are found in a "pocket" of your large intestine called the cecum, and they are referred to as the gut microbiome. Although many different types of microbes live inside you, bacteria are the most studied. In fact, there are more bacterial cells in your body than human cells. There are roughly 40 trillion bacterial cells in your body and only 30 trillion human cells. That means you are more bacteria than human What's more, there are up to 1,000 species of bacteria in the human gut microbiome, and each of them plays a different role in your body. Most of them are extremely important for your health, while others may cause disease Altogether, these microbes may weigh as much as 2–5 pounds (1–2 kg), which is roughly the weight of your brain. Together, they function as an extra organ in your body and play a huge role in your health. The bacterial cells harbored within the human gastrointestinal tract (GIT) outnumber the host’s cells by a factor of 10 and the genes encoded by the bacteria resident within the GIT outnumber their host’s genes by more than 100 times. These human digestive-tract associated microbes are referred to as the gut microbiome. The human gut microbiome and its role in both health and disease has been the subject of extensive research, establishing its involvement in human metabolism, nutrition, physiology, and immune function. Imbalance of the normal gut microbiota have been linked with gastrointestinal conditions such as inflammatory bowel disease (IBD) and irritable bowel syndrome (IBS), and wider systemic manifestations of disease such as obesity, type 2 diabetes, and atopy. In the first part of this review, we evaluate our evolving knowledge of the development, complexity, and functionality of the healthy gut microbiota, and the ways in which the microbial community is perturbed in dysbiotic disease states; the second part of this review covers the role of interventions that have been shown to modulate and stabilize the gut microbiota and also to restore it to its healthy composition from the dysbiotic states seen in IBS, IBD, obesity, type 2 diabetes, and atopy. Dr Strubbe Chiropractic Physician 727-541-6800. http://drjamesstrubbe.com http://drjamesstrubbe.com https://www.facebook.com/pages/Disc-S... 5687 Park Boulevard Pinellas Park FL 33781.
Views: 58 MOOvin VIDEO
Meet Your Microbiome!
 
11:13
What you don't know about your microbiome may kill you!!! ...or just give you diarrhea. Hosted by: Hank Green ---------- Support SciShow by becoming a patron on Patreon: https://www.patreon.com/scishow ---------- Dooblydoo thanks go to the following Patreon supporters—we couldn't make SciShow without them! Shout out to Kevin Bealer, Mark Terrio-Cameron, KatieMarie Magnone, Patrick Merrithew, Charles Southerland, Fatima Iqbal, Benny, Kyle Anderson, Tim Curwick, Scott Satovsky Jr, Philippe von Bergen, Bella Nash, Bryce Daifuku, Chris Peters, Patrick D. Ashmore, Charles George, Bader AlGhamdi ---------- Looking for SciShow elsewhere on the internet? Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/scishow Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/scishow Tumblr: http://scishow.tumblr.com Instagram: http://instagram.com/thescishow ---------- Sources: http://www.nature.com/news/scientists-bust-myth-that-our-bodies-have-more-bacteria-than-human-cells-1.19136 https://lhncbc.nlm.nih.gov/files/archive/pub2001047.pdf http://learn.genetics.utah.edu/content/microbiome/ https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC3426293/ http://jb.asm.org/content/192/19/5002.full https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/23201354 https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC4290017/ http://www.mayoclinic.org/diseases-conditions/c-difficile/home/ovc-20202264 http://www.health.harvard.edu/staying-healthy/clostridium-difficile-an-intestinal-infection-on-the-rise https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/26104013 http://gut.bmj.com/content/early/2016/03/14/gutjnl-2015-311339.abstract https://www.scientificamerican.com/article/gut-fungus-suspected-in-crohn-s-disease/ https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC4831151/ http://www.npr.org/sections/thesalt/2013/11/08/243929866/can-we-eat-our-way-to-a-healthier-microbiome-its-complicated http://www.nature.com/news/bacteria-found-in-healthy-placentas-1.15274 http://www.nytimes.com/2013/08/29/science/human-microbiome-may-be-seeded-before-birth.html Images: https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:EscherichiaColi_NIAID.jpg https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Microbiome_Sites_(27058471125).jpg https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:MYA3404_Ctropicalis_WT.png https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:ClostridiumDifficile.jpg
Views: 213257 SciShow
Bacteria Can Change Your Personality
 
