Home
Search results “Home insurance mining subsidence”
Mine Subsidence Insurance
 
01:01
Learn how easy and affordable it is to procect your home from mine subsidence.
Views: 247 Pennsylvania DEP
Do you need mine subsidence insurance?
 
01:16
The Pennsylvania Department of Environmental Protection (DEP) urges homeowners to check updated mine maps to determine if their home or other buildings are at risk of mine subsidence. Over 1 million homes in Pennsylvania sit atop abandoned mines.
Views: 175 Pennsylvania DEP
Get Mine Subsidence Insurance
 
00:31
Pennsylvania Department of Environmental Protection
Views: 345 pacastcms
Mine subsidence destroys house in Latrobe
 
01:56
ashley 5pm pk subside house Subscribe to WTAE on YouTube now for more: http://bit.ly/1emyOjP Get more Pittsburgh news: http://www.wtae.com/ Like us: http://www.facebook.com/wtae4 Follow us: http://twitter.com/WTAE Google+: http://plus.google.com/+wtae
Views: 758 WTAE-TV Pittsburgh
Mine Subsidence Insurance -- sinkhole damage protection -- a huge failure
 
01:24
Surface structures are severely damaged by collapsing coal mines beneath or even adjacent to them. Mine Subsidence Insurance programs were established since the federal and state coal mining reclamation programs only provide for repairing subsidences and not to the structures that are thereby damaged. More than a million homes in PA are above abandoned coal mines in 43 of its 67 counties, but there are only 58,000 with mine subsidence insurance -- about $97 a year for $150,000 worth of residential coverage. See: http://www.pittsburghlive.com/x/pittsburghtrib/news/regional/s_717411.html 1/13/2010 - http://www.insurancejournal.com/news/east/2011/01/13/180157.htm#ixzz1AvAEjQbg (Excerpts) Five years ago, 53,000 policies covered property valued at $5.1 billion. The 58,000 policies today cover $8.7 billion in property. A separate policy is needed for each building on a property. For example, the owner of a house with a detached garage would need two policies to cover both structures. Under state law, operators of active mines are responsible for subsidence damage. PA DEP handled 175 claims for insurance in 2009 and 10 were paid for a total of $372,599. In 2008, there were 227 total claims and 27 were paid for a little more than $1 million. 9/21/2008 - http://www.post-gazette.com/pg/08265/913855-454.stm (Excerpt) The first big rate reduction in the 47-year history of the nonprofit, state-run insurance program will lower premiums on residential properties 28 percent, and on commercial, office, agricultural and manufacturing structures up to 65 percent,... Although premium rates are already low, Mr. Motycki said, just 56,900 property owners hold policies that cover their risk of catastrophic damage to homes and other structures. This shows how subsidences occur: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AR2e77Rqlew&feature=mfu_in_order Photos of structural damage that occurs from mine subsidence http://www.dep.state.pa.us/MSIHomeowners/damage.html Video: Real Stories, Real People http://www.dep.state.pa.us/MSIHomeowners/damage.html#video 2009 - Benld Elementry School, Illinois http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aoKWXNblKWQ This was not an ongoing issue, the damage (as you see in the pictures) happened in one weekend -- walls twisting and cracking, floors sinking and rising as the building is sinking http://www.refresheverything.com/bengilelementary The clip is from: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VdU5WAftWY0 A deep sinkhole in Monroeville Trestle Road/Center Road is being caused by mine subsidence in Pennsylvania. More about it: 5/24/2010 - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pdcKiX03Jko Remidiation and repair of a sink-hole and mine subsidence in Plum, PA === http://www.ohiodnr.com/Mineral/tabid/10427/Default.aspx (Excerpt) The Ohio legislature enacted a law in October 1987, that established the Ohio Mine Subsidence Insurance Fund. It allows individuals residing in certain counties to purchase insurance for protection from losses due to mine subsidence. On January 1, 1993, changes in the mine subsidence law affected residents in 37 Ohio counties. Coverage depends on whether you reside in a "mandatory" coverage or an "optional" coverage area. 6/9/2009 - Property owner Leslie Yoder expressed her displeasure with the developer, Tuscarawas County (Ohio) and the Village of Sugarcreek in letting a development be built on abandoned mines. The new development does not qualify for mine subsidence help available from the government as it was built after 1996 and during a time when abandoned mines information was readily available to government entities. She questioned the ethics of the developer as well as Sugarcreek. ...order to build the development, the company paid an engineer $50,000 to survey the land as a way to find any potential problems. Village solicitor Doug Frautschy explained that mine subsidence and abandoned mines are not part of the subdivision rules More: http://www.timesreporter.com/local_news/x313668435/Subsidence-worries-spread http://www.collegegreenmag.com/ohios-abandoned-coal-mines-undercut-homes-roads-government-budgets (Excerpts) Ohio is now home to about 5,000 documented AUMs -- Abandoned Underground Mines. As many as 2,000 additional AUMs might exist for which there are no records. The mines run under 2 percent of Ohio's surface, roughly 800 square miles. Ohio is ranked 12th in the nation for subsided land. About 350 acres have been logged in the Office of Surface Mining's Abandoned Mine Land Inventory System. Ohio is ranked sixth in the nation for spending on subsidence reclamation projects after Wyoming, Pennsylvania, West Virginia, North Dakota and Kentucky. Ohio has responded to more than 400 subsidence events since 1985, reinforcing more than 177 acres of land at a cost of $14.7 million. See map: http://www.collegegreenmag.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/04/subsidence-project-map-final.jpg
Views: 221 rhmooney3
How can a property be repaired if there is subsidence
 
00:22
John Heseltine Technical Director, explains how subsidence needs to be addressed.
Views: 2250 HelifixLTD
Causes of building subsidence
 
00:28
Causes of building subsidence low moisture due to absorption of tree roots
Views: 3318 Abdullah Alajalein
Liquifaction - Japan 2011 - Surface Subsidence
 
03:11
Brent Kooi's video from CNN Mar.11.2011 Watch the ground split and water rise as iReporter Brent Kooi details his experience during the Japan earthquake.
Views: 759 amachiavellian
What is subsidence?
 
