Home
Search results “Coal mining contractors in beckley wv”
In Ohio's Coal Country, Murray Energy Fights On (1)
 
01:36
“How many of you have been laid off at least once in your career as coal miners?” Robert Murray asks a group of coal mining foreman assembled at the St. Clairsville, Ohio headquarters of Murray Energy. Nearly every hand in the room goes up in response to the question. The 75 year old is CEO and President of Murray Energy, one of America’s largest coal companies. Picture Credits: Energy production system (Credit: Aspen Snowmass), Methane capturing system (Credit: Aspen Snowmass), Exhibition Coal Mine - Beckley, WV (Credit: Trixie.In.Dixie), EPA DC Climate Action Crowd 5 (Credit: Karen Murphy), Coal power plant (Credit: David Shane/Creative Commons), Coal-fired power plant (Credit: Mike Lavoie/Creative Commons), EPA sign (Credit: TexasGOPVote.com/Creative Commons)
Out Of My Mind - story from 1920's coal mine wars in West Virginia
 
03:54
OUT OF MY MIND is available for download from CD Baby, iTunes, Spotify, Amazon, among others. https://www.cdbaby.com/cd/dancunningham4 The song was recognized in six different songwrtiting competitions - OUT OF MY MIND is a tragic tale from the Appalachian coal-fields. The story told in this song is fictional, but the background is drawn from the history of coal mining in West Virginia around 1920. When the miners attempted to unionize, the mining company would hire companies like the Baldwin-Felts Detective Agency to provide security. Among other duties, these "hired guns" would evict miners (and their families) from company housing when they no longer worked for the company. A miner might lose his job for involvement union organizing, and of course, a dead man was no longer an employee. In this song, the narrator tries to stop his mother's eviction and the confrontation ends in violence. “The Baldwin-Felts came calling The week my daddy died Put my momma on the street I tried my best to help her but I killed a man instead” (CONCERNING TRAINS and this song) It is a familiar sight deep in the Appalachians, particularly in years past. In those narrow valleys of the coal fields, there may be a road, a creek or river, and a railroad track, with scant room for much else on that narrow ribbon of "flat" land between the mountains. The sound of the train winding thru the valley is part of the environment. It is the background music for every activity in those small communities. Of, course we end the song with some coal train imagery. “I set out on the rails tonight I have to get away the wheels, they click, the lonely whistle blows A snake of coal cars follows me , black as my wicked deed” Out Of My Mind, received attention from six different songwriting competitions and John Francis (2006 ASCAP Sammy Cahn Lyricist of the Year) said, "OUT OF MY MIND is a very cool, dark, murder ballad. Artful. Your voice is very compelling". -Regional finalist 2010  New Song/Mountain Stage contest  -Story Song finalist 2010  Independent Music Awards  -Semi-Finalist  Acoustic Roundtable 2011 Worldwide Search  -Semi-Finalist 2011  SONG OF THE YEAR contest  -2012 East Coast Songwriters  Honorable Mention Americana/Folk -2017 Just Plain Folks Music Awards  Americana nomination You can search the internet for more information West Virginia coal wars and the Baldwin Felts Detective Agency. A good overview of the 1920-1921 Mine War is provide in a book: THUNDER IN THE MOUNTAINS by Lon Savage The labor unrest leading up to and including the Matewan Massacre is dramatized in the move MATEWAN, directed by John Sales “Out Of My Mind" is copyright 2010 pickndawg music
Views: 345 Dan Cunningham
Arch Coal #1
 
02:37
Views: 801 Irontrax
Sr.'s MTR March ~ Day 3 ~ Let the Games Begin
 
07:13
Two young people unfurled a banner which read, Yes, Coal is Killing West Virginia's Communities off of the Walker CAT building in Belle, W.Va. Saturday afternoon. The youth are affiliated with Climate Ground Zero and say they acted in autonomous solidarity with the Senior Citizens March to End Mountaintop Removal, are affiliated with Climate Ground Zero. The marchers passed the Walker CAT building on todays route. The March received its first physical harassment today. At 2pm a driver threw a cup of water on Micklem, who says he took it in stride. The march has attracted both support and derision from passerbys. Marchers who so choose still plan to commit an act of non-violent civil disobedience to protest mountaintop removal at the conclusion of the march at Mammoth Coal Company on Monday afternoon. http://mattea.com
Views: 1044 FluxRostrum
Former West Virginia coal miner with black lung by Jessica Guay
 
