Home
Search results “Coal mining contractors in beckley wv”
In Ohio's Coal Country, Murray Energy Fights On (1)
 
01:36
“How many of you have been laid off at least once in your career as coal miners?” Robert Murray asks a group of coal mining foreman assembled at the St. Clairsville, Ohio headquarters of Murray Energy. Nearly every hand in the room goes up in response to the question. The 75 year old is CEO and President of Murray Energy, one of America’s largest coal companies. Picture Credits: Energy production system (Credit: Aspen Snowmass), Methane capturing system (Credit: Aspen Snowmass), Exhibition Coal Mine - Beckley, WV (Credit: Trixie.In.Dixie), EPA DC Climate Action Crowd 5 (Credit: Karen Murphy), Coal power plant (Credit: David Shane/Creative Commons), Coal-fired power plant (Credit: Mike Lavoie/Creative Commons), EPA sign (Credit: TexasGOPVote.com/Creative Commons)
Out Of My Mind - story from 1920's coal mine wars in West Virginia
 
03:54
OUT OF MY MIND is available for download from CD Baby, iTunes, Spotify, Amazon, among others. https://www.cdbaby.com/cd/dancunningham4 The song was recognized in six different songwrtiting competitions - OUT OF MY MIND is a tragic tale from the Appalachian coal-fields. The story told in this song is fictional, but the background is drawn from the history of coal mining in West Virginia around 1920. When the miners attempted to unionize, the mining company would hire companies like the Baldwin-Felts Detective Agency to provide security. Among other duties, these "hired guns" would evict miners (and their families) from company housing when they no longer worked for the company. A miner might lose his job for involvement union organizing, and of course, a dead man was no longer an employee. In this song, the narrator tries to stop his mother's eviction and the confrontation ends in violence. “The Baldwin-Felts came calling The week my daddy died Put my momma on the street I tried my best to help her but I killed a man instead” (CONCERNING TRAINS and this song) It is a familiar sight deep in the Appalachians, particularly in years past. In those narrow valleys of the coal fields, there may be a road, a creek or river, and a railroad track, with scant room for much else on that narrow ribbon of "flat" land between the mountains. The sound of the train winding thru the valley is part of the environment. It is the background music for every activity in those small communities. Of, course we end the song with some coal train imagery. “I set out on the rails tonight I have to get away the wheels, they click, the lonely whistle blows A snake of coal cars follows me , black as my wicked deed” Out Of My Mind, received attention from six different songwriting competitions and John Francis (2006 ASCAP Sammy Cahn Lyricist of the Year) said, "OUT OF MY MIND is a very cool, dark, murder ballad. Artful. Your voice is very compelling". -Regional finalist 2010  New Song/Mountain Stage contest  -Story Song finalist 2010  Independent Music Awards  -Semi-Finalist  Acoustic Roundtable 2011 Worldwide Search  -Semi-Finalist 2011  SONG OF THE YEAR contest  -2012 East Coast Songwriters  Honorable Mention Americana/Folk -2017 Just Plain Folks Music Awards  Americana nomination You can search the internet for more information West Virginia coal wars and the Baldwin Felts Detective Agency. A good overview of the 1920-1921 Mine War is provide in a book: THUNDER IN THE MOUNTAINS by Lon Savage The labor unrest leading up to and including the Matewan Massacre is dramatized in the move MATEWAN, directed by John Sales “Out Of My Mind" is copyright 2010 pickndawg music
Views: 441 Dan Cunningham
Coal mines | My job | Me on my ride
 
01:38
This is a short video of me at my work place going underground on my ride.
Views: 450 NA5TYBL1NDF1R3
Celebrating 100 years of Joy’s mining innovation | Komatsu
 
00:47
Joseph Joy was an innovator, a true pioneer of underground mining equipment. His mechanized mining machine revolutionized the industry and helped pave the way for the future. He founded the Joy brand 100 years ago and we remain committed to providing the reliability we are known for while finding new ways to help our customers move forward. Learn more about the 100 year history of Joy - https://mining.komatsu/company/our-company/who-we-are/our-brands/joy
Coal Mine, West Virginia, 1954
 
00:23
Scenes of a coal mine, West Virginia, 1954. One shot shows the family Dodge. Silent regular 8mm film by my father, Al Mozzer.
Views: 409 mozzermemories
My awesome coal collection !
 
01:40
Views: 24 Dawn.
Phillips Machine OEM Products
 
03:12
Visit: http://www.phillipsmachine.com "Twenty-Four Hour Service" was the slogan painted on the 1,600 foot, two-bay garage in Glen Daniel, West Virginia, when Jack and Jim Phillips opened Phillips Machine Service. The date was June 1, 1976, and the sky was the limit for what could be accomplished through this small business. In 1979, Phillips Machine Service moved to Harper Park in Beckley, West Virginia and Tom Cushman joined the Phillips team as Vice President of Marketing. Expansions continued at the Beckley facility throughout the 1980s and 1990s. Then in 2000, Phillips introduced their first OEM product at the Las Vegas MINExpo. The Freedom® Car was designed to meet the increased haulage capacity requirements of today's coal mine. This machine can be provided with battery power or cable power, as a new or rebuilt shuttle coal car; whatever is required for our customer's application. In 2002, Phillips branched out into the international market, opening Shanxi Phillips in China. 2007 brought more international growth with the start of a sales office in South Africa. That year also included managerial changes, as Bruce Dickerson was appointed Vice President of Operations. Expansion moved toward the western United States when Phillips opened a manufacturing facility in Delta, Colorado in 2008. That year, another Phillips first was revealed at the Las Vegas MINExpo -- the PM15DE Diesel Electric shuttle car. 2009 ushered in more changes, as Phillips Machine South Africa added manufacturing to their repertoire. A larger shop space was built there in 2011, to accommodate a greater workload. On February 23, 2011, Phillips acquired The Combs Group, Inc, adding office and shop locations in Tennessee and Kentucky. Formerly owned and operated by John and Susan Combs, The Combs Group specializes in rebuilding underground mining machinery, associated part sales, machining, fabrication, hydraulics and chrome plating. Phillips retains The Combs Group as an operating subsidiary. Now nearly four decades in the making, Phillips Machine Service, Inc. has grown into one of the largest full service companies of its type in the industry. Quality is our number one priority. This commitment has gained us a reputation that is second to none. Our company is involved in almost all phases of repairs, remanufacture, fabrication, development and sales of mining machinery. Some specific areas of operation include the following: repair and remanufacturing of cutter drums; rebuild of continuous miners, roof bolters, scoops, etc; rebuild of complete longwall faces; new manufacture and remanufacture of shuttle cars; the sale of used equipment, and service exchange assemblies. Phillips offers the exchange of completely rebuilt continuous miners and shuttle cars of most currently popular models, regardless of original manufacturer. A warranty equivalent to new machine warranty is included with all rebuilt and remanufactured machines. The primary reason for the success story at Phillips Machine is our personnel. The management team leads a dedicated work force of nearly 300 employees worldwide. The skill and expertise of our team is what makes Phillips an important player in the coal industry both nationally and globally. Through their dedication, we have developed a cutting edge technology base. The Phillips Philosophy is "To get our customers back in production as soon as possible. We are committed to listen to our customers needs through underground inspection and consulting." The resulting innovations have provided for our continued growth.
Views: 1354 phillipsmachine
One Breath At A Time; A Coal Miner's Perspective on Black Lung
 
01:15
Gary Hairston, a resident of Beckley, West Virginia shares his story of his life as a coal miner. For more on this story check out Lori Kersey's article in the Monday, Jan. 16, 2017 edition of the Charleston Gazette-Mail. http://wvgazettemail.com
West Virginia's Abandoned Horses on Mine sites: http://www.wvhorserescue.org/mine.html
 