01:03
Views: 2152 Martyn Gerrard
Possible mine subsidence damages homes, forces residents out
 
01:44
Engineers from the state Department of Environmental Protection are assessing the situation on Frederick Street in Mount Oliver, where a suspected case of mine subsidence ground has forced people to leave their homes.
Views: 271 WTAE-TV Pittsburgh
Mine Subsidence Hazards in Colorado
 
09:30
An educational video about mine subsidence in Colorado; Colorado Mine Subsidence Information Center, subsidence investigations, coal fires, possible uses of undermined areas. Produced by the Colorado Geological Survey - www.colorado.gov/geosurvey
Views: 4769 Mark Newby
Surface subsidence: mining activities
 
00:53
3D views of exagerated surface subsidence
Views: 1415 Argongra
Ready Set Sold with Bryan Vogt #35-01: Joe Harnist: Importance of having an insurance policy crafted
 
11:04
View this at: http://www.bryanvogt.com/ready-set-sold-bryan-vogt-35-01-joe-harnist-importance-insurance-policy-crafted-needs/ Welcome to Ready Set sold with your host Bryan Vogt. Are you wanting or even thinking about selling your house but don’t know what it starts good thing you found Ready Set Sold and now real estate broker Bryan Vogt. Good morning everyone welcome to Ready Set Sold I’m your host Bryan Vogt and we have quite a show lined up for you today you can buy some great information and that’s really what we’re based on we are we’re always trying to get out the best information possible from the local experts talking about the book these are that nature I wrote a most of you know I wrote a bestselling book called reset soul twelve proven steps to get your house sold for top Tower and at that sale so we talked a lot about that but we also bringing on experts and actually sponsors to briefly talking about the market. The market is still hot if you’re thinking about putting your house on the market this is the time we haven’t seen this type of activity in this time of year meaning January in years so if you’re thinking about it do two things number one contact your agent number two if you don’t have an agent are you not sure what to do go to ready said so org comrade so org Netcom and pick up the free copy of the book a little bit of information and get that and get yourself going maybe not January but maybe you think in spring whatever you’re thinking about it’s a great book to have people have had great success was it with that set I want to introduce a personal friend someone I have known for a very long time would you say that a great guy and he’s the president of harness insurance and that is Joe harness. Joe you there yeah Brian how are you this morning I am doing fantastic I’m fantastic Joe is also not only a local expert in particularly in the Metro East O’Fallon Shiloh Belleville throughout the area but he also is a sponsor so we’re really happy to have him so you’re gonna be hearing more and more absorbed with that said let’s just talk about the subjects that you want to talk about what we’re going to really dive into today and that’s really coverages for homeowners of which one to choose and that can be a real issue. I’ve had that happen with even sellers and even buyers there’s just some confusion out there it’s not a one size fits all is it no not at all Brian there’s so many different coverages that can be added to a homeowner’s policy that you know you may not necessarily know a lot of them a lot of times are built in I mean they you know agents offer them but there’s others out there that some agents may not look at may not pick up on and we try to cover all the bases with everything. Because you can go out and buy a basic you know plain-jane homeowners policy to satisfy a mortgage company but it may not necessarily satisfy your needs as a homeowner you know in St. Clair County because of the mine subsidence issue mines and Sciences is automatically included in a homeowner’s policy unless you specifically sign off on it but by law it has to be included in a homeowner’s policy so that’s normally one of the add-ons it’s that’s included but you get into things like earthquake sewer equipment break down flood insurance identity theft personal injury liability you can get service line coverage to cover your water and sewer lines coming into your house if they break out in your yard you can add golf cart coverage physical damage you can add jewelry you can schedule antiques you can schedule fine arts I mean there’s just a whole myriad things that that can go into a homeowners policy that you know the bank doesn’t really care about but it should be something that you know the client cares about. So I would imagine and what do I know and I do mean that what little I know about the insurance but most that coverage is pretty reasonable right I mean for the value of what you’re covering you know sewer lines for example are water lines I imagine because look we’ve had situations unfortunately were or a seller found out that they really had a problem with their sewer line and it cost four or five thousand dollars don’t get it repaired that’s before they it goes on the market right so I would think that the coverages are far less on a normal situation like that than happened to pay you know some kind of crazy number am I right on that yeah and it’s you know the coverages individually by themselves are not expensive but when you start adding them up and you’re putting a lot of different endorsements onto a homeowner’s policy.
Views: 2 Bryan Vogt
look before you pull out
 
00:40
Created with Movavi Video Editor https://www.movavi.com/videoeditor/?c=ve14
Mine Subsidence
 
02:23
Views: 69 Ryan Osland
Understanding Risk: Karst Topography, Mine/Land Subsidence, Landslide
 
07:34
This module was created as a component of the Understanding Risk miniseries for the purpose of education regarding the risk of Karst Topography, Mine/ Land Subsidence, and Landslide in the Commonwealth of Kentucky
Views: 1848 KYRiskMAP
standard house
 