03:00
By: Jessica Guay As battle to save black lung benefits continues, miner shares personal struggles. James Boner is 83 years old and spent more than 40 years in the coal mines in Kanawha County. After all these years, he remembers working hard in the mines for his family. Now he is left to deal with the side effects of black lung, like thousands of other coal miners in West Virginia.
Views: 406 Jessica Guay
Former coal miner, Michael Whitten, on strip mining, unions, black lung disease
 
08:33
Michael Whitten worked in West Virginia's coal industry for 8 years, but his family has been impacted by coal for generations. This is part of his story, told in June of 2017.
One Breath At A Time; A Coal Miner's Perspective on Black Lung
 
01:15
Gary Hairston, a resident of Beckley, West Virginia shares his story of his life as a coal miner. For more on this story check out Lori Kersey's article in the Monday, Jan. 16, 2017 edition of the Charleston Gazette-Mail. http://wvgazettemail.com
Coal River Mountain
 
12:20
Researchers say mountaintop removal coal mining is making people sick across Appalachia. Learn more about this story at www.newsy.com/72890 See more at https://www.newsy.com/topics/revolt/ Like Newsy on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/newsyvideos/ Follow Newsy on Twitter: www.twitter.com/newsyvideos
Views: 904 Newsy
Don Blankenship Releases and Discusses Secret MSHA Emails in Beckley
 
12:24
In Beckley last night, I revealed some previously undisclosed Mine Safety and Health Administration (MSHA) emails. These emails are among those that the federal prosecutors withheld from my defense attorneys in violation of what is known as Brady material disclosure rules. The emails were improperly withheld for more than two years, and support several important matters. Please watch the video where I discuss them.
Views: 820 Don Blankenship
Who Does Patrick Morrisey Really Represent?
 
01:01
This ad makes clear that Patrick Morrisey is associated with drug distributors who have knowingly distributed millions of unneeded drugs into West Virginia. These so called pain killing drugs cause far more pain for West Virginia residents than they relieve.    As West Virginians, we are all sickened by the drug epidemic. We are also angry that our state leads the nation in drug overdose deaths per capita. Morrisey and his wife's firm have lobbied on behalf of these companies despite his claiming he wants to stop our state’s drug epidemic. Lobbying for a company that is distributing millions of unneeded drugs is not going to stop the distribution of unneeded drugs. We do not need as our Senator a man from New Jersey that has represented drug distributors and accepts campaign contributions from lobbyists for abortionists. Morrisey denies the facts and wants us to believe that he does not benefit from his family receiving hundreds of thousands of dollars from drug distributors and Planned Parenthood. West Virginians know better.
Views: 1708 Don Blankenship
Coal City VFD
 
02:32
Jr. Putting lemon juice in the tank and stirring it.
Views: 191 metro382
aryl Bank is an investment broker with Bank, Tank, & Shank a full ser
 
02:34
aryl Bank is an investment broker with Bank, Tank, & Shank a full service financial services firm serving the regional area of southern West Virginia. From the corporate offices in Beckley, Daryl manages a large number of clients throughout the southern part of the state. Daryl is very customer service oriented and makes a personal effort to visit every client at least twice a year, even if it means traveling to his or her hometown. He usually travels to different county seats throughout the state and stays a couple of days in a local hotel so clients can visit him in these various locations. With his laptop Daryl can access account information and the latest information about traded securities using any number of software programs. His clients also enjoy seeing the demonstrations of portfolio programs for their specific accounts. Daryl also uses these trips to visit West Virginia companies for potential investment possibilities. He likes to know the companies he invests in, and wants to get a competitive advantage in any investment decision. Since not many investment brokers are taking the time to visit some of the smaller publicly traded West Virginia companies, Daryl feels that he knows substantially more about these companies and their potential for excess returns than the general market. He is always looking for undervalued opportunities for investment purposes so that his customers can also enjoy many happy returns on their portfolios. On a recent trip to Curveintheroad in the far southwestern part of the state, Daryl had the opportunity to visit three companies. He has been able to maintain a friendship with the top management of these companies and was given access to important financial data, which he planned to use to determine stock valuation. The first company is Dig Deep, a regional coal mining company. They have been in operation for over 20 years and have the mining rights to over 100 square miles of land. Most of the coal they mine is the more clean
Views: 2 fxgbx fbxf
West Virginia environmental activists hit coal mining where it hurts: banks
 