02:46
If you think you can rid your body of bacteria with a quick squirt of hand sanitizer, you'd be oh so wrong. Turns out we have an incredible array of microorganisms living on us AND inside us. But as Anthony tells you, these little guys do some very important work. DNEWS LIVE! Q&A AND OPEN HANGOUT: https://plus.google.com/events/coq4vt6daqvmtmkvfj69286e60o Read More: "Study reveals how families share microbes, even with dogs" http://phys.org/news/2013-04-reveals-families-microbes-dogs.html "A study that began during the post-doctoral work of Northern Arizona University's Gregory Caporaso is shedding some light on how adults, and their dogs and kids, share microbial communities." Human Microbiome Project: http://commonfund.nih.gov/Hmp/ "How Bacteria in Our Bodies Protect Our Health" http://www.scientificamerican.com/article.cfm?id=ultimate-social-network-bacteria-protects-health "Researchers who study the friendly bacteria that live inside all of us are starting to sort out who is in charge—microbes or people?" "Humans Share Microbiomes With Their Dogs, Study Finds" http://www.popsci.com/science/article/2013-04/humans-share-microbiomes-their-dogs-study-finds "You have a lot more in common with Fido than you think." "Our Microbiomes, Ourselves" http://www.nytimes.com/2011/12/04/opinion/sunday/our-microbiomes-ourselves.html?_r=0 "IMAGINE a scientist gently swabs your left nostril with a Q-tip and finds that your nose contains hundreds of species of bacteria." "A ROLLER DERBY OF BACTERIA" http://www.newyorker.com/online/blogs/elements/2013/04/bacteria-health-microbiome-disease-research.html "A roller derby tournament seems like a brutal research environment: women crash around a rink in short skirts and skates, slamming their shoulders into members of the opposing team so that their own team's "jammer" can lap them and score." "uBiome -- Sequencing Your Microbiome" http://www.indiegogo.com/projects/ubiome-sequencing-your-microbiome "World's FIRST citizen science project to sequence the human microbiome. Available INTERNATIONALLY in 196 countries. Learn about your health & change the world!" DNews is a show about the science of everyday life. We post two new videos every day of the week. DNews Live! Q&A Open Hangout http://gplus.to/dnews Watch More http://www.youtube.com/dnewschannel Subscribe http://www.youtube.com/channel/UCzWQYUVCpZqtN93H8RR44Qw?sub_confirmation=1 DNews Twitter https://twitter.com/dnews Anthony Carboni Twitter: https://twitter.com/acarboni Laci Green Twitter https://twitter.com/gogreen18 Trace Dominguez Twitter https://twitter.com/trace501 DNews Facebook http://www.facebook.com/DNews DNews Google+ https://plus.google.com/u/0/106194964544004197170/posts DNews Website http://discoverynews.com/
Views: 43479 Seeker
Food for Good Gut Bacteria w/ Drs Justin & Erica Sonnenburg
 