46:00
West Virginia Abandoned Horses: FAQ https://www.change.org/p/west-virginia-state-senate-seeking-help-for-abandoned-and-managed-horses-on-mine-sites-in-west-virginia http://www.wvhorserescue.org/mine.html Thousands of horses are abandoned on reclaimed and active mine sites in West Virginia Q. How do the horses end up abandoned ? 1. They are abandoned and turned out by horse traders and other local residents. The traders can keep a large amount horses at no cost to them by turning them out on the mine sites. 2. They are turned out when owners can no longer feed or sell them. 3. Some have "owners," but they are left to wander at large and receive no real care at all Q. What are the dangers of the horses remaining on the sites or remaining free? 1. Food sources are very limited, especially in winter. The greenery is mostly brush and weeds, the soil is rocky, and the grass isn't particularly nutritious. 2. Breeding and continual abandonment creates a population that is unsustainable. The local ecosystem is damaged; destruction of trees when the horses start to starve in winter, serious erosion on previous mine sites that are in various stages of the reclaiming process, and eating the flora that local wildlife needs to survive. 3. The horses themselves pose serious dangers to each other as well as humans on the mine sites and roadways because they frequently wander onto the roadways and congregate. Q. Why not just move the horses off? 1. Horses are considered livestock and the legal process of proving the horses are abandoned is lengthy. The counties must take that action and it must be done for each and every horse which would be time prohibitive and nearly impossible due to the number of horses covering many thousands of acres. 2. Many local people claim these horses to be theirs and would have hostile reactions to outsiders coming in trying to move the horses. 3. The county governments are sympathetic to the public's desire to leave the horses on the mine sites and have, in the past, let us know they would not support mass removal of the horses. 4. The land is private property. The land companies (usually) will not claim ownership of the abandoned horses and do not want groups of people, thus a liability, trespassing on their land. 5. Local people do come in and move horses. Sometimes traders and kill buyers pick the horses up; however, it is not legal and is not a suitable solution for rescue groups to attempt this. 6. The horses are in areas that are hard to access, especially with a horse trailer. Local people are often on these old roads with ATVS and trucks and they would know if strangers were attempting to remove horses. Q. What are the sensible steps to solve this issue? 1. We need legislative changes that provide cooperation with/from the land and mine owners (with much of the typical red tape for abandoned livestock waived). We need a process that gives the state the authority to allow 501(c)3 rescues that have properly trained personnel to remove any and all horses found on mine sites. 2. Rescues will need to be given legal protection to remove these horses 3. We need laws set in place to levy heavy fines on those dropping horses on reclaimed or active mine sites 4. Safely rounding up the non-feral adoptable mares and foals, as well as gelding of colts and stallions through a group of voluntary veterinarians. 5. Only working with trained teams that are able to handle, sort, and load horses to accomplish safe removal. 6. Euthanasia of the severely injured and dangerous feral horses 7. The general public should not be allowed to remove the horses. The horses should only be allowed to be taken to established non-profit 501(c)3 organizations or private homes that have been pre-screened and approved. 8. Create a list of rescues nationwide willing to assist over the long term. Q. How long will this process take and how will the process be funded 1. The legal changes/bill introduction should begin immediately as well as the removal of the highly adoptable horses; this needs to take place now, during the 2015 WV Legislative Session. 2. We need to establish whether any emergency legislative action can be given to address horses that are in danger right now due to very poor body condition. 3. We need to seek out all land and mine companies willing to lobby and work with rescues to see this issue humanely addressed 4. We need to establish teams that are given permission to be on sites to document the herds. 5. We need to gain funding from the land and mine companies as well as through grant programs to finance the 501(c)3 organizations willing to remove the abandoned horses.
Views: 3424 WVHorseRescue
2 New Coal Mines Follow $90mil Investment
 
00:44
Coal developer Ramaco Development and partners announced Tuesday, a $90 million investment that runs against the trend of coal bankruptcies and mine closures should enable two new coal mines and related facilities to open in West Virginia and Virginia next year. The mines would extract metallurgical coal. That type is used for steel production and most mined in the U.S. is exported overseas. Ramaco CEO Randall Atkins told The Associated Press, Kentucky-based Ramaco's partnership with two private equity firms will directly create some 400 jobs. http://hosted2.ap.org/APDEFAULT/386c25518f464186bf7a2ac026580ce7/Article_2016-09-06-US--New%20Coal%20Mines/id-64fa6b884b874fc18399f2d5ba6c14b3 http://www.wochit.com This video was produced by YT Wochit News using http://wochit.com
Views: 227 Wochit News
Phillips Machine Service, Inc.
 
00:15
Visit: http://www.phillipsmachine.com "Twenty-Four Hour Service" was the slogan painted on the 1,600 foot, two-bay garage in Glen Daniel, West Virginia, when Jack and Jim Phillips opened Phillips Machine Service. The date was June 1, 1976, and the sky was the limit for what could be accomplished through this small business. In 1979, Phillips Machine Service moved to Harper Park in Beckley, West Virginia and Tom Cushman joined the Phillips team as Vice President of Marketing. Expansions continued at the Beckley facility throughout the 1980s and 1990s. Then in 2000, Phillips introduced their first OEM product at the Las Vegas MINExpo. The Freedom® Car was designed to meet the increased haulage capacity requirements of today's coal mine. This machine can be provided with battery power or cable power, as a new or rebuilt shuttle coal car; whatever is required for our customer's application. In 2002, Phillips branched out into the international market, opening Shanxi Phillips in China. 2007 brought more international growth with the start of a sales office in South Africa. That year also included managerial changes, as Bruce Dickerson was appointed Vice President of Operations. Expansion moved toward the western United States when Phillips opened a manufacturing facility in Delta, Colorado in 2008. That year, another Phillips first was revealed at the Las Vegas MINExpo -- the PM15DE Diesel Electric shuttle car. 2009 ushered in more changes, as Phillips Machine South Africa added manufacturing to their repertoire. A larger shop space was built there in 2011, to accommodate a greater workload. On February 23, 2011, Phillips acquired The Combs Group, Inc, adding office and shop locations in Tennessee and Kentucky. Formerly owned and operated by John and Susan Combs, The Combs Group specializes in rebuilding underground mining machinery, associated part sales, machining, fabrication, hydraulics and chrome plating. Phillips retains The Combs Group as an operating subsidiary. Now nearly four decades in the making, Phillips Machine Service, Inc. has grown into one of the largest full service companies of its type in the industry. Quality is our number one priority. This commitment has gained us a reputation that is second to none. Our company is involved in almost all phases of repairs, remanufacture, fabrication, development and sales of mining machinery. Some specific areas of operation include the following: repair and remanufacturing of cutter drums; rebuild of continuous miners, roof bolters, scoops, etc; rebuild of complete longwall faces; new manufacture and remanufacture of shuttle cars; the sale of used equipment, and service exchange assemblies. Phillips offers the exchange of completely rebuilt continuous miners and shuttle cars of most currently popular models, regardless of original manufacturer. A warranty equivalent to new machine warranty is included with all rebuilt and remanufactured machines. The primary reason for the success story at Phillips Machine is our personnel. The management team leads a dedicated work force of nearly 300 employees worldwide. The skill and expertise of our team is what makes Phillips an important player in the coal industry both nationally and globally. Through their dedication, we have developed a cutting edge technology base. The Phillips Philosophy is "To get our customers back in production as soon as possible. We are committed to listen to our customers needs through underground inspection and consulting." The resulting innovations have provided for our continued growth.
Views: 149 phillipsmachine
Phillips Machine Service
 