02:35
Mountaintop removal brings devastation and danger like no other method of mining, showering nearby homes with toxic dust and polluting water supplies. Wary of footing bills for future lawsuits over resulting damages, banks are heeding the words of environmental activists and starting to pull funding from the industry.
Views: 104 arayalrio
The Truth behind Friends of Coal - It's  NOT what people think
 
14:31
Lots of people have Friends of Coal license plates and stickers, but they don't realize that Friends of Coal has nothing to do with actually helping coal miners, it's just about helping the companies who continue to use and abuse coal miners for financial gain. References: Friends of Coal www.friendsofcoal.org West Virginia Coal Association www.wvcoal.org Delegate Caputo Fights for Mine Safety http://www.legis.state.wv.us/news_release/newsrelease_RecordView1.cfm?RecordID=714 MSHA holds hearing on mine dust rules. http://www.register-herald.com/news/msha-holds-hearing-on-mine-dust-rules/article_2d78494a-9efa-59b0-b700-b080307beebb.html Coal miners still die of blackl lung https://www.marketplace.org/2013/12/12/business/coal-miners-still-die-black-lung-2013-new-rules-could-change Despite widow's plea, board rejects 'proximity' device rules http://www.wvgazettemail.com/News/201310030034 Friends of Coal Kentucky www.friendsofcoalky.com Count on Coal www.countoncoal.org
Charleston West Virginia Personal Injury Attorneys - DiTrapano, Barrett & DiPiero
 
01:06
Charleston, West Virginia Personal Injury Attorneys http://www.dbdlawfirm.com/ f you or a loved one was injured due to someone else's negligence, you may be entitled to compensation. However, negligent parties—insurance companies, employers, businesses—typically will not pay damages unless ordered to do so. You need compassionate lawyers who understand the effect of your injuries on your life, and are committed to aggressively fighting on your behalf. At DiTrapano, Barrett & DiPiero, PLLC, we work tirelessly on behalf of victims in cases of the following: Personal injury, Medical malpractice and Trucking accident.
Views: 325 Lawyers.com
American Trucker- West Virginia
 
01:37
One fine April day
Views: 507 JBG TRAVELS
AMERICAN EPIC | 1920’s Coal Miners strike | PBS
 
01:06
Official website: http://to.pbs.org/2pzOUDG | #AmericanEpic Bill Williamson recalls the 1920’s Coal Miners strike in Logan, West Virginia Subscribe to the PBS channel for more clips: https://www.youtube.com/user/PBS/featured Enjoy full episodes of your favorite PBS programs at pbs.org/video. Like PBS on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pbs/ Follow PBS on Twitter: https://twitter.com/PBS Follow PBS on Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/PBS Official website: http://www.pbs.org/ Get PBS merchandise: http://www.shoppbs.org/home/index.jsp Go inside one of the greatest-ever untold stories: how the ordinary people of America were given the opportunity to make records for the first time.
Views: 2661 PBS
Phillips Machine Service
 