35:01
Episode #81: Drs  Justin and Erica Sonnenburg are two top microbial scientists at Stanford University and author of The Good Gut. In this interview these two pioneers share diet tips from their work at Stanford that can help you increase the diversity of the trillions of bacterial organisms in your gut, boost your metabolism and reduce inflammation. The Good Gut Book: http://amzn.to/1SYkEeB Read the Interview Show Notes: http://highintensityhealth.com/justin-erica-sonnenburg-top-foods-to-fuel-healthy-gut-bacteria/ --------------------------------------Lets Connect---------------------------------- ➢ Facebook https://www.facebook.com/MikeMutzelMS ➢ Listen to the Audio in iTunes: http://highintensityhealth.com/itunes ➢ Instagram https://www.instagram.com/metabolic_mike --------------------------------------Key Takeaways--------------------------------- 2:29 The Power of Microbes: Over the past decade there has been an awakening about the gut, microbiome and genetics. Microbes connect in major ways to human biology with digestion, metabolism, systemic immune function and central nervous system. There is no part of our body that is not touched, directly or indirectly, by these microbes in some way. 4:32 Microbial Digestion: Gut microbes rely upon complex carbohydrates (dietary fiber) to complete their functions in the gut. They digest our resistant complex polysaccharides that come from plant material; fruits, vegetables, legumes, and whole grains. At the same time, they release compounds into our gut that are soaked into our bloodstream that do things like help maintain our immune system balance and help us decide whether we are storing calories or burning them. 5:56 Feed Your Microbes: High fiber foods feed your microbes. The Sonnenburgs make sure that their family consumes high fiber foods at every meal. 7:30 Microbial Diversity – The Jelly Bean Analogy: Think of each species of gut bacteria as a color of jelly bean. The Western diet will be a simple mix of a few colors. Modern day hunter gatherers or those who live similarly to those at the beginning of agriculture, have many more colors of jelly beans. They have species of gut bacteria that are not seen in the Western world. In the environment, if an ecosystem loses its diversity, it’s a bad thing. Potentially, that is the case with our microbial ecosystem? 9:25 A Skewed Perspective of Microbes: Research has primarily focused on Westerners, but now research is looking into populations around the globe. The NIH Human Microbiome Project spent years working to determine what a healthy microbiota is and working to determine how the microbiome changes in different disease states. 10:20 Microbiota, a Key Player in Disease: Just because someone is healthy, doesn’t mean they have a healthy microbiota. Evidence is building that shows that most Americans have unhealthy gut microbiota, which predisposes us to many Western diseases. Metabolic syndrome, heart disaease, autoimmune diseases, cancers, and the like, are all become more prevalent. It is possible that there are individual causes for these diseases, but more likely, that there are only a few causes and that gut microbiota is central of them. 11:54 Traditional Societies: Humans have spent 95% of our time on the earth as hunter gatherers. By looking at hunter gatherer societies today, we can get a better understanding of what our gut microbiota is supposed to be. 13:39 The High MAC Diet: Microbiota Accessible Carbohydrates are dietary fiber that we consume to feed our microbiota. Tubers eaten by hunter gatherers have not been modified by agriculture, making it texturally and nutritionally different from what we eat. Since we cannot recreate the diet of hunter gatherers, we can eat lots of different foods, including tubers, along with berries and leafy greens and increase fiber to diversify and sustain our microbiota. 15:56 Polyphenols: When researching the impact of plant fiber, it is challenging for researchers to parse out the other benefits of the consumption of plants. In general, Westerners should eat more plants that contain complex dietary fibers, not only to feed their microbiota, but to garner the other benefits. 18:01 Fiber Consumption Comparison: Hunter gatherers consume about 150 – 200 grams per day of dietary fiber. In the U.S., we struggle to eat 15 grams per day. If you starve the microbes in the gut, they begin to consume the mucus lining of your digestive tract. 19:32 Short Chain Fatty Acids Created By Our Microbiota: Acetate, propionate, and butyrate are the major ones. In mice, propionate has been shown to be a regulator of metabolism. Butyrate and propionate have shown in mice to be a regulator of inflammation. They may also play a role in satiety. One day we will have enough information to match our foods to specific microbes in our gut. Increase dietary fiber, to increase short chain fatty acids.
Views: 16103 High Intensity Health
Special lecture: Paul W. O'Toole, PhD - Gut microbiota in health, disease and aging
 