03:25
Visit: http://www.phillipsmachine.com "Twenty-Four Hour Service" was the slogan painted on the 1,600 foot, two-bay garage in Glen Daniel, West Virginia, when Jack and Jim Phillips opened Phillips Machine Service. The date was June 1, 1976, and the sky was the limit for what could be accomplished through this small business. In 1979, Phillips Machine Service moved to Harper Park in Beckley, West Virginia and Tom Cushman joined the Phillips team as Vice President of Marketing. Expansions continued at the Beckley facility throughout the 1980s and 1990s. Then in 2000, Phillips introduced their first OEM product at the Las Vegas MINExpo. The Freedom® Car was designed to meet the increased haulage capacity requirements of today's coal mine. This machine can be provided with battery power or cable power, as a new or rebuilt shuttle coal car; whatever is required for our customer's application. In 2002, Phillips branched out into the international market, opening Shanxi Phillips in China. 2007 brought more international growth with the start of a sales office in South Africa. That year also included managerial changes, as Bruce Dickerson was appointed Vice President of Operations. Expansion moved toward the western United States when Phillips opened a manufacturing facility in Delta, Colorado in 2008. That year, another Phillips first was revealed at the Las Vegas MINExpo -- the PM15DE Diesel Electric shuttle car. 2009 ushered in more changes, as Phillips Machine South Africa added manufacturing to their repertoire. A larger shop space was built there in 2011, to accommodate a greater workload. On February 23, 2011, Phillips acquired The Combs Group, Inc, adding office and shop locations in Tennessee and Kentucky. Formerly owned and operated by John and Susan Combs, The Combs Group specializes in rebuilding underground mining machinery, associated part sales, machining, fabrication, hydraulics and chrome plating. Phillips retains The Combs Group as an operating subsidiary. Now nearly four decades in the making, Phillips Machine Service, Inc. has grown into one of the largest full service companies of its type in the industry. Quality is our number one priority. This commitment has gained us a reputation that is second to none. Our company is involved in almost all phases of repairs, remanufacture, fabrication, development and sales of mining machinery. Some specific areas of operation include the following: repair and remanufacturing of cutter drums; rebuild of continuous miners, roof bolters, scoops, etc; rebuild of complete longwall faces; new manufacture and remanufacture of shuttle cars; the sale of used equipment, and service exchange assemblies. Phillips offers the exchange of completely rebuilt continuous miners and shuttle cars of most currently popular models, regardless of original manufacturer. A warranty equivalent to new machine warranty is included with all rebuilt and remanufactured machines. The primary reason for the success story at Phillips Machine is our personnel. The management team leads a dedicated work force of nearly 300 employees worldwide. The skill and expertise of our team is what makes Phillips an important player in the coal industry both nationally and globally. Through their dedication, we have developed a cutting edge technology base. The Phillips Philosophy is "To get our customers back in production as soon as possible. We are committed to listen to our customers needs through underground inspection and consulting." The resulting innovations have provided for our continued growth.
Views: 3436 phillipsmachine
DEP's In Charge, So Don't Drink The Coalfield Cool-Ade!
 
05:04
West Virginia Environmentalists came out on September 29, 2009 to protest the WV Department of Environmental Protection and its head honcho Randy Huffman for sweeping water pollution induced by coal slurry under the rug on both the state and NATIONAL level. The event took place at DEP headquarters in Charleston. Groups Participating: Ohio Valley Environmental Coalition (OHVEC), Sierra Club, Charleston Adult Youth Environmental Network (CAYEN)
Views: 359 CAYENWV
Black Suit Daddy - Willow Branch Wanderers
 
02:54
From Wikipedia: The Upper Big Branch Mine disaster occurred on April 5, 2010 about 1,000 feet (300 m) underground at Massey Energy's Upper Big Branch coal mine at Montcoal in Raleigh County, West Virginia. Twenty-nine out of thirty-one miners at the site were killed. Due to the large concentration of toxic gases in the mine, MSHA investigators had to wait for over two months to enter the mine for investigation. Investigators were able to enter the mine on July 2, 2010. On May 19th, 2011, the independent investigation team released a report which faulted both Massey Energy and the Mine Safety and Health Administration for the blast. Massey was strongly condemned by the report for multiple failures to meet basic safety standards outlined in the Mine Act of 1977. "A company that was a towering presence in the Appalachian coal fields operated its mines in a profoundly reckless manner, and 29 coal miners paid with their lives for the corporate risk taking," read the report. "The company's ventilation system did not adequately ventilate the mine. As a result, explosive gases were allowed to build up." Also detailed in the report are allegations that Massey Energy threatened miners with termination if they stopped work in areas that lacked adequate oxygen levels. Numerous other state and federal safety standards that Massey failed to comply with were detailed in the report. Investigators also say that the U.S. Department of Labor and its Mine Safety and Health Administration (MSHA) were at fault for failing to act decisively at the mine even after Massey was issued 515 citations for safety violations at the Upper Big Branch mine in 2009. The report lambastes MSHA inspectors for failing to issue a flagrant violation citation which could have fined the company up to $220,000. Investigators claimed that this citation was entirely necessary given Massey's failure to meet basic safety protocols and the investigators found it "disturbing" that the violation was not issued. The failure to issue flagrant violation citations was attributed to MSHA which also failed to notify the miners and their families that they were working in a mine which had not met minimal safety requirements. As further evidence of MSHA's failures in the lead up to the UBB mine explosion, the report discusses how MSHA safety inspectors failed to enforce the safety protocols at Massey Energy's Aracoma Alma #1 mine. In 2007, a fire broke out at the Aracoma Alma #1 mine killing two miners. The report described the fire as "preventable" and cites an internal MSHA review following the fire which found that inspectors "were shocked by the deplorable conditions of the mine" and that MSHA inspectors had "failed" to enforce adequate safety measures. Furthermore the report outlines how in the lead up to the blast the UBB mine "experienced at least three major methane-related events". One in 1997, another in 2003, and a third in 2004. Instead of addressing these issues, "Upper Big Branch management elected to consider each methane outburst or explosion as an anomaly." Furthermore, MSHA officials "did not compel (or to our knowledge even ask) UBB management to implement," safety precautions following these events. The report claims that Massey used its power "to attempt to control West Virginia's political system." The report cites how politicians were afraid of the company because it "was willing to spend vast amounts of money to influence elections." Massey intentionally neglected safety precautions for the purpose of increasing profit margins according to the report. Safety precautions in mines are "a hard-earned right paid for with the blood of coal miners" read the report's introduction. In addition to MSHA, the FBI has also launched a probe, investigating possible criminal wrongdoing at the mine, including criminal negligence and possible bribery of federal regulators.
Views: 991 gonzoroot
Arch Coal #1
 
02:37
Views: 941 Irontrax
Aggreko partners with a one of a kind mining exhibition
 
02:12
The Diggers & Dealers Mining Forum is a leading annual conference that combines presentations by listed mining and exploration companies with a large exhibition area housing exhibitors from the sector. Aggreko has been a part of Diggers & Dealers for over 10 years as an exhibitor, a sponsor and a supplier, and this year we were proud to be there once again. Watch the video to see some highlights from this year's event.
#GME | Coal miners in Western Germany protest plans to end mining
 
01:50
Thousands of coal-miners in Western Germany are protesting today - against a government commission to discuss plans to end coal mining in the region.
Coal River Mountain
 
12:20
Researchers say mountaintop removal coal mining is making people sick across Appalachia. Learn more about this story at www.newsy.com/72890 See more at https://www.newsy.com/topics/revolt/ Like Newsy on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/newsyvideos/ Follow Newsy on Twitter: www.twitter.com/newsyvideos
Views: 1122 Newsy
The Battle of Blair Mountain performed by Louise Mosrie
 
05:15
Labor unions haven't always been the bad guys. At Blair Mountain, our government bombed union workers who stood up to the mine owners for their oppressive practices. Links: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jv6mhVzd6rQ http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6B6sw6OMU2E&feature=related
Views: 7835 wickedenchanter
West Virginia environmental activists hit coal mining where it hurts: banks
 
02:35
Mountaintop removal brings devastation and danger like no other method of mining, showering nearby homes with toxic dust and polluting water supplies. Wary of footing bills for future lawsuits over resulting damages, banks are heeding the words of environmental activists and starting to pull funding from the industry.
Views: 109 arayalrio
WE TOURED THE WHIPPLE COMPANY STORE!MOST HAUNTED PLACE IN WEST VIRGINIA!
 