03:25
Visit: http://www.phillipsmachine.com "Twenty-Four Hour Service" was the slogan painted on the 1,600 foot, two-bay garage in Glen Daniel, West Virginia, when Jack and Jim Phillips opened Phillips Machine Service. The date was June 1, 1976, and the sky was the limit for what could be accomplished through this small business. In 1979, Phillips Machine Service moved to Harper Park in Beckley, West Virginia and Tom Cushman joined the Phillips team as Vice President of Marketing. Expansions continued at the Beckley facility throughout the 1980s and 1990s. Then in 2000, Phillips introduced their first OEM product at the Las Vegas MINExpo. The Freedom® Car was designed to meet the increased haulage capacity requirements of today's coal mine. This machine can be provided with battery power or cable power, as a new or rebuilt shuttle coal car; whatever is required for our customer's application. In 2002, Phillips branched out into the international market, opening Shanxi Phillips in China. 2007 brought more international growth with the start of a sales office in South Africa. That year also included managerial changes, as Bruce Dickerson was appointed Vice President of Operations. Expansion moved toward the western United States when Phillips opened a manufacturing facility in Delta, Colorado in 2008. That year, another Phillips first was revealed at the Las Vegas MINExpo -- the PM15DE Diesel Electric shuttle car. 2009 ushered in more changes, as Phillips Machine South Africa added manufacturing to their repertoire. A larger shop space was built there in 2011, to accommodate a greater workload. On February 23, 2011, Phillips acquired The Combs Group, Inc, adding office and shop locations in Tennessee and Kentucky. Formerly owned and operated by John and Susan Combs, The Combs Group specializes in rebuilding underground mining machinery, associated part sales, machining, fabrication, hydraulics and chrome plating. Phillips retains The Combs Group as an operating subsidiary. Now nearly four decades in the making, Phillips Machine Service, Inc. has grown into one of the largest full service companies of its type in the industry. Quality is our number one priority. This commitment has gained us a reputation that is second to none. Our company is involved in almost all phases of repairs, remanufacture, fabrication, development and sales of mining machinery. Some specific areas of operation include the following: repair and remanufacturing of cutter drums; rebuild of continuous miners, roof bolters, scoops, etc; rebuild of complete longwall faces; new manufacture and remanufacture of shuttle cars; the sale of used equipment, and service exchange assemblies. Phillips offers the exchange of completely rebuilt continuous miners and shuttle cars of most currently popular models, regardless of original manufacturer. A warranty equivalent to new machine warranty is included with all rebuilt and remanufactured machines. The primary reason for the success story at Phillips Machine is our personnel. The management team leads a dedicated work force of nearly 300 employees worldwide. The skill and expertise of our team is what makes Phillips an important player in the coal industry both nationally and globally. Through their dedication, we have developed a cutting edge technology base. The Phillips Philosophy is "To get our customers back in production as soon as possible. We are committed to listen to our customers needs through underground inspection and consulting." The resulting innovations have provided for our continued growth.
Views: 3288 phillipsmachine
Icy highwqy 219 West Virginia
 
01:56
Created on July 25, 2010 using FlipShare.
Views: 140 floydturley
BILL WITHERS LOVELY DAY MARLEY MARL REMIX 2010
 
04:38
Withers was born the youngest of six children in the small coal-mining town of Slab Fork, West Virginia. Raised in nearby Beckley, West Virginia, Withers was thirteen years old when his father died. He enlisted with the United States Navy at age eighteen and served for nine years, during which time he became interested in singing and writing songs. Soon after his discharge from the Navy in 1965, he relocated to Los Angeles for a musical career.[1] Withers worked as an assembler for several different companies, including Douglas Aircraft Corporation, while recording demo tapes with his own money, shopping them around and performing in clubs at night. When he debuted with the song "Ain't No Sunshine" he refused to resign his job because of his belief that the music business was a fickle industry and that he was still a novice compared to other acts.
Views: 9161 TheM2D2
Birla Mines
 
00:55
Views: 52 Rahul Soni
Bill Withers - Who Is He (And What Is He to You)
 
03:18
Bill Withers - Who Is He (And What Is He to You) William Harrison "Bill" Withers, Jr. (born July 4, 1938) is an American singer-songwriter and musician who performed and recorded from 1970 until 1985. Some of his best-known songs are "Lean on Me", "Ain't No Sunshine", "Use Me", "Just the Two of Us", "Lovely Day", and "Grandma's Hands". His life was recently the subject of the documentary film Still Bill. Withers was born the youngest of thirteen children in the small coal-mining town of Slab Fork, West Virginia. Raised in nearby Beckley, West Virginia, Withers was thirteen years old when his father died. He enlisted with the United States Navy at age eighteen and served for nine years, during which time he became interested in singing and writing songs. Soon after his discharge from the Navy in 1970, he relocated to Los Angeles for a musical career. Withers worked as an assembler for several different companies, including Douglas Aircraft Corporation, while recording demo tapes with his own money, shopping them around and performing in clubs at night. When he debuted with the song "Ain't No Sunshine" he refused to resign his job because of his belief that the music business was a fickle industry and that he was still a novice compared to other acts. Lyrics A man we passed just tried to stare me down And when I looked at you, you looked at the ground I don't know who he is but I think that you do Dag gummit Who is he and what is he to you I have something in my heart and in your eyes Tell me he's not someone just passin' by And when you cleared your throat was that your cue Dag gummit dag Who is he and what is he to you Now when I add the sum of you and me I get confused and I keep coming up with three You're too much for one man but not enough for two Dag gummit Who is he and what is he to you Hey you tell me man don't have not much for intuition That what you really think or are you wishin' Before you wreck your old home be certain of the new Dag gummit Who is he and what is he to you Dag gummit Who is he and what is he to you Dag gummit Who is he and what is he to you Dag gummit Who is he and what is he to you
Views: 1411011 Alf
Mountain Hero: Fighting Mountaintop Removal
 