01:16:02
In a baseline analysis of the faecal microbiota composition of 161 older persons, we previously reported a core microbiota and aggregate composition that was distinct from younger persons. We also identified significant inter-individual variation at phylum level, the reasons for which were then unclear. To investigate further, we analyzed the microbiota composition of 178 elderly subjects, none receiving antibiotics, and for whom we had collected dietary intake information. The data revealed distinct microbiota composition groups that correlated with residence location. Clustering of subjects by diet produced clusters that overlapped with the microbiota-based clusters, which were also distinguishable by analysis of faecal metabolites. Major separations in the microbiota correlated with selected clinical measurements. Novel constellations of microbiota subtypes were identified, in which differential abundance changed from the healthy to the frail ends of the cohort phenotype spectrum. Collectively the data suggest a relationship between diet, microbiota and health status, and that modulation of the microbiota by dietary adjustment could be used to promote healthy aging.
Views: 10292 CIC bioGUNE
Probiotics Guide: How to Pick the Right Probiotic- Gut Bacteria Overview | Thomas DeLauer
 
08:38
Click Here to Subscribe: http://Bit.ly/ThomasVid Website: http://ThomasDeLauer.com Get the Clothes I Wear at 25% Off - Use Code: TDSUMMER25 at http://www.Hylete.com Probiotics Guide: How to Pick the Right Probiotic- Gut Bacteria Overview | Thomas DeLauer… I want to give you the breakdown and a study guide to help you understand what probiotics you should really be looking for. It's been a popular question that's been coming up and I want to address it and give you the signs and give you the research, and one of the probiotic strains I'm going to talk about today is the most researched probiotic strain that exists to date. There have been over 1,000 studies backing it up in over 30 years of research. So I'm going to talk about that one and I'm also going to talk about another one that is extremely, extremely popular. Now I'm not talking about brands, I'm talking about strains. This isn't any kind of pitch or anything, this is literally talking about the different strains of probiotic and you can find them on any label. So it's going to help you understand what you should be looking for, but also understanding the general harmony of the gut biome and how it effects our immune system. If you haven't already, go ahead and hit that subscribe button so you can see whenever I post a video or go live, and also make sure you turn on notifications so you never, ever miss a beat when it comes down to this channel. Okay, so let's start with L. rhamnosus. Lol what? Yeah, L. rhamnosus is the most popular, most researched strain of probiotic that is out there, like I said, with over 1,000 studies behind it and over 30 years of research. So L. rhamnosus is a very specific type of lactobacillus, and it's been shown to do a lot of different things within the body, but in order to understand what Lactobacillus rhamnosus does, I want to explain to you a very important cardinal rule, a cardinal educational foundation when it comes down to understanding probiotics and the gut biome in general. It's called competitive adhesion. You see, whenever anything bad passes through your body, we're talking about a mold, we're talking about a pathogen, bad bacteria, whatever, you name it, as it passes through your body and passes through your intestinal track, passes through your digestive system, it has to latch onto a cell before it can ever cause a problem. So, in an unideal world what'll happen is that mold or that pathogen will attach to the cell and then it will trigger macrophages, or white blood cells, to come on and do their trick and do their whole thing, trigger inflammation, and you get sick, you go through the ropes, blah, blah, blah, blah, blah. Okay, but if we have a situation where a bad pathogen doesn't have the ability to latch on to the cell in the first place, we don't get sick, we don't have an immune response. So how is this possible? Sounds like it's way too good to be true. Well when we have good bacteria in the gut, what ends up happening is these good bacteria will latch on to the cell for us. See what we have to remember is good bacteria is still a foreign bacteria, it's still another living being inside of us as a living being. So although it's supposed to be there, it's kind of not supposed to be there. It's sort of like those birds that sit on top of a rhino or a hippo. It's like they’re not born with those birds on them, they also play a critical role in the survival of the hippo or the rhino. So what ends up happening is the good bacteria latch onto the cell and then occupy the spaces where the bad bacteria normally would try to bind. So that's exactly why, if you have more good bacteria than bad bacteria, you're in a situation where the good bacteria will always prevent bad bacteria from making you sick. So that is exactly why they say that you're immune system starts in your gut, and if you're constantly using hand sanitizers or you're constantly heating foods that destroy your gut bacteria, anyway, I digress, that's going to make it a big problem, right? References: 1) L. rhamnosus - A common probiotic strain - Humarian. (2017, August 26). Retrieved from https://humarian.com/l-rhamnosus-common-probiotic-strain/ 2) Lactobacillus Rhamnosus Beneficial Bacteria. (2016, December 3). Retrieved from http://www.souleticsresourcecenter.com/lactobacillus-rhamnosus-beneficial-bacteria/ 3) Lactobacillus rhamnosus GG, AKA "LGG", Has Many Health Benefits. (n.d.). Retrieved from https://www.powerofprobiotics.com/Lactobacillus-rhamnosus-GG.html 4) New research sheds light on how popular probiotic benefits the gut. (2018, May 22). Retrieved from https://www.sciencedaily.com/releases/2015/04/150416132021.htm 5) https://www.clinicaleducation.org/wp-content/uploads/LGG_Summatim_english.pdf 6) Goldin BR , et al. (n.d.). Survival of Lactobacillus species (strain GG) in human gastrointestinal tract. - PubMed - NCBI. Retrieved from https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/1728516
Views: 65609 Thomas DeLauer
The Gut Microbiome's Impact on The Immune System
 