13:30
Hi Y'all! This is my first attempt at vlogging, so forgive it for being a bit awkward or not as edited as I would like! We visited the most haunted place in West Virginia, it has been recognized as being truly haunted by the SMITHSONIAN!!! I had no idea of the history of the building, and purposefully didn't research it so I would have no preconcieved notions or expectations. I'm glad we didn't know anything other than it was haunted, because our experiences were so strong and so accurate as to my 'flashes' that I am honestly still shaken! I hope when you come this way, you put the Whipple Company Store on your list of places to visit! The tour was fantastic, so educational, and not only will you have a spooky experience but you will learn the TRUTH about how the companies worked! Seems we've been mislead quite a bit about the mining companies and how they paid their workers, took care of the families, and the recreational activities the miners participated in! I forgot to mention that the WHIPPLE COMPANY STORE is the home of Minor League Baseball!!! Seems that all the companies had baseball teams, and the Cincinnati Red Stockings actually invited the mining companies to put their best players together and form a single team to 'take on' the Major League ball team! And the MINERS WON!!! They received a plaque stating just that, and after that, the 'Miner League' was born, but due to prejudice against the poor, uneducated workers the club took out the 'E' and put an 'O' in it's place! The tour is so enlightening, I can't say enough good about it! We definitely had paranormal experiences, but we learned a lot! All money from tours goes to upkeep and restoration of the store, and they have about 70,000 a year tour it! I hope you enjoy the video! I'm worn out! But as always, remember that I love you, and YOU LOVE YOU!!! Where to find me Twitter @MamaBethsWord SnapChat @MamaBethsWorld YouNow @MamaBethsWorld or regular post P.O. Box 125 Beaver, WV 25813
Views: 462 MamaBethsWorld
Former coal miner, Michael Whitten, on strip mining, unions, black lung disease
 
08:33
Michael Whitten worked in West Virginia's coal industry for 8 years, but his family has been impacted by coal for generations. This is part of his story, told in June of 2017.
Birla Mines
 
00:55
Views: 68 Rahul Soni
AMERICAN EPIC | 1920’s Coal Miners strike | PBS
 
01:06
Official website: http://to.pbs.org/2pzOUDG | #AmericanEpic Bill Williamson recalls the 1920’s Coal Miners strike in Logan, West Virginia Subscribe to the PBS channel for more clips: https://www.youtube.com/user/PBS/featured Enjoy full episodes of your favorite PBS programs at pbs.org/video. Like PBS on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pbs/ Follow PBS on Twitter: https://twitter.com/PBS Follow PBS on Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/PBS Official website: http://www.pbs.org/ Get PBS merchandise: http://www.shoppbs.org/home/index.jsp Go inside one of the greatest-ever untold stories: how the ordinary people of America were given the opportunity to make records for the first time.
Views: 2839 PBS
BILL WITHERS LOVELY DAY MARLEY MARL REMIX 2010
 
04:38
Withers was born the youngest of six children in the small coal-mining town of Slab Fork, West Virginia. Raised in nearby Beckley, West Virginia, Withers was thirteen years old when his father died. He enlisted with the United States Navy at age eighteen and served for nine years, during which time he became interested in singing and writing songs. Soon after his discharge from the Navy in 1965, he relocated to Los Angeles for a musical career.[1] Withers worked as an assembler for several different companies, including Douglas Aircraft Corporation, while recording demo tapes with his own money, shopping them around and performing in clubs at night. When he debuted with the song "Ain't No Sunshine" he refused to resign his job because of his belief that the music business was a fickle industry and that he was still a novice compared to other acts.
Views: 9266 TheM2D2
WOAY  TV  News
 
01:29
Since 1988, Highland Machinery Corporation has grown to service major mining companies throughout the world. Yes, we still rebuild and repair equipment or update it with our quality frames. However, today Highland offers so much more! We now offer new equipment product lines that include new shuttle cars, scoops, rubber tired personnel carriers, prep plant feeders, our patented HMC Feeder and belt terminal groups. We also carry a large components parts exchange program. It is our goal to provide our customers with dependable, quality mining equipment at a fair price.
Views: 2079 Dan Kietiman
Don Blankenship Releases and Discusses Secret MSHA Emails in Beckley
 
12:24
In Beckley last night, I revealed some previously undisclosed Mine Safety and Health Administration (MSHA) emails. These emails are among those that the federal prosecutors withheld from my defense attorneys in violation of what is known as Brady material disclosure rules. The emails were improperly withheld for more than two years, and support several important matters. Please watch the video where I discuss them.
Views: 926 Don Blankenship
Bill Withers - Who Is He (And What Is He to You)
 
03:18
Bill Withers - Who Is He (And What Is He to You) William Harrison "Bill" Withers, Jr. (born July 4, 1938) is an American singer-songwriter and musician who performed and recorded from 1970 until 1985. Some of his best-known songs are "Lean on Me", "Ain't No Sunshine", "Use Me", "Just the Two of Us", "Lovely Day", and "Grandma's Hands". His life was recently the subject of the documentary film Still Bill. Withers was born the youngest of thirteen children in the small coal-mining town of Slab Fork, West Virginia. Raised in nearby Beckley, West Virginia, Withers was thirteen years old when his father died. He enlisted with the United States Navy at age eighteen and served for nine years, during which time he became interested in singing and writing songs. Soon after his discharge from the Navy in 1970, he relocated to Los Angeles for a musical career. Withers worked as an assembler for several different companies, including Douglas Aircraft Corporation, while recording demo tapes with his own money, shopping them around and performing in clubs at night. When he debuted with the song "Ain't No Sunshine" he refused to resign his job because of his belief that the music business was a fickle industry and that he was still a novice compared to other acts. Lyrics A man we passed just tried to stare me down And when I looked at you, you looked at the ground I don't know who he is but I think that you do Dag gummit Who is he and what is he to you I have something in my heart and in your eyes Tell me he's not someone just passin' by And when you cleared your throat was that your cue Dag gummit dag Who is he and what is he to you Now when I add the sum of you and me I get confused and I keep coming up with three You're too much for one man but not enough for two Dag gummit Who is he and what is he to you Hey you tell me man don't have not much for intuition That what you really think or are you wishin' Before you wreck your old home be certain of the new Dag gummit Who is he and what is he to you Dag gummit Who is he and what is he to you Dag gummit Who is he and what is he to you Dag gummit Who is he and what is he to you
Views: 1548020 Alf
Bill Withers - Who Is He (And What Is He to You)
 