59:56
From living with contaminated water in his own home as a child, to being forced out of his house for speaking out against the coal company, Junior Walk's path to activism was not an easy one. His courage and clear voice calling for change has been widely recognized. Today Walk works with Coal River Mountain Watch, Keeper of the Mountains Foundation, and RAMPS (Radical Action for Mountain People's Survival) to end mountaintop removal mining. He travels the country with the Keeper of the Mountains Foundation educating people about the long-term environmental, health and community degradation caused by coal mining. He was a recipient of the prestigious Brower Youth Awards in 2011. The late renowned environmentalist and climber David Brower famously said, "Tough mountains build bold leaders." Junior Walk is one of the many courageous and bold leaders whom the Appalachian Mountains have built. Also featuring Chase Brown, Keeper of the Mountains Foundation.
McDowell County Partnership Announcement
 
15:28
The AFT, the Governor of West Virginia, and 40-Plus Partners announced an unprecedented, long-term partnership to transform McDowell County West Virginia. "Reconnecting McDowell" is a comprehensive effort to make educational improvement.
Views: 490 AFTHQ
Aggreko partners with a one of a kind mining exhibition
 
02:12
The Diggers & Dealers Mining Forum is a leading annual conference that combines presentations by listed mining and exploration companies with a large exhibition area housing exhibitors from the sector. Aggreko has been a part of Diggers & Dealers for over 10 years as an exhibitor, a sponsor and a supplier, and this year we were proud to be there once again. Watch the video to see some highlights from this year's event.
Phillips Machine Service, Inc.
 
00:15
Visit: http://www.phillipsmachine.com "Twenty-Four Hour Service" was the slogan painted on the 1,600 foot, two-bay garage in Glen Daniel, West Virginia, when Jack and Jim Phillips opened Phillips Machine Service. The date was June 1, 1976, and the sky was the limit for what could be accomplished through this small business. In 1979, Phillips Machine Service moved to Harper Park in Beckley, West Virginia and Tom Cushman joined the Phillips team as Vice President of Marketing. Expansions continued at the Beckley facility throughout the 1980s and 1990s. Then in 2000, Phillips introduced their first OEM product at the Las Vegas MINExpo. The Freedom® Car was designed to meet the increased haulage capacity requirements of today's coal mine. This machine can be provided with battery power or cable power, as a new or rebuilt shuttle coal car; whatever is required for our customer's application. In 2002, Phillips branched out into the international market, opening Shanxi Phillips in China. 2007 brought more international growth with the start of a sales office in South Africa. That year also included managerial changes, as Bruce Dickerson was appointed Vice President of Operations. Expansion moved toward the western United States when Phillips opened a manufacturing facility in Delta, Colorado in 2008. That year, another Phillips first was revealed at the Las Vegas MINExpo -- the PM15DE Diesel Electric shuttle car. 2009 ushered in more changes, as Phillips Machine South Africa added manufacturing to their repertoire. A larger shop space was built there in 2011, to accommodate a greater workload. On February 23, 2011, Phillips acquired The Combs Group, Inc, adding office and shop locations in Tennessee and Kentucky. Formerly owned and operated by John and Susan Combs, The Combs Group specializes in rebuilding underground mining machinery, associated part sales, machining, fabrication, hydraulics and chrome plating. Phillips retains The Combs Group as an operating subsidiary. Now nearly four decades in the making, Phillips Machine Service, Inc. has grown into one of the largest full service companies of its type in the industry. Quality is our number one priority. This commitment has gained us a reputation that is second to none. Our company is involved in almost all phases of repairs, remanufacture, fabrication, development and sales of mining machinery. Some specific areas of operation include the following: repair and remanufacturing of cutter drums; rebuild of continuous miners, roof bolters, scoops, etc; rebuild of complete longwall faces; new manufacture and remanufacture of shuttle cars; the sale of used equipment, and service exchange assemblies. Phillips offers the exchange of completely rebuilt continuous miners and shuttle cars of most currently popular models, regardless of original manufacturer. A warranty equivalent to new machine warranty is included with all rebuilt and remanufactured machines. The primary reason for the success story at Phillips Machine is our personnel. The management team leads a dedicated work force of nearly 300 employees worldwide. The skill and expertise of our team is what makes Phillips an important player in the coal industry both nationally and globally. Through their dedication, we have developed a cutting edge technology base. The Phillips Philosophy is "To get our customers back in production as soon as possible. We are committed to listen to our customers needs through underground inspection and consulting." The resulting innovations have provided for our continued growth.
Views: 145 phillipsmachine
WE TOURED THE WHIPPLE COMPANY STORE!MOST HAUNTED PLACE IN WEST VIRGINIA!
 