02:24
Microbiome: How Your Gut Bacteria is Controlling Your Health R3 Summit 2016 (Austin, TX)
Views: 2707 Prevention Magazine
Functional dynamics of the gut microbiome in health and disease
 
01:00:59
Functional dynamics of the gut microbiome in health and disease Air date: Tuesday, October 27, 2015, 3:00:00 PM Category: WALS - Wednesday Afternoon Lectures Runtime: 01:00:59 Description: NIH Director’s Wednesday Afternoon Lecture Series Dr. Fraser's current research interests are focused oncharacterization of the structure and function of the microbial communitiesthat are found in the human environment, as part of the NIH-funded HumanMicrobiome Project, including projects specifically focused on obesity,metabolic syndrome, inflammatory bowel disease, the interactions between thehuman immune response and the gut microbiome, and the impact of probiotics onthe structure and function of the intestinal microbiome. About the annual Rolla E. Dyer lecture: The annual Rolla E. Dyer Lecture features aninternationally renowned researcher who has contributed substantially to themedical as well as the biological knowledge of infectious diseases. Establishedin 1950, the lecture series honors former NIH director Dr. Dyer, who was anoted authority on infectious diseases. For more information go to https://oir.nih.gov/wals Author: Claire Fraser, Ph.D., Professor of Medicine, Microbiology and Immunology; Director, Institute for Genome Sciences; University of Maryland School of Medicine Permanent link: http://videocast.nih.gov/launch.asp?19272
Views: 3048 nihvcast
The assembly of an infant gut microbiome framed against healthy human adults
 
02:46
Here we present how a new born human gut microbial community develops from resembling the delivery method (vaginal) to look like, after almost 3 years of life, the one of an adult. This trajectory is created from the data published by Koenig JE et al. 2011 framed around the data generated by the Human Microbiome Project (HMP).
Views: 23551 Antonio González
The Role of the Gut Microbiome in Colon Cancer - ASM Live 2013
 
37:10
Could the bacterial populations in your intestines predict the onset of colon cancer? Participants will discuss new research in mouse models that suggests a major shift in microbial population dynamic prior to the onset of tumors as well as the general promise microbiome research holds for the diagnosis and potential management of other diseases. Joseph Zackular, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, MI, United States David Relman, Stanford University, Palo Alto, CA, United States
#GMFH2017 Niv Zmora - Gut microbiota and personalized nutrition
 
04:33
Niv Zmora is a postdoctoral researcher at ElinavLab, at the Department of Immunology at the Weizmann Institute of Science (Israel); he studies the interactions between immune system, microbiota and their effects on health. Zmora assisted to the Gut Microbiota for Health World Summit held in Paris, in March 2017, where we could interview him.
Mixed organization of gut bacteria is revealed by microbiome imaging technology
 