06:06
Bill Withers - Who Is He (And What Is He to You) William Harrison "Bill" Withers, Jr. (born July 4, 1938) is an American singer-songwriter and musician who performed and recorded from 1970 until 1985. Some of his best-known songs are "Lean on Me", "Ain't No Sunshine", "Use Me", "Just the Two of Us", "Lovely Day", and "Grandma's Hands". His life was recently the subject of the documentary film Still Bill. Withers was born the youngest of thirteen children in the small coal-mining town of Slab Fork, West Virginia. Raised in nearby Beckley, West Virginia, Withers was thirteen years old when his father died. He enlisted with the United States Navy at age eighteen and served for nine years, during which time he became interested in singing and writing songs. Soon after his discharge from the Navy in 1970, he relocated to Los Angeles for a musical career. Withers worked as an assembler for several different companies, including Douglas Aircraft Corporation, while recording demo tapes with his own money, shopping them around and performing in clubs at night. When he debuted with the song "Ain't No Sunshine" he refused to resign his job because of his belief that the music business was a fickle industry and that he was still a novice compared to other acts. Lyrics A man we passed just tried to stare me down And when I looked at you, you looked at the ground I don't know who he is but I think that you do Dag gummit Who is he and what is he to you I have something in my heart and in your eyes Tell me he's not someone just passin' by And when you cleared your throat was that your cue Dag gummit dag Who is he and what is he to you Now when I add the sum of you and me I get confused and I keep coming up with three You're too much for one man but not enough for two Dag gummit Who is he and what is he to you Hey you tell me man don't have not much for intuition That what you really think or are you wishin' Before you wreck your old home be certain of the new Dag gummit Who is he and what is he to you Dag gummit Who is he and what is he to you Dag gummit Who is he and what is he to you Dag gummit Who is he and what is he to you Subscribe & More Videos: http://zipansion.com/1Cb07 Thank for watching, Please Like Share And SUBSCRIBE!!! #billwithers, #grandmashands, #grandmashands
Views: 4 Gifted Guitar
New York's DiNapoli Discusses Massey Energy Leadership: Video
 
02:01
April 13 (Bloomberg) -- New York State Comptroller Thomas P. DiNapoli talks with Bloomberg's Matt Miller and Carol Massar about his call for the resignation of Massey Energy Co. Chief Executive Officer Don Blankenship following a fatal explosion at the company's Upper Big Branch mine in Montcoal, West Virginia, on April 5. (This is an excerpt of the full interview. Source: Bloomberg)
Views: 136 Bloomberg
Mountain Hero: Fighting Mountaintop Removal
 
59:56
From living with contaminated water in his own home as a child, to being forced out of his house for speaking out against the coal company, Junior Walk's path to activism was not an easy one. His courage and clear voice calling for change has been widely recognized. Today Walk works with Coal River Mountain Watch, Keeper of the Mountains Foundation, and RAMPS (Radical Action for Mountain People's Survival) to end mountaintop removal mining. He travels the country with the Keeper of the Mountains Foundation educating people about the long-term environmental, health and community degradation caused by coal mining. He was a recipient of the prestigious Brower Youth Awards in 2011. The late renowned environmentalist and climber David Brower famously said, "Tough mountains build bold leaders." Junior Walk is one of the many courageous and bold leaders whom the Appalachian Mountains have built. Also featuring Chase Brown, Keeper of the Mountains Foundation.
Coal City VFD
 
02:32
Jr. Putting lemon juice in the tank and stirring it.
Views: 191 metro382
6612 CHINA-COAL-MINE-FIRE
 
00:51
6612 CHINA-COAL-MINE-FIRE
Views: 69 BYNTVNews
Charleston West Virginia Personal Injury Attorneys - DiTrapano, Barrett & DiPiero
 
01:06
Charleston, West Virginia Personal Injury Attorneys http://www.dbdlawfirm.com/ f you or a loved one was injured due to someone else's negligence, you may be entitled to compensation. However, negligent parties—insurance companies, employers, businesses—typically will not pay damages unless ordered to do so. You need compassionate lawyers who understand the effect of your injuries on your life, and are committed to aggressively fighting on your behalf. At DiTrapano, Barrett & DiPiero, PLLC, we work tirelessly on behalf of victims in cases of the following: Personal injury, Medical malpractice and Trucking accident.
Views: 332 Lawyers.com
24 Hour Plumbing Service In Beckley, West Virginia
 
00:19
Beckley Plumbers is a branch of Beckley Electrician. Got an emergency? Call us now 304-651-4517 Beckley Plumbers is the best plumber in Beckley, West Virginia. Let us show how our professionals can fix your plumbing problems without messing up your house. We specialize in TRENCHLESS sewer repairs. As indicated, we do not have to destroy your yard to fix your sewer line. The best thing about our trenchless sewer service it costs less than than traditional sewer repairs. Call us today for a free estimate. 304-651-4517 One of our friendly staff is ready to assist you. Best Plumber in Beckley, West Virginia. If you want a great plumber and a reasonable price. Call Beckley Plumbers at 304-651-4517. We specialize in trenchless sewer repairs and all types of home and business plumbing problems. Call now: 304-651-4517. Beckley Best Plumber 24 Hour Plumbers Near Me Beckley WV Call (304) 651-4517. Plumbing emergencies in Beckley can happen at any time. Whether you have reduced water flow, a clogged toilet or a leak that needs immediate attention, sometimes professional service is needed. The plumbing experts at your local Plumbing Patriots are just a phone call away, offering quality service at an affordable price. There are many times when you can “do-it-yourself” when it comes to your home plumbing. However, when plumbing issues reach an emergency level, sometimes it’s best to call in the experts. Some emergency plumbing issues that require professional attention include: Major flooding Whether the flooding is the result of a water heater, sewer backup or a clogged toilet – any of these can result in an immediate water emergency requiring prompt service. From sump pumps that aren’t working properly to plumbing fixture failures, many of our Plumbing Patriots locations now provide water clean-up and restoration services to quickly get you on the road to repair. Freezing showers A cold shower is often the result of an issue with your hot water heater. Sometimes, the solution can be as easy as checking the breaker box on your electric heater (for gas, check to see that your pilot light is on). However, if you hear rattling noises and the issues aren’t resolved with the simple flip of a switch, call the plumbing professionals at Beckley Plumbers. A good rule of thumb – if your water heater is over 11 years old, it will be due for replacement sooner than later. Wet yard Are you noticing small wet spots scattered throughout your yard? If so, this indicates that your main water supply line is probably leaking onto your lawn. A foul smell indicates a leak in your sewer line. Situations like these are best left to the professionals as your water and sewer lines may need major repairs or even full replacement. Check outdoors Check your water spigots first. If you see any signs of dripping even when the faucet is turned off completely, it's possible you have an internal leak, possibly caused by exposure to freezing temperatures during winter months. This can be a serious issue because the supply pipe that leads to the hose bib may have also suffered damage and it could be leaking into your wall or basement, leading to water damage, mold and other problems. Services/Locations Served: Emergency Plumber Beckley, West Virginia 25801 Call us now 1-304-651-4517 Don't wait too long: It could cost more money the longer you wait. Plumbing Services Near You Whether you need a leak stopped, a pipe replaced, or a plumbing fixture installed, we've got plumbers nearby who are ready to help. Enter your zip code to be connected today to plumbing contractors close to your location. Why Call a Plumber? While there are some plumbing jobs you can DIY, often the bigger jobs require professional help. Some major reasons to call a plumber include: Flooding Clogged drains Leaking hot water heater Overflowing toilet Remodeling & moving pipes The basic idea to keep in mind is: is this something I can do myself? If you don't have the expertise in plumbing, you should probably consider hiring a plumber. It will save you a lot of time, money and additional work, even if the cost seems high. Questions to Ask When hiring a plumber, make sure you get someone of high quality. The best way to figure that out is to ask questions about their: Licensing and certification Workman's compensation Bonding Free estimates Price quote Warranties and/or guarantees You can definitely look at our Ratings & Reviews for local plumbers. That is another method by which you can see if they're reputable. Cost The price to hire a plumber will vary by what you need done. The average cost will be around $300, but bigger jobs will cost more and the opposite is true of smaller jobs. You might also have to pay for their hourly labor, depending on how they charge. This is something to ask about ahead of time, along with any work you can do to potentially cut down the cost.
Ain't no Sunshine  -  jazz piano
 