00:24
the best thing to do may be to compare other policies on the internet to find one that will suit your specific needs. http://www.squidoo.com/buymortgageinsuranceuk
Views: 29 chiromad63
Mine Subsidence Insurance Door Hanger Marketing/Advertising by Massivemedia
 
00:58
Like what you see? Visit www.massivemediainc.com or call (212) 730-7222 to learn more.
Views: 359 massivemediany
Subsidence
 
02:11
Views: 46 olleysimon
Mine Subsidence Repairs
 
02:01
Remidiation and repair of a sink-hole and mine subsidence in Plum, PA
Views: 2261 Randy Beltz
Homes destroyed by mine subsidence - real stories from Pennsylvania
 
02:30
More than a million homes are above abandoned coal mines in 43 of the 67 counties within Pennsylvania, but only 58,000 of those homes have mine subsidence insurance -- about $97 a year for $150,000 worth of residential coverage. Photos below showing the types of structural damage that can occur as a result of mine subsidence http://www.dep.state.pa.us/MSIHomeowners/damage.html This is a better version of this video: http://www.dep.state.pa.us/MSIHomeowners/damage.html#video Also see: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=he3I1VqDgq4
Views: 794 rhmooney3
Upper St. Clair Baseball Field Closed Due To Mine Subsidence
 
01:38
The baseball season on a local field has been cut short; KDKA’s Ken Rice reports. FULL STORY: http://cbsloc.al/1BZaRen
Views: 308 CBS Pittsburgh
Subsidence Chartered Surveyors Bristol | 0117 973 4049
 
00:44
Noticed a crack in a wall? Maggs And Allen are expert Subsidence Chartered Surveyors in Bristol http://www.maggsandallen.co.uk Subsidence Chartered Surveyors Bristol What is subsidence? Subsidence is the downward movement of a surface, causing the ground beneath the foundations of a building to become unstable. Common reasons for subsidence are: The shrinking of soil beneath a property Previous mining activity on the site Ground vibrations Soil shrinkage can be caused by a number of factors, such as water leaking into the soil under the property, as this can wash away the soil from the foundations. This is most common in soils with a high sand or gravel content. Clay soils which are common in Bristol are particularly vulnerable to shrinkage, and as the soil shrinks, it pulls the foundations which may result in structural movement. Clay soil shrinkage can also occur following a dry spell of weather. If you think your Bristol property is suffering from subsidence contact Maggs And Allen straight away. The sooner the problem is diagnosed the less damage the property will suffer. Maggs and Allen are Bristol based 'Chartered Surveyors' and experts in property subsidence. This video: http://youtu.be/DyrkxYhMWG4 This video will be of interest to people searching for: Subsidence Bristol House Subsidence Bristol Subsidence Experts Bristol Causes of subsidence Common causes of subsidence Treatments for subsidence Maggs And Allen
Views: 107 Maggs Allen
The Mine Subsidence Board - Surface Development Guidelines
 
00:34
The Mine Subsidence Board is a service organisation operating for the community in coal mining areas of New South Wales, Australia, and is responsible for administering the Mine Subsidence Compensation Act. Our mission is to mitigate the effects of mine subsidence on the community by promoting compatibility between surface developments and underground coal mining, restoring damaged improvements and managing the compensation fund. for more information visit our website www.minesub.nsw.gov.au
Views: 1075 MineSubBoard
Mine subsidence project completed in Clearfield Co.
 
00:23
By: WJAC Web Staff HOUTZDALE, Pa. -- The Pennsylvania Department of Environmental Protection said Wednesday work has been completed on a mine reclamation project in Clearfield County that should protect more than 150 homes. Officials with the DEP said the $5.6 million project, which took more than two years to complete, stabilized the ground beneath 154 homes to protect them from the threat of mine subsidence. "This critically important project that required two years to complete eases the concerns homeowners had expressed about potential mine subsidence causing thousands of dollars in damage and possibly making their homes unlivable," DEP Deputy Secretary for the Office of Active and Abandoned Mine Operations John Stefanko said in the release. Following several mine subsidence events in Houtzdale, the DEP looked into ways to fix subsidence problems. Crews began exploratory drilling in 2010 to review the subsidence issues. The project was completed by drilling 722 holes and injecting each hole with a cement substance, the DEP said. Hole length ranged from 20 to 70 feet. The work was completed by Enviro Drill of Bridgeville, Allegheny County.
Views: 202 WJACTV Johnstown
Conveyancing searches – Which property searches do you need? Video 5 of 9
 
01:07
Log in for free here: https://www.samconveyancing.co.uk/log-in-to-your-conveyancing-process Conveyancing searches are the fourth stage of our online Conveyancing Process. In this short video we explain: • when to book your conveyancing searches; • which conveyancing searches you need; • how long do conveyancing searches take to come back; • what are the local authority, drainage and environmental search; and • mining reports, subsidence reports and flood reports. Use our free online Conveyancing Process to guide you through buying a house or flat in 8 simple steps. The home buying timeline can feel pretty complex and you are left not knowing what is happening. This is why we have created a powerful online tool that has successfully helped 1,000s of people move home. Our 9 short videos support our online conveyancing process and include: • How to use our Conveyancing Process • Stage 1 - Instructing your solicitor • Stage 2 - Organising your funding • Stage 3 - Choosing a property survey • Stage 4 - Ordering searches • Stage 5 - What happens at contracts and enquiries • Stage 6 - What happens at exchange of contracts • Stage 7 - What happens on completion • Stage 8 - What happens after completion Your to-do list tasks at for the conveyancing solicitor stage are: • Order your property searches; and • Order additional searches (if required). You can read up more on the different types of conveyancing searches here: https://www.samconveyancing.co.uk/news/conveyancing/property-searches-which-searches-do-you-need-131 Still need some help? Get in touch as we'd love to help – call 0333 344 3234, visit https://www.samconveyancing.co.uk or email [email protected] We love helping our clients move home so make sure to watch all our short videos and make this your best move ever. Log in direct to stage 4 – Property Searches - https://www.samconveyancing.co.uk/conveyancing-process/property-searches
Views: 1260 SAM Conveyancing
100_1658.AVI  Mine Subsidence 01/28/2012
 