04:37
IMAGE Bacteria in a model human gut microbiome established in a germfree mouse. Each bacterial species is lit up with a different colored probe, creating a map of the communitys spatial... view more  Credit Jessica Mark Welch and Yuko Hasegawa, MBL WOODS HOLE, Mass. Disruptions in the microbiome of the human gut are correlated with several diseases, including obesity and cancer. Yet little is known about the spatial organization of the nearly 1,000 bacterial species in the human gut, which can influence how the species interact with each other and with their host. In a new collaborative study, scientists from the Marine Biological Laboratory in Woods Hole, the Forsyth Institute, and Washington University in St. Louis established a simplified, model human gut microbiome in germfree mice and revealed its structure through imaging technologies developed at the MBL. The study is published this week in Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences. We thought we would see clusters of bacteria, with some species congregating around food particles and others abundant in the mucus layer of the gut, which separates the bacteria from host tissue, says MBL scientist Jessica Mark Welch, the lead author of the study. Instead, we saw a mixed community, where each cell tended to be next to cells of a different species. The bacterial communities near the mucus layer and in the guts interior the lumen, where digested food is pushed through by muscular contractions, looked similar. The study suggests the host is mixing the microbes and preventing large clusters of single kinds of bacteria from forming, Mark Welch says. The host does this by sloughing mucus and epithelial cells into the lumen, and by mechanically mixing the contents of the gut. It may be that this mixing creates an evolutionarily stable microbial community. No one has looked at a complex microbial community in the gut this way before, says senior author Gary Borisy, a senior research investigator at the Forsyth Inst... Thank for watching, Please Like Share And SUBSCRIBE!!!
Recent Advances on the Gut Microbiome and Cancer Therapy - T. O. Keku - 20180822
 
01:00:32
The gut microbiome is responsible for regulation of many functions in humans including metabolism, immune responses and inflammation. This lecture will focus on the gut microbiome and their interactions with the host to influence cancer treatment outcomes.
Views: 149 UNC Cancer Network
Jeroen Raes: Gut Microbiota Research Published In Nature On 4-20-11
 
10:01
Jimmy Moore from "The Livin' La Vida Low-Carb Show" podcast - http://www.thelivinlowcarbshow.com/shownotes - interviewed gut bacteria researcher Jeroen Raes - http://www.vib.be/en/research/scientists/Pages/Jeroen-Raes-Lab.aspx - from the Flemish Institute for Biotechology in Brussels, Belgium regarding his new research study published in the scientific journal Nature on Wednesday, April 20, 2011 entitled "Enterotypes of the human gut microbiome" - http://www.nature.com/nature/journal/vaop/ncurrent/full/nature09944.html . It turns out there are three types of gut microbiota: Bacteroides, Prevotella and Ruminococcus. The ongoing research will examine what role these bacteria in the gut play in the metabolism of specific macronutrients such as carbohydrate and protein and whether diet can be manipulated to make one type more dominant than another. It's a fascinating, cutting-edge field of metabolic science right now!
Views: 5836 Jimmy Moore
The Human Microbiome - Eric Alm, PhD, Martin Blaser, MD, John Cryan, PhD, Rob Knight, PhD
 
01:55:17
From birth on, we encounter and become home to hundreds of microbial species. In fact, the 100 trillion bacterial cells inside us outnumber our cells ten to one and bring eight million bacterial genes to cohabitate with our 22,000 genes. This enormous and diverse ecosystem — the human microbiome — functions as another organ. Scientists are only just beginning to understand its influence on human development, physiology, immunity, and nutrition. Some microbes may affect diseases like obesity, Type 1 diabetes, Crohn's, asthma, multiple sclerosis, and even our mental health. Venture into the mysterious realm of the gut and learn how the microbiome impacts human health.
Views: 72807 BostonMOS
Seminar: Reconstructing the SOS response of the human gut microbiome (Prof. Ivan Erill)
 