04:59
SPOTIFY: https://show.co/E4D6R4J Learn piano songs quickly and easily with this app: https://tinyurl.com/pianista-flowkey Apple music: https://itunes.apple.com/us/artist/alfonso-gugliucci/328630711 Dear friends listeners, here one of my version of the famous song of "Bill Withers", while I was playing in a morning (Brunch). The photo of the lone wolf, must prove the state of mind when she goes away. I hope you enjoy :-) You can also visit my other new channel: http://www.youtube.com/JustPianoforte There I just start to make some tutorials for Jazz musicians beginners, and more :-) More info about the Composer: William Harrison "Bill" Withers, Jr. (born July 4, 1938) is an American singer-songwriter and musician who performed and recorded from 1970 until 1985. He recorded a number of hits such as "Lean on Me", "Ain't No Sunshine", "Use Me", "Just the Two of Us", "Lovely Day", and "Grandma's Hands". His life was the subject of the 2009 documentary film Still Bill. Early life: Withers was born the youngest of six children in the small coal-mining town of Slab Fork, West Virginia. Raised in nearby Beckley, West Virginia, Withers was twelve years old when his father died. He enlisted with the United States Navy at age eighteen and served for nine years, during which time he became interested in singing and writing songs. Soon after his discharge from the Navy in 1965, he relocated to Los Angeles in 1967 for a musical career. Withers worked as an assembler for several different companies, including Douglas Aircraft Corporation, while recording demo tapes with his own money, shopping them around and performing in clubs at night. When he debuted with the song "Ain't No Sunshine" he refused to resign his job because of his belief that the music business was a fickle industry and that he was still a novice compared to other acts. Sussex Records: During early 1970, Withers' demonstration tape was audited favorably by Clarence Avant of Sussex Records. Avant signed Withers to a record deal and assigned Booker T. Jones to produce Withers' first album. Four three-hour studio sessions were planned to record the album, but funding caused the album to be recorded in three sessions with a six-month break between the second and final sessions. Just as I Am was released in 1971 with the tracks "Ain't No Sunshine" and "Grandma's Hands" as singles. The album features Stephen Stills playing lead guitar. The album was a success and Withers began touring with a band assembled from members of The Watts 103rd Street Rhythm Band: drummer James Gadson, guitarist Benorce Blackmon, keyboardist Ray Jackson, and bassist Melvin Dunlap. At the 14th annual Grammy Awards on Tuesday, March 14, 1972, Withers won a Grammy Award for Best R&B Song for "Ain't No Sunshine." The track had already sold over one million copies, and was awarded a platinum disc by the R.I.A.A. in September 1971. During a hiatus from touring, Withers recorded his second album, Still Bill. The single "Lean on Me" went to number one the week of July 8, 1972. It was Withers' second gold disc awarded track with confirmed sales in excess of three million.His single "Use Me" released in August 1972, became his third million seller, with the R.I.A.A. gold disc award taking place on October 12, 1972. His performance at Carnegie Hall on October 6 1972 was recorded, and released as the live album Bill Withers, Live at Carnegie Hall on November 30 1972. In 1974 Withers recorded the album +'Justments. Due to a legal dispute with the Sussex company, Withers was unable to record for some time thereafter. During this time, he wrote and produced two songs on the Gladys Knight & the Pips record I Feel a Song, and in October 1974 performed in concert together with James Brown, Etta James, and B. B. King four weeks prior to the historic Rumble in the Jungle fight between Foreman and Ali in Zaire. Footage of his performance was included in the 1996 documentary film, When We Were Kings, and he is heard on the accompanying soundtrack. Other footage of his performance is included in the 2008 documentary film Soul Power which is based on archival footage of the 1974 Zaire concert.
Views: 91627 PianistaItaliano
Highlights from Save Our State Tour Kickoff Event in Slab Fork
 
01:58
Yesterday, Governor Jim Justice visited Slab Fork, WV to launch his statewide Save Our State (S.O.S) tour. The Governor was joined by more than 200 West Virginians at the next phase of the Coalfields Expressway project. Governor Justice spelled out his plan for creating 48,000 road building jobs across West Virginia and his vision for saving the Mountain State. The Governor stressed that he wants to invest in major infrastructure projects, like completing the Coalfields Expressway, across West Virginia.
Bill Withers - Aint No Sunshine (Midnight Special - 1974)
 
02:24
William Harrison "Bill" Withers, Jr. (born July 4, 1938) is an American singer-songwriter and musician who performed and recorded from 1970 until 1985. Some of his best-known songs are "Lean on Me", "Ain't No Sunshine", "Use Me", "Just the Two of Us", "Lovely Day", and "Grandma's Hands". Withers was born the youngest of seven children in the small coal-mining town of Slab Fork, West Virginia. Raised in nearby Beckley, West Virginia, Withers was thirteen years old when his father died. He enlisted with the United States Navy at age eighteen and served for nine years, during which time he became interested in singing and writing songs. Soon after his discharge from the Navy in 1970, he relocated to Los Angeles for a musical career. Withers worked for several different companies while recording demo tapes with his own money, shopping them around and performing in clubs at night. When he debuted with the song "Ain't No Sunshine" he refused to resign his job because of his belief that the music business was a fickle industry and that he was still a novice compared to other acts. During early 1970 , Sussex Records Withers to a record deal and assigned Booker T. Jones to produce Withers' first album. Just as I Am was released in 1971 with the tracks "Ain't No Sunshine" and "Grandma's Hands" as singles. The album features Stephen Stills playing lead guitar. The album was a success and Withers began touring with a band assembled from members of The Watts 103rd Street Rhythm Band: drummer James Gadson, guitarist Benorce Blackmon, keyboardist Ray Jackson, and bassist Melvin Dunlap. At the 14th annual Grammy Awards on Tuesday, March 14, 1972, Withers won a Grammy Award for Best R&B Song for "Ain't No Sunshine." The track had already sold over one million copies, and was awarded a gold disc by the R.I.A.A. in September 1971. Withers recorded his second album, Still Bill. The single "Lean on Me" went to number one the week of July 8, 1972. It was Withers second gold disc awarded track with confirmed sales in excess of three million. His single "Use Me" released in August 1972, became his third million seller, with the R.I.A.A. gold disc award taking place on October 12, 1972. A Friday, October 6, 1972 performance on a rainy night was recorded for the live album Bill Withers, Live at Carnegie Hall released November 30, 1972. In 1974 Withers recorded the album, Justments. But he became involved in a legal dispute with the Sussex company and was unable to record for several years. Withers signed with Columbia Records in 1981. His first release with the label, Making Music, Making Friends, included the single "She's Lonely" which was featured in the film Looking for Mr. Goodbar. During the next three years he released an album each year with Naked & Warm (1976), Menagerie (1977, containing the successful Lovely Day) and Bout Love (1978) and Get On Down, the latter song was also on Looking for Mr. Goodbar soundtrack. Withers concentrated on joint projects between 1977 and 1985, including the successful "Just the Two of Us", with jazz saxophonist Grover Washington, Jr., which was released during June 1980. It won a Grammy on February 24, 1982. Withers next did Soul Shadows with The Crusaders, and In the Name of Love with Ralph MacDonald, the latter being nominated for a Grammy for vocal performance. In 1985 came Watching You, Watching Me, which featured the Top 40 rated Rhythm&Blues single "Oh Yeah". Withers ended his business association with Columbia Records after this release, which as of 2010 is his last studio album. In 1988, a new version of "Lovely Day" from the 1977 Menagerie album, titled "Lovely Day (Sunshine Mix)" and remixed by Ben Liebrand, reached the Top 10 in the United Kingdom, leading to Withers' performance on the long-running Top of the Pops that year. The original release had scored #2 in the UK in 1973, and the re-release scored to #1. In 1987, he received his ninth Grammy award nomination and on March 2, 1988 his third Grammy for Best Rhythm and Blues Song as songwriter for the re-recording of Lean On Me by Club Nouveau on their debut album Life, Love and Pain, released in 1986 on Warner Bros. Records. In 2007, "Lean On Me" was inducted into the Grammy Hall of Fame. SOURCE: Wikipedia PLEASE NOTE: I divided my uploads among multiple channels, Bookmark this link in your browser for instant access to an index with links to all of John1948's oldies classics. LINK: http://john1948.wikifoundry.com/page/John1948%27s+Youtube+Index
Views: 34377 John1948TwoA1
Bill Withers - Use Me
 