02:15
Mine Subsidence at Bellmen St. Playground's Parking Lot in Lower Throop PA
Views: 2449 Rich Lombardo
The Mine Subsidence Board - Heritage
 
00:34
The Mine Subsidence Board is a service organisation operating for the community in coal mining areas of New South Wales, Australia, and is responsible for administering the Mine Subsidence Compensation Act. Our mission is to mitigate the effects of mine subsidence on the community by promoting compatibility between surface developments and underground coal mining, restoring damaged improvements and managing the compensation fund. for more information visit our website www.minesub.nsw.gov.au
Views: 308 MineSubBoard
Subsidence: A Guide to Ground Movement | Towergate
 
02:26
For more information visit our website: http://www.towergateinsurance.co.uk/home-and-property-insurance We explain the three types of ground movement; subsidence, landslip and ground heave. Also, find out where to look for home insurance if you're at risk. Video transcript: Ground movement can cause quite serious damage to properties. In this video we’ll tell you what insurers mean by ground movement and what you can do if you’ve been refused cover based on your property’s history of ground movement. Ground movement is a general term which includes; subsidence, heave and landslip. Let me explain each of those a bit further. Subsidence is when the earth beneath a building moves downwards meaning there’s less support underneath part or all of the foundations of a property. It can be caused by soil erosion, shrinking clay in warm weather or trees affecting the soil close to buildings. You can normally tell if there’s some subsidence going on by looking for diagonal or vertical cracks on the inside and outside of the building. Where subsidence means the ground goes down, heave makes the ground move up. This can be caused by upwards seepage of water after a change in the water table. You can normally tell if the ground has heaved by looking at the floors to see if they’ve raised up in a particular area causing a hump. If you have a basement, bowed walls may also be a tell-tale sign. Finally, landslip is the movement of earth down a slope. It may be that a retaining wall has given way or the result of an excavation nearby. In some cases, landslip happens very suddenly however, in many instances, it happens gradually over a period of time. If you notice trees leaning at an unusual angle or cracks in the surface of the ground, it may be a sign that you’re at risk of land slip. If you’ve had to make a ground movement related claim in the past, other insurers may not be able to cover you. As a specialist insurer, Towergate aim to cover circumstances just like these and provide cover even if your property has a history of damage caused by ground movement. If you’ve been turned away elsewhere, give us a call to see how we can help. Find out more about insurance at: https://www.towergateinsurance.co.uk Or contact us on our Facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/Towergate
Views: 4709 Towergate Insurance
Ready Set Sold with Bryan Vogt #16-04: Joe Harnist: You want to sell but your house has mine subside
 
08:03
View this at: http://www.bryanvogt.com/ready-set-sold-bryan-vogt-16-04-joe-harnist-want-sell-house-mine-subsidence-now/ Bryan Vogt: Welcome back. Thanks so much for rejoining us. I am Bryan Vogt, your host of Ready Set Sold. As I left you before in the last segment, we talked about that dreaded thing of mine subsidence, and being in the Metro East, there is that element of mine subsidence, and Joe Harnist is my guest from ... He's the president of Harnist Insurance, been doing this forever. Yeah, doing insurance. We talked about, off-air, that it is still extremely rare. Even though, yes, we know most people, if you lived here at any period of time, know that there are mines and this was a big place for mines, it's very, very rare. I don't want to get people thinking that, "Oh my gosh, if I have a house, this is what's going to happen to me." It just doesn't. But what I wanted to bring up ... and that's why I was so happy that Joe's was at the end of this segment, here is the situation, if you do have potential mine subsidence, but you still need to sell. Now, the real estate side, very briefly, is that you must declare that. If you have mine subsidence, that is something you want to declare. You want to protect yourself and let buyers know that, but there's some options that, quite frankly, I didn't even know about, and that would be, there is traditionally a settlement. Maybe you can kind of just briefly walk us through what a mine subsidence deal would look like, Joe? And then, we can take it from there. Joe Harnist: Yeah, Bryan. Well, obviously, mine subsidence is actually a state bureaucracy. It's handled by the Illinois Mine Subsidence Fund, and they use the insurance companies as a conduit to provide the coverage to clients and collect the premiums, obviously. But subsidence claims ... if you're trying to look at a house that has a claim, those claims can actually be assigned to a new owner. Say you have a home with a claim, and that owner has collected some of the claim money to make temporary repairs for things that have gone wrong and stuff, and the subsidence has not ceased. Then, you can go to the Illinois Mine Subsidence Fund and get an assignment of that claim to the new owner from the previous carrier so that things going on after you purchase the home ... you still have money from that claim to help offset those expenses going forward. Bryan Vogt: Right. And I think what I'm hearing you say ... and that's really important, too. I'm glad you brought it up, that this is state-run, and then the insurance companies kind of work with that. But it really starts with the state. They make a lot of determinations bywhat they think they monitored and what have you, and there's different things that they do. But what I also heard you say is the ability to be able to take that claim and give it to the new homeowner, which is huge. I don't think most people know that. Again, this doesn't happen very often, but we have seen situations where, again, many times, people think of mine subsidence as kind of this gigantic sinkhole. And the house is eventually going to go ... some of it, evaporate. Joe Harnist: Right. Bryan Vogt: There's just ... There can be mine subsidence, but it doesn't have to be very major. And then, I think that's the other point, too. It may make sense to a buyer to purchase a home with, potentially, mine subsidence. Of course, you always want to double check ... make sure that's the direction to go. But at least the buyer could do it. And knowing that if there's funds that are needed to repair it, that can be transferred over to them, correct? Joe Harnist: Right. Right, and a lot of times, on the subsidence claims, a lot of it's cosmetic from cracks that are in there, and things that can be easily repaired. A lot of times, the money that's involved in the claims is there for people to make temporary repairs, because the Fund will not make a payout on a full loss until the subsidence has actually quit. Bryan Vogt: Gotcha. Joe Harnist: And that's monitored by the people from the subsidence fund. They come back periodically and look at it to see if it's stopped moving over a period of time, so- Bryan Vogt: And just, also, for listeners ... and hopefully, you know this, too. Look, if you have mine subsidence and you're a seller, it is a big problem, okay? We're not trying to say that this is going to be the greatest solution in the world, but at least there's potentially of some options. At least, depending on ... again, every situation is ... every sale is situational. Joe, you made a great point, and that is, it depends on how serious it is. Is it minor? One of the things that we run into, Joe ... and maybe, again, you guys do, too, is especially older homes. They'll have those cracks up around the ceiling, and they'll be on the wall. And sometimes, people jump to a conclusion that it's mine subsidence when it's just settling.
Views: 2 Bryan Vogt
The Mine Subsidence Board - About Us
 