48:22
Watch the presentation on Slideshare: http://www.slideshare.net/VHIR/ivan-erill Seminar led by Ivan Erill. Professor Department of Biological Sciences-University of Maryland Baltimore County (UMBC)- Baltimore, MD (USA). Abstract: Metagenomic projects provide a unique window into the genetic composition of microbial communities. To date, metagenomic analyses have focused primarily on studying the composition of microbial populations and inferring shared metabolic pathways. In this work we analyze how high-quality metagenomic data can be leveraged to infer the composition of transcriptional regulatory networks through a combination of in silico and in vitro methods. Using the SOS response as a case example, we analyze human gut microbiome data to determine the composition of the SOS meta-regulon in a natural context. Our analysis provides proof of concept that the existing knowledgebase on regulatory networks and reference genomes can be effectively leveraged to mine meta-genomic data and reconstruct multi-species regulatory networks. This approach allows us to identify de novo the core elements of the human gut SOS meta-regulon, highlighting the relevance of error-prone polymerases in this stress response, and identifies putative novel SOS protein clusters involved in cell wall biogenesis, chromosome partitioning and restriction modification. The methodology implemented in this work can be applied to other metagenomic datasets and transcriptional systems, potentially providing the means to compare regulatory networks across metagenomes. The use of metagenomic data to analyze transcriptional regulatory networks provides a realistic snapshot of these systems in their natural context and allows probing at their extended composition in non-culturable organisms, yielding insights into their interconnection and into the overall structure of transcriptional systems in microbiomes.
How to Fix Your Gut Bacteria for Weight Loss: Prebiotics and Probiotics- Thomas DeLauer
 
06:20
How to Fix Your Gut Bacteria for Weight Loss with Prebiotics and Probiotics- Thomas DeLauer: Microorganisms and gut health: Gut health is important for our overall wellbeing. Known as the microbiota, consisting of 100 trillion bacteria, these microorganisms evolved a symbiotic relationship with humans. A healthy gut microbiota is critical for gut health and proper digestions and helps digest foods and provide nutrients while stimulating epithelial cell differentiation and proliferation. These cells regulate intestinal homeostasis, Induce antimicrobial peptide secretion, are intricately involved in the immune system and help to protect from pathogens in our guts. Imbalances in gut microbiota have been associated with: -Obesity and metabolic diseases -Malnourishment -Inflammatory diseases, such as asthma and Crohn’s disease -Allergies -HIV disease progression -Cancer -Depression and mood disorders -Cardiovascular health problems Dangers to the microbiota include: 1. Antibiotics 2. Triclosan in antibacterial gel and soap products 3. Diet low in fiber and high in unhealthy fats and processed foods So how do we help boost the health and diversity of our microbiotas? Probiotics and Prebiotics…. Probiotics are defined by the World Health Organization as “live microorganisms that can provide benefits to human health when administered in adequate amounts, which confer a beneficial health effect on the host.” There are numerous studies that demonstrate the benefits of supplementing with probiotics. Benefits found in studies include the prevention and treatment of: -Diarrhea -Pediatric allergic disorders -IBD, such as Crohn’s disease -Dysfunctions of the gastrointestinal tract -Prevention of respiratory tract infections, such as a cold Probiotic use has been shown to decrease intestinal permeability. Prebiotics are dietary fibers that have a positive impact on our gut microbiota and therefore our health. All prebiotics are fibers, but not all fibers are prebiotics. Prebiotics are food for probiotics, and it is through this mechanism that they play an important role in our health. Insulin and galacto-oligosaccharides are the only supplement ingredients that fulfil the definition of prebiotics. Once in the colon, prebiotics are fermented by microorganisms that live in the colon and form short chain fatty acids (SCFAs). The majority of organisms in the colon are anaerobic and get the energy they need from this fermentation of prebiotics. Our diet is of crucial importance in maintaining a healthy microbiota as different microorganisms require different food from our diets to thrive. The anti-inflammatory effects of fiber are likely due to the SCFAs that they are broken into when fermented by our microbiota. Tips: In addition to eating an organic, whole foods diet, it is a good idea to add in prebiotic and probiotic supplements. Foods high in prebiotics: 1. Asparagus 2. Garlic 3. Onions 4. Oats 5. Soy Beans 6. Leeks Foods high in probiotics (fermented foods): 1. Yogurts 2. Miso 3. Tempeh 4. Kimchi 5. Kombucha Synbiotics are synergistic combinations of probiotics and prebiotics. Switching your probiotic supplement is a good idea. Different strains provide different health benefits, even with strains of the same genus and species exhibiting different effects. Probiotics can be dangerous for those with compromised immune systems. References: 1. The role of probiotics and prebiotics in inducing gut immunity https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC3859913/ 2. Prebiotics, probiotics and synbiotics https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/18461293 3. Prebiotics and the health benefits of fiber... http://jn.nutrition.org/content/142/5/962.long
Views: 134157 Thomas DeLauer
2nd Summit on the Health Effects of Yogurt -San Diego- Gut microbiota & health - Pr O.Goulet
 
26:14
Olivier Goulet, MD, PhD - Necker Hospital - enfants malades, Paris, France Microorganisms are introduced into the human gut early after birth. The microbial composition of the microbiota varies with delivery methods, feeding (i.e., breast vs. bottle), infant care environment and antibiotic use. Post natal development of the human gut is largely influenced by the intestinal microbiota. Today, it is an increasing evidence that the early phases of microbiota implementation may influence the occurrence of later diseases. As for “metabolic programming”, one might consider nowadays, “microbiotical programming”. Conventional culture techniques detect only a small number of the species of intestinal bacteria. During the last decade, the diversity of gut microbiota has been revealed by genetic or metagenomic studies. It has been clearly evidenced that microbes are represented by more than 1500 microbial species. The vast majority of microbial species give rise to symbiotic host-bacterial interactions that are fundamental for human health. Obesity has become one of the most prevalent health issues of our time with over 1.5 billion overweight adults in the world and, of these, approximately 500 million are clinically obese. As a matter of fact, more deaths are caused worldwide by excessive weight than those caused by being underweight. Obesity is a multifactorial condition but it can be most simply described as being the result of a long-term imbalance between energy intake and energy expenditure. While modern eating habits and ever increasingly sedentary lifestyles are contributory factors in this burden, the link between obesity and the composition and functionality of the microorganisms in the gut is nowadays pointed as a major factor. Metagenomic analysis and 16S ribosomal RNA gene sequencing, have shown that Firmicutes, Bacteroidetes, Actinobacteria and Proteobacteria are the predominant bacterial phyla among the intestinal bacteria in adults. Changes in the composition of the diverse gut microbiota (dysbiosis) are associated with several clinical conditions, including obesity, autoimmune diseases, and allergy. Current research involve the comparison of gut microbiota of lean and obese animals, the metagenomic study of the gut microbiota of lean and obese humans, the impact of diet on the gut microbiota, and by manipulating the gut microbiota to understand the mechanisms by which the gut microbiota might impact on body weight gain and adiposity. Recent studies indicated that obesity and diet could be associated with altered gut microbiota characterized by a high Firmicutes to Bacteroidetes ratio and a dramatic fall in overall microbial diversity. The altered gut microbiota could, in turn, alter the host metabolic potential. Therefore, the gut microbiota might contribute to obesity through increases in the harvest of energy from diet, gut permeability, and fat deposition in adipose tissue and the liver. According to these recent advances, modulation of gut microbiota has been suggested as a treatment for obesity, using fermented dairy products, probiotics, or prebiotics. About The Yogurt in Nutrition Initiative (YINI) The Yogurt in Nutrition Initiative for a Balanced Diet is a multi-year global, collaborative project led by the Danone Institute International (DII) in collaboration with the American Society for Nutrition (ASN) and the International Osteoporosis Foundation (IOF) which aims to evaluate the current evidence base on the nutritional impact of yogurt. The mission of the project is to uncover scientific data related to yogurt, stimulate new research and identify gaps in our understanding of the health effects of this food category in order to share this information with professionals and the public. http://yogurtinnutrition.com; @YogurtNutrition
Views: 1456 yogurtinnutrition