04:51
William Harrison "Bill" Withers, Jr. (born July 4, 1938) is an American singer-songwriter and musician who performed and recorded from 1970 until 1985. Some of his best-known songs are "Lean on Me", "Ain't No Sunshine", "Use Me", "Just the Two of Us", "Lovely Day", and "Grandma's Hands". Withers was born the youngest of seven children in the small coal-mining town of Slab Fork, West Virginia. Raised in nearby Beckley, West Virginia, Withers was thirteen years old when his father died. He enlisted with the United States Navy at age eighteen and served for nine years, during which time he became interested in singing and writing songs. Soon after his discharge from the Navy in 1970, he relocated to Los Angeles for a musical career. Withers worked for several different companies while recording demo tapes with his own money, shopping them around and performing in clubs at night. When he debuted with the song "Ain't No Sunshine" he refused to resign his job because of his belief that the music business was a fickle industry and that he was still a novice compared to other acts. During early 1970 , Sussex Records Withers to a record deal and assigned Booker T. Jones to produce Withers' first album. Just as I Am was released in 1971 with the tracks "Ain't No Sunshine" and "Grandma's Hands" as singles. The album features Stephen Stills playing lead guitar. The album was a success and Withers began touring with a band assembled from members of The Watts 103rd Street Rhythm Band: drummer James Gadson, guitarist Benorce Blackmon, keyboardist Ray Jackson, and bassist Melvin Dunlap. At the 14th annual Grammy Awards on Tuesday, March 14, 1972, Withers won a Grammy Award for Best R&B Song for "Ain't No Sunshine." The track had already sold over one million copies, and was awarded a gold disc by the R.I.A.A. in September 1971. Withers recorded his second album, Still Bill. The single "Lean on Me" went to number one the week of July 8, 1972. It was Withers second gold disc awarded track with confirmed sales in excess of three million. His single "Use Me" released in August 1972, became his third million seller, with the R.I.A.A. gold disc award taking place on October 12, 1972. A Friday, October 6, 1972 performance on a rainy night was recorded for the live album Bill Withers, Live at Carnegie Hall released November 30, 1972. In 1974 Withers recorded the album, Justments. But he became involved in a legal dispute with the Sussex company and was unable to record for several years. Withers signed with Columbia Records in 1981. His first release with the label, Making Music, Making Friends, included the single "She's Lonely" which was featured in the film Looking for Mr. Goodbar. During the next three years he released an album each year with Naked & Warm (1976), Menagerie (1977, containing the successful Lovely Day) and Bout Love (1978) and Get On Down, the latter song was also on Looking for Mr. Goodbar soundtrack. Withers concentrated on joint projects between 1977 and 1985, including the successful "Just the Two of Us", with jazz saxophonist Grover Washington, Jr., which was released during June 1980. It won a Grammy on February 24, 1982. Withers next did Soul Shadows with The Crusaders, and In the Name of Love with Ralph MacDonald, the latter being nominated for a Grammy for vocal performance. In 1985 came Watching You, Watching Me, which featured the Top 40 rated Rhythm&Blues single "Oh Yeah". Withers ended his business association with Columbia Records after this release, which as of 2010 is his last studio album. In 1988, a new version of "Lovely Day" from the 1977 Menagerie album, titled "Lovely Day (Sunshine Mix)" and remixed by Ben Liebrand, reached the Top 10 in the United Kingdom, leading to Withers' performance on the long-running Top of the Pops that year. The original release had scored #2 in the UK in 1973, and the re-release scored to #1. In 1987, he received his ninth Grammy award nomination and on March 2, 1988 his third Grammy for Best Rhythm and Blues Song as songwriter for the re-recording of Lean On Me by Club Nouveau on their debut album Life, Love and Pain, released in 1986 on Warner Bros. Records. In 2007, "Lean On Me" was inducted into the Grammy Hall of Fame. SOURCE: Wikipedia PLEASE NOTE: I divided my uploads among multiple channels, Bookmark this link in your browser for instant access to an index with links to all of John1948's oldies classics. LINK: http://john1948.wikifoundry.com/page/John1948%27s+Youtube+Index
Views: 36411 John1948TwoA1
Who Does Patrick Morrisey Really Represent?
 
01:01
This ad makes clear that Patrick Morrisey is associated with drug distributors who have knowingly distributed millions of unneeded drugs into West Virginia. These so called pain killing drugs cause far more pain for West Virginia residents than they relieve.    As West Virginians, we are all sickened by the drug epidemic. We are also angry that our state leads the nation in drug overdose deaths per capita. Morrisey and his wife's firm have lobbied on behalf of these companies despite his claiming he wants to stop our state’s drug epidemic. Lobbying for a company that is distributing millions of unneeded drugs is not going to stop the distribution of unneeded drugs. We do not need as our Senator a man from New Jersey that has represented drug distributors and accepts campaign contributions from lobbyists for abortionists. Morrisey denies the facts and wants us to believe that he does not benefit from his family receiving hundreds of thousands of dollars from drug distributors and Planned Parenthood. West Virginians know better.
Views: 1736 Don Blankenship
How To Play Piano: Bill Withers "Just The Two Of Us" Piano Tutorial by Ramin Yousefi
 
02:05
http://www.freemusicteacher.com/ How To Play Piano: Bill Withers "Just The Two Of Us" Piano Tutorial by Ramin Yousefi You Can Learn Piano From Basic to Advance by Watching These Music Clips William Harrison "Bill" Withers, Jr. (born July 4, 1938) is an American singer-songwriter and musician who performed and recorded from 1970 until 1985. He recorded a number of major hits, including "Lean on Me", "Ain't No Sunshine", "Use Me", "Just the Two of Us", "Lovely Day", and "Grandma's Hands". Withers' life was the subject of the 2009 documentary film Still Bill. In April 2015, he was inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame. Withers was born the youngest of six children in the small coal-mining town of Slab Fork, West Virginia. Raised in nearby Beckley, West Virginia, he was thirteen years old when his father died. Withers enlisted with the United States Navy at the age of 18 and served for nine years, during which time he became interested in singing and writing songs. Discharged from the Navy in 1965, he relocated to Los Angeles in 1967 for a musical career. Withers worked as an assembler for several different companies, including Douglas Aircraft Corporation, while recording demo tapes with his own money, shopping them around and performing in clubs at night. When he debuted with the song "Ain't No Sunshine" he refused to resign from his job because of his belief that the music business was a fickle industry "Just the Two of Us" is a song by American rapper Will Smith. It was released as the fourth single from his debut solo studio album, Big Willie Style (1997). The song was inspired by Bill Withers' and Grover Washington, Jr.'s love song of the same title; Smith's version samples and incorporates lyrics from the original. Instead of love between a couple, "Just the Two of Us" focuses on the relationship between a father and son. The song reached number 20 in the U.S. on the Billboard Hot 100, as well as number six on the Hot 100 Airplay. It was also a Top 5 hit in the UK, reaching number two. "Just the Two of Us" was one of Smith's biggest solo hits. Smith originally wrote a children's book with the same title and lyrics. For his album, he performed it in rap form. Instrumentation was provided by "Sauce" from the R&B group "Somethin' for the People". The song was parodied by Dr. Evil in the 1999 film Austin Powers: The Spy Who Shagged Me. The accompanying music video features Smith playing with his son, Trey, as well as numerous clips of several other famous men with their children.
Views: 24543 Free Music Teacher
Adkins Fork Campaign - Tell Banks to Stop Funding MTR
 