13:30
Hi Y'all! This is my first attempt at vlogging, so forgive it for being a bit awkward or not as edited as I would like! We visited the most haunted place in West Virginia, it has been recognized as being truly haunted by the SMITHSONIAN!!! I had no idea of the history of the building, and purposefully didn't research it so I would have no preconcieved notions or expectations. I'm glad we didn't know anything other than it was haunted, because our experiences were so strong and so accurate as to my 'flashes' that I am honestly still shaken! I hope when you come this way, you put the Whipple Company Store on your list of places to visit! The tour was fantastic, so educational, and not only will you have a spooky experience but you will learn the TRUTH about how the companies worked! Seems we've been mislead quite a bit about the mining companies and how they paid their workers, took care of the families, and the recreational activities the miners participated in! I forgot to mention that the WHIPPLE COMPANY STORE is the home of Minor League Baseball!!! Seems that all the companies had baseball teams, and the Cincinnati Red Stockings actually invited the mining companies to put their best players together and form a single team to 'take on' the Major League ball team! And the MINERS WON!!! They received a plaque stating just that, and after that, the 'Miner League' was born, but due to prejudice against the poor, uneducated workers the club took out the 'E' and put an 'O' in it's place! The tour is so enlightening, I can't say enough good about it! We definitely had paranormal experiences, but we learned a lot! All money from tours goes to upkeep and restoration of the store, and they have about 70,000 a year tour it! I hope you enjoy the video! I'm worn out! But as always, remember that I love you, and YOU LOVE YOU!!! Where to find me Twitter @MamaBethsWord SnapChat @MamaBethsWorld YouNow @MamaBethsWorld or regular post P.O. Box 125 Beaver, WV 25813
Views: 401 MamaBethsWorld
Minelink.com
 
00:15
Minelink.com is a service provided by Phillips Machine Service, Inc. Access underground mining equipment from any internet-ready device! Visit: http://www.phillipsmachine.com "Twenty-Four Hour Service" was the slogan painted on the 1,600 foot, two-bay garage in Glen Daniel, West Virginia, when Jack and Jim Phillips opened Phillips Machine Service. The date was June 1, 1976, and the sky was the limit for what could be accomplished through this small business. In 1979, Phillips Machine Service moved to Harper Park in Beckley, West Virginia and Tom Cushman joined the Phillips team as Vice President of Marketing. Expansions continued at the Beckley facility throughout the 1980s and 1990s. Then in 2000, Phillips introduced their first OEM product at the Las Vegas MINExpo. The Freedom® Car was designed to meet the increased haulage capacity requirements of today's coal mine. This machine can be provided with battery power or cable power, as a new or rebuilt shuttle coal car; whatever is required for our customer's application. In 2002, Phillips branched out into the international market, opening Shanxi Phillips in China. 2007 brought more international growth with the start of a sales office in South Africa. That year also included managerial changes, as Bruce Dickerson was appointed Vice President of Operations. Expansion moved toward the western United States when Phillips opened a manufacturing facility in Delta, Colorado in 2008. That year, another Phillips first was revealed at the Las Vegas MINExpo -- the PM15DE Diesel Electric shuttle car. 2009 ushered in more changes, as Phillips Machine South Africa added manufacturing to their repertoire. A larger shop space was built there in 2011, to accommodate a greater workload. On February 23, 2011, Phillips acquired The Combs Group, Inc, adding office and shop locations in Tennessee and Kentucky. Formerly owned and operated by John and Susan Combs, The Combs Group specializes in rebuilding underground mining machinery, associated part sales, machining, fabrication, hydraulics and chrome plating. Phillips retains The Combs Group as an operating subsidiary. Now nearly four decades in the making, Phillips