01:04
The Mine Subsidence Board is a service organisation operating for the community in coal mining areas of New South Wales, Australia, and is responsible for administering the Mine Subsidence Compensation Act. Our mission is to mitigate the effects of mine subsidence on the community by promoting compatibility between surface developments and underground coal mining, restoring damaged improvements and managing the compensation fund. for more information visit our website www.minesub.nsw.gov.au
Views: 904 MineSubBoard
Subsidence - Video Learning - WizScience.com
 
02:09
"Subsidence" is the motion of a surface as it shifts downward relative to a datum such as sea-level. The opposite of subsidence is uplift, which results in an increase in elevation. Ground subsidence is of concern to geologists, geotechnical engineers and surveyors. Subsidence frequently causes major problems in karst terrains, where dissolution of limestone by fluid flow in the subsurface causes the creation of voids . If the roof of these voids becomes too weak, it can collapse and the overlying rock and earth will fall into the space, causing subsidence at the surface. This type of subsidence can result in sinkholes which can be many hundreds of meters deep. Several types of sub-surface mining, and specifically methods which intentionally cause the extracted void to collapse will result in surface subsidence. Mining-induced subsidence is relatively predictable in its magnitude, manifestation and extent, except where a sudden pillar or near-surface underground tunnel collapse occurs . Mining-induced subsidence is nearly always very localized to the surface above the mined area, plus a margin around the outside. The vertical magnitude of the subsidence itself typically does not cause problems, except in the case of drainage –rather, it is the associated surface compressive and tensile strains, curvature, tilts and horizontal displacement that are the cause of the worst damage to the natural environment, buildings and infrastructure. Where mining activity is planned, mining-induced subsidence can be successfully managed if there is co-operation from all of the stakeholders. This is accomplished through a combination of careful mine planning, the taking of preventive measures, and the carrying out of repairs post-mining. Wiz Science™ is "the" learning channel for children and all ages. SUBSCRIBE TODAY Disclaimer: This video is for your information only. The author or publisher does not guarantee the accuracy of the content presented in this video. USE AT YOUR OWN RISK. Background Music: "The Place Inside" by Silent Partner (royalty-free) from YouTube Audio Library. This video uses material/images from https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Subsidence, which is released under Creative Commons Attribution-Share-Alike License 3.0 http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/3.0/ . This video is licensed under Creative Commons Attribution-Share-Alike License 3.0 http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/3.0/ . To reuse/adapt the content in your own work, you must comply with the license terms.
Views: 5196 Wiz Science™
Subsidence in California's Central Valley
 
00:56
This animation shows, in exaggerated terms, how the surface of the southern Central Valley of California deformed from the period 2007 to 2011. Interferometric data from the Japanese ALOS PALSAR imaging radar was used to measure the deformation, shown in color overlaid on an ASTER image. The large subsidence "bowl" that developed over this time period was caused by withdrawal of groundwater, causing subsurface layers to compact. Interferometric synthetic aperture radar, or InSAR, can be used to monitor subsidence in order to prevent groundwater overdraft and irreversible compaction of aquifers. ALOS PALSAR data is copyright JAXA/METI and was provided by the GEO Supersites and the U.S. Government Research Consortium datapool at the Alaska Satellite Facility. For more information regarding this animation, please contact Tom G. Farr, Zhen Liu, or Vincent Realmuto, at the Jet Propulsion Laboratory, Pasadena, Calif. Image Credit: NASA/JPL-Caltech
unlawfulmining.FLV
 
06:49
Mine subsidence at Chain Valley Bay NSW Australia from coal mining that could be considered unlawful.
Views: 956 unlawfulmining
THE TOWN THAT WAS
 
01:10:51
In 1962, a trash fire ignited a seam of anthracite coal beneath Centralia, Pennsylvania, a once thriving mining town of over 1600 people. By the mid 1980's, giant plumes of smoke and deadly carbon monoxide gases billowed from fissures in the ground, the local highway cracked and collapsed, trees were bleached white and petrified, as the fire continued to rage unchecked. It wasn't until a young boy nearly died after falling into a smoldering mine subsidence that the government was pressed into action. After estimating the cost of extinguishing the fire at over a half a billion dollars, the government opted to raze the town and relocate its residents. Today, 11 die-hards remain. Filmed over a period of five years with interviews ranging from former residents to Congressmen, THE TOWN THAT WAS is an intimate portrait of John Lokitis, the youngest remaining Centralian, and his quixotic fight to keep alive a hometown that has literally disintegrated under his feet. His unbowed determination and steadfast refusal to acknowledge defeat reveal a man, a town, a region, and a way of life abandoned and forgotten
Views: 18218 Morwellians
MINE SUBSIDENCE - Speech Jeremy Buckingham 20 August 2013
 
05:05
MINE SUBSIDENCE - Speech Jeremy Buckingham 20 August 2013 The Hon. JEREMY BUCKINGHAM [7.13 p.m.]: Tonight I speak about mine subsidence, which is an issue that has been raised in this Parliament on several occasions by me and my former colleagues Cate Faehrmann and Lee Rhiannon. I spoke about this issue in May 2012 after attending a meeting at Camden in south-western Sydney organised by Rivers SOS, a group opposed to the continued expansion of longwall mining in Sydney's water catchment. I spoke about the debacle of Peabody Energy longwall mining under the Waratah Rivulet on the Illawarra plateau causing cracks, which made the water disappear or flow back polluted with iron oxide. This situation is well documented. I am happy to provide video footage and photos to any member who is concerned about the impact of longwall coalmining on our environment. Peabody Energy failed to "repair" the river by filling the cracks with epoxy resin. It was an expensive exercise destined for failure. How do you repair a river, the geology of which has taken millions of years to form? To continue reading: https://www.parliament.nsw.gov.au/prod/parlment/hansart.nsf/V3Key/LC20130820104?open&refNavID=HA8_1
Views: 95 Jeremy Buckingham
SEWER SUBSIDENCE.AVI
 
00:29
SEWER SUBSIDENCE
Views: 142 wrcfullcircle
What Is A Seam In A Mine?
 
00:47
https://goo.gl/6U6t22 - Subscribe For more Videos ! For more Health Tips | Like | Comment | Share : ▷ CONNECT with us!! #HealthDiaries ► YOUTUBE - https://goo.gl/6U6t22 ► Facebook - https://goo.gl/uTP7zG ► Twitter - https://twitter.com/JuliyaLucy ► G+ Community - https://goo.gl/AfUDpR ► Google + - https://goo.gl/3rcniv ► Visit us - http://healthaware.in/ ► Blogger - https://juliyalucy.blogspot.in/ Watch for more Health Videos: ► How To Avoid Unwanted Pregnancy Naturally: https://goo.gl/hRy93e ► Period Hacks || How To Stop Your Periods Early: https://goo.gl/dSmFgi ► Cold and Flu Home Remedies: https://goo.gl/biPp8b ► Homemade Facial Packs: https://goo.gl/NwV5zj ► How To Lose Belly Fat In 7 Days: https://goo.gl/EHN879 ► Powerfull Foods for Control #Diabetes: https://goo.gl/9SdaLY ► Natural Hand Care Tips At Home That Work: https://goo.gl/YF3Exa ► How to Tighten #SaggingBreast: https://goo.gl/ENnb6b ► Natural Face Pack For Instant Glowing Skin: https://goo.gl/gvd5mM ► Get Rid of Stretch Marks Fast & Permanently: https://goo.gl/ZVYvQZ ► Eating Bananas with Black Spots: https://goo.gl/gXuri6 ► Drink this Juice every day to Cure #Thyroid in 3 Days: https://goo.gl/L3537H ► How Garlic Improves Sexual Stamina? https://goo.gl/GNcbYU ► Benefits of using Egg Shells: https://goo.gl/hAUyUS ► Home Remedies to Gain Weight Fast: https://goo.gl/jBVVQh ► Amazing Benefits of Olive Oil for Health: https://goo.gl/R3583v ► Rapid Relief of Chest Pain (Angina): https://goo.gl/idAFZR ► Home Remedies for Joint & Arthritis Pains Relief: https://goo.gl/jRbNkh ► SHOCKING TRICKs For #Diabetes Control: https://goo.gl/ATDDsV ► Doctors Are Shocked! #Diabetics: https://goo.gl/ZeQddJ ► Home Remedies for Gastric Troubles: https://goo.gl/72VR1b ► Juice for #Diabetics Type 2: https://goo.gl/3vDMqR --------- Review shows the required engineering for extraction of thick seams needs to be fitted with thickness seam, behavior rock mass and surrounding stress conditions efficient mining. Peters rh(1), fotta b, mallett lg. The main break occurs over the seam at an angle from this paper reviews underground mining methods for total thickness of a thick coal in single lift (tttcssl). Underground mining of thick coal seams sciencedirectcoal seam definition by the free dictionarycoal 101 wv. New colliery to mine coal seam worth 200m wakefield express. Mining terms kentucky coal education. Mining technique felslate seam item world of warcraft wowhead. Feb 12, 2014 by tomas kellner. With modem district 12 where katniss and prim everdeen live has an area called the seam. In modem society and with legislated protection the human cost will outweigh economic factors. Underground mining can therefore produce substantially greater levels of methane than surface miningit is a known fact that thin seam be very expensive, both in monetary value and human life. In underground coal mining, the working environment is completely enclosed by geologic medium, which consists of seam and overlying underlying strata seam, bed a stratum ore or thick enough to be mined with profit; 'he worked in beds' coalface part that being cut most economical method extraction from seams depends on depth quality seams, geology environmental factors. This in turn reduces the level of permeability, causing methane to be much more tightly bound coal and surrounding rock strata. This video clip shows how coal mining takes place in a modern mine. For dipping seams, the angle of break increases, being 35. After the miners go deep into ground, they work hard in a dark environment to get coal out of this blacksmithing plans is used for profession. These tunnels are situated in coal seams so as the machinery advances further underground, is removed. An item from world of warcraft legion. Using a combined system of vehicle haulage and appl occup environ hyg. Operate under multiple seam conditions where the two seams are less than 200 ft apart. Cdc mining cases of multiple seam coal to advance mine the gap this strange metal snake shreds and slithers methane chapters economics thin district 12 in awesomestories. Relatively few longwall mines in the u. Reduction of stress acting on a thick, deep coal seam by mdpi. From the vertical for a 40 dip. This paper describes the experience of six sep 21, 2012 nature competition in coal market tends to deplete most favorable reserves first and forces subsequent development mines more extreme ground conditions, such as those associated with multiple seam miningmine gap this strange metal snake shreds slithers through narrow underground seams. Coal mining processes are differentiated by whether they operate on the surface or underground. Mining terms kentucky coal education angle of draw in mine subsidence, this is assumed to bisect the between vertical and repose m
Views: 58 Fredda Winkleman
Calico Cemetery
 
01:11
Views: 731 19steph83
11 killed in building subsidence
 
04:20
11 killed in building subsidence Come Join Us for More Entertainment!! Visit our Official site: www.ntvbd.com Also Find us on Social Media; G+ NTV: https://plus.google.com/+ntvbd/ Facebook Page: https://www.facebook.com/ntvdigital Twitter Official: https://twitter.com/ntvdigitals Pinterest: http://www.pinterest.com/ntvdigital/ NTV in a nutshell: International Television Channel Limited (NTV) offers diverse mix of programs such as news bulletins, current affairs, and talk shows, soap operas, educational, religious, politics related programs, drama, movie, reality shows and other entertainment programs. We deliver news and entertainment programs across all platforms: TV, Internet and Mobile (including apps). We also broadcast its programs in UK, USA, Canada, Some parts of Europe, Middle East, and beyond. NTV Official Address: Bangladesh Address: 102, Kazi Nazrul Islam Avenue, Karwan Bazar, Dhaka-1215, Bangladesh Europe Address: Unite 6, Bow Exchange, 5 Yeo Street, London, E3 3QP USA Address: New York, USA, Australia Address: 30A Carlton Parade, NSW - 2218, Australia Note: If you wish to share this video, please make sure you embed the link and share the original source. Please avoid other methods of copying or duplicating the video, and help us support anti-piracy measures in any way you can. Thank you - NTV Team
Views: 47 NTV
The Crooked House at Himley
 
02:12
On Wednesday 9th November 2011 my Sister & I drove over to a spot that we used to cycle to from our home in Wednesbury Staffordshire, in The Heart of the Black Country, over sixty years ago when we were School Kids! This is The Crooked House at Himley near Dudley & we enjoyed a Roast Pork Sandwich & Crooked Chips for lunch! The Original House was made "Crooked" by Mining Subsidence, but is now a very pleasant hostelry in Lovely Countryside & I was delighted to be able to video yet another Fast-Flowing Stream & Autumnal Trees! The gentle piece of music by Robert Bruce is titled "Bevelled Glass".
Views: 1875 LittleBigVoice
Ready Set Sold with Bryan Vogt #16-01: Joe Harnist: Location location location!
 
11:03
View this at: http://www.bryanvogt.com/ready-set-sold-bryan-vogt-16-01-joe-harnist-location-location-location/ Brian Vogt: Welcome everyone, to Ready, Set, Sold with your host Bryan Vogt. Thank you so much for joining us this Saturday. Greatly appreciate it. Hope you had a great week, and having even a better weekend. As you probably noticed by the opening song, our hearts and prayers are also with Texas and the Houston area, and now. This show is being pre-recorded, so Louisiana could be in danger also. This is has been a horrific storm. Harvey has not done anybody any favors. I encourage everyone, you probably already have, but heck, even if you make another donation, what the heck? For me it's the Red Cross, I've made donations to the Red Cross. Hopefully, that you can do the same thing. Whether that is financial of course is great, whatever you can afford. It's so simple now, you can do it from your phone, you can do it from any computer or iPad. If not, you can also, there could be other great organizations not just the Red Cross, there's other great organizations. Maybe churches, maybe whatever you want to do or however you want to make a contribution I really encourage you to do that. I really do and hopefully most of you have but just in case you haven't, please do. And every report I've seen, this is going to be something that's going on for years. This could be a very, very long time before Houston actually rebuilds back and that's the whole surrounding area. So again, even if you have made a contribution, why don't you make another one? With that said, I want to go back now into what we're going to be talking about today and that is very simply is pricing your house right the first time, wins almost every time. In this segment here, the first one we'll be talking about location, location, location. Second segment we'll be talking about the what other two factors have an impact on the pricing of your house. And in section three we're going to talking about one of the myths and quite frankly talking to the insurance agent Joe Harnist prior to the show, I found out one of the myths was really a myth about homeowner's insurance and what sellers need to know and buyers need to know when they come selling your house. And number four, mine subsidence it rarely happens in Metro East even though they have all kinds of mines. But if you're in that situation, it's a tough situation. Some tips about what you can do, what you mabey can't do and some great information that we have planned when we talk with Joe in the segment four. And of course then our $5,000 tip for the week and I named it Before You Spend a Dime, Call an Agent. I'll go more into that in the last segment there. A little brief history if you don't know this, many of you do, you've been faithful listeners, my Aunt Ag in Keysport listens every week. My mom and then there's other people too. Those are ones I want to give shout outs to. That's always nice to have that kind of support. My kids too, my wife does. Those are great things too. So I want to thank them all for that and there's a lot of people that have said some very kind words so I do appreciate that. But briefly my history, I've been doing this real estate for 16 years. It's really become my passion and so much so that I wound up writing a book called, Ready, Set, Sold, 12 proven steps to sell your house. And that's for top dollar and a fast sale for the Metro East area. I wrote this book, it became a number one bestseller. The radio program, 1260 Answer approached me and that hey, I'm out doing a weekly program, talking, letting sellers know what they need to do to get their house in top order and be able to be able to make top dollar in a fast sale. And so I agreed to that. That's how we got here with this segment. And this is how the show developed. We have a fantastic team of agents that work with me, very proud to be associated with them. We're always looking for other people that are interested in getting into the real estate market. This is the time, I will tell you, this has probably been the best market we've seen, or I've seen. But I think most agents would agree that probably in the last three to five years. It's that good. And part of it is the staying power that it's had that we haven't seen. We've started out hot and cooled down by the middle of the summer. This time we're not seeing that, we're seeing it, now we're into September and we're still having some great results. So if you're thinking about selling your home, this is the time. I talk all the time about the three month period. After three months things can change. Hopefully for the better but you never know, it can go the other way too. There can be a lull in the market for whatever reasons. Also the other aspect of it is in 60 days it's 50/50 there. Things can change in 60 days. And 30 days rarely but it can happen. That's usually traditionally your competition in your own subdivision.
Views: 2 Bryan Vogt
Jackfield Village (1952)
 
01:40
Jackfield, Shropshire. Several shots of the flowing river (possibly the Severn) in. C/U of sign reading 'JACKFIELD HALT'. L/S of railway line. C/U of notice warning people not to go any further due to dangerous subsidence. C/U Truck passing camera, and house in ruins in background. C/U Pan over broken walls and up to house. C/U Water supply line to village. M/S House crumbling away. C/U Cracks in stonework. L/S House at crazy angle. M/S House falling apart. M/S Broken walls, etc. C/U Walls of house falling apart. M/S House leaning over and crumbling, pan shot. C/U warning sign. FILM ID:1291.29 A VIDEO FROM BRITISH PATHÉ. EXPLORE OUR ONLINE CHANNEL, BRITISH PATHÉ TV. IT'S FULL OF GREAT DOCUMENTARIES, FASCINATING INTERVIEWS, AND CLASSIC MOVIES. http://www.britishpathe.tv/ FOR LICENSING ENQUIRIES VISIT http://www.britishpathe.com/ British Pathé also represents the Reuters historical collection, which includes more than 120,000 items from the news agencies Gaumont Graphic (1910-1932), Empire News Bulletin (1926-1930), British Paramount (1931-1957), and Gaumont British (1934-1959), as well as Visnews content from 1957 to the end of 1979. All footage can be viewed on the British Pathé website. https://www.britishpathe.com/
Views: 1124 British Pathé
Coal train
 
01:45
protest song about coal mining under the beautiful quorrobolong valley
Views: 132 jeepineapple
Coneyancing & Local Property Searches in Doncaster (www.chris-stevenson.co.uk)
 
03:58
http://chris-stevenson.co.uk/conveyancing/ Chris Stevenson Solicitors Whitegates, 103 Thorne Road, Doncaster, South Yorkshire, DN2 5BE 01302 341243 Property Searches & Conveyancing – What are they and do I need them? Buying a new home is not always as simple as handing over the money and fixing a moving date. One process which we get asked about a lot as conveyancing solicitors are property searches. What is a Property Search? Searches are conducted to provide the buyer with as much information about the property they are buying as possible. Types of Search The main searches that you will come across are Local Search A local search will look over data held by the local authority in relation to the property. It will let you know whether planning permission has been granted or rejected for extensions in the past or future Water/Drainage Search This search will give you information about whether the property has access to mains water and drainage. It will show the location of piping and access to the sewers. Mining Search This search is compulsory in some regions with a history of mining, for example here in Doncaster. The search provides information of the location of working and disused mines and whether your property is at risk of subsidence by proximity. Environmental search This search will alert you to any landfill sites or patches of contaminated land near to the property which may affect the buyers investment or even their health in the future. It will also alert the buyer to any flood risk that may be present. Chancel Searches Historically, some households in parishes in England and Wales were liable to contribute financially to the parish church. In some areas, this liability still exists today. Do I need Searches? If you are purchasing a property with a mortgage, the likelihood is that you will be required by the mortgage company, your ‘lender’, to have the searches carried out. If you are a cash buyer, searches are not compulsory. However, you will find that almost all conveyancing solicitors will recommend that you have searches carried out so as not to risk any surprises once your purchase is completed. I have had a mortgage survey done do I still need searches? Your mortgage survey is different to your property searches. Property searches delve much deeper and provide much broader information than a mortgage survey. They assure the mortgage company that they are making a secure investment. Who conducts the Searches? Most searches are conducted by private companies who have access to information in the local area. Is there an alternative? In some circumstances, your solicitor may recommend a search indemnity. This is an indemnity policy which will insure you against any eventuality which may otherwise have been discovered in the searches.