03:00
The Blair Mountain Battlefield in Logan County, West Virginia, is an extremely important part of US History. Companies such as Arch Coal, with financial backing from some of the largest banks, are attempting to destroy the battlefield with MTR. In addition these operations have already decimated much of the community of Blair. The Adkins Fork permit sits directly above the town of Blair and is in the center of one of the most important parts of the battlefield. Take a stand today. Tell banks to stop funding operations that destroy communities, people's health, our environment, and our heritage. Sign our petition here: http://signon.org/sign/stop-financing-the-destructi Go to our website to learn more: www.blairmountain.org
Views: 384 Blair Mountain
Icy highwqy 219 West Virginia
 
01:56
Created on July 25, 2010 using FlipShare.
Views: 144 floydturley
Minelink.com
 
00:15
Minelink.com is a service provided by Phillips Machine Service, Inc. Access underground mining equipment from any internet-ready device! Visit: http://www.phillipsmachine.com "Twenty-Four Hour Service" was the slogan painted on the 1,600 foot, two-bay garage in Glen Daniel, West Virginia, when Jack and Jim Phillips opened Phillips Machine Service. The date was June 1, 1976, and the sky was the limit for what could be accomplished through this small business. In 1979, Phillips Machine Service moved to Harper Park in Beckley, West Virginia and Tom Cushman joined the Phillips team as Vice President of Marketing. Expansions continued at the Beckley facility throughout the 1980s and 1990s. Then in 2000, Phillips introduced their first OEM product at the Las Vegas MINExpo. The Freedom® Car was designed to meet the increased haulage capacity requirements of today's coal mine. This machine can be provided with battery power or cable power, as a new or rebuilt shuttle coal car; whatever is required for our customer's application. In 2002, Phillips branched out into the international market, opening Shanxi Phillips in China. 2007 brought more international growth with the start of a sales office in South Africa. That year also included managerial changes, as Bruce Dickerson was appointed Vice President of Operations. Expansion moved toward the western United States when Phillips opened a manufacturing facility in Delta, Colorado in 2008. That year, another Phillips first was revealed at the Las Vegas MINExpo -- the PM15DE Diesel Electric shuttle car. 2009 ushered in more changes, as Phillips Machine South Africa added manufacturing to their repertoire. A larger shop space was built there in 2011, to accommodate a greater workload. On February 23, 2011, Phillips acquired The Combs Group, Inc, adding office and shop locations in Tennessee and Kentucky. Formerly owned and operated by John and Susan Combs, The Combs Group specializes in rebuilding underground mining machinery, associated part sales, machining, fabrication, hydraulics and chrome plating. Phillips retains The Combs Group as an operating subsidiary. Now nearly four decades in the making, Phillips Machine Service, Inc. has grown into one of the largest full service companies of its type in the industry. Quality is our number one priority. This commitment has gained us a reputation that is second to none. Our company is involved in almost all phases of repairs, remanufacture, fabrication, development and sales of mining machinery. Some specific areas of operation include the following: repair and remanufacturing of cutter drums; rebuild of continuous miners, roof bolters, scoops, etc; rebuild of complete longwall faces; new manufacture and remanufacture of shuttle cars; the sale of used equipment, and service exchange assemblies. Phillips offers the exchange of completely rebuilt continuous miners and shuttle cars of most currently popular models, regardless of original manufacturer. A warranty equivalent to new machine warranty is included with all rebuilt and remanufactured machines. The primary reason for the success story at Phillips Machine is our personnel. The management team leads a dedicated work force of nearly 300 employees worldwide. The skill and expertise of our team is what makes Phillips an important player in the coal industry both nationally and globally. Through their dedication, we have developed a cutting edge technology base. The Phillips Philosophy is "To get our customers back in production as soon as possible. We are committed to listen to our customers needs through underground inspection and consulting." The resulting innovations have provided for our continued growth.
Views: 124 phillipsmachine
Why Fayette County Banned Frack Waste
 
39:45
You'd think after West Virginia's infamous MCHM leak that this Fayette County contamination would have been prevented. Unfortunately our political leaders never learned a thing. Even after permitted coal slurry waste injection wells ruined the water for the communities of Rawl, Merrimac, Sprigg, Lick Creek, Prenter and others. Amazing. Now the waste from oil and gas injection wells are being permitted to spoil our sourcewaters, and that stuff contains far worse toxic pollutants than coal slurry. Incredible. After the infamous Dunkard Creek fish kill back in 2009, the WV DEP decided to throttle back on letting companies casually dump frack waste directly into our creeks. Strangely, neither the DEP nor their mercenary WVU "research team" never got around to testing the Dunkard, its sediment, nor even its surviving biota for signs of the compounds that are commonly known to be in frack waste. Not the radioactivity, nor heavy metals nor even the endocrine disruptors. Now the fish population is reportedly gaining in Dunkard. But no one really knows what eating them will do to you. And I've always wondered if the venison in the Dunkard Creek area is tainted. Now everyone in Fayette County's Wolf Creek watershed is at risk. Did I mention that last time I counted there were over 500 Class II injection wells in West Virginia? The WV DEP will tell you not all of those are disposal wells. But what they won't tell you is that they don't monitor what goes into -or leaks from- the other Class II types any more than than they do those "brine disposal" wells in Fayette County. Just the other day, Stanford University researchers published their study of Pavillion, Wyoming fracking and the area aquifers. They determined that "there may be widespread impact to underground sources of drinking water as a result of unconventional oil and gas extraction." Stanford's scientists in Wyoming heroically stepped up after the EPA had abandoned that community years earlier. Here in the Mountain State, West Virginia University researchers have a history of never quite being able to connect industrial waste with area pollution and regulatory agency shortfalls. As a result, the health in communities all across West Virginia is among the lowest in the nation. New York and Maryland banned horizontal hydrofracking altogether after determining the extreme risk to the health of their communities wasn't worth the revenues it would bring in. They did so because the doctors, scientists, and other health professionals in those states joined together to warn the population and urge the political leaders. West Virginia's health care professionals are apparently cowed by the aggressively pro-industry legislation. The effect that the infamous Halliburton Dirty Secret Water amendment passed by the Democratic-controlled WV Statehouse back in 2013 has been devastating. see http://tinyurl.com/WV-GASOCRACY Our communities have long needed new leadership to change the direction of the WV DEP and WV DHHR. Unfortunately, we will never find that leadership within the two mercenary political parties that have been running West Virginia over the last hundred years. Yet West Virginians are not turning out on election day. Instead, they're just leaving the state in disgust. Voting for the right candidate is an act of self-survival. Not voting is an act of capitulation.
Views: 128 Mountain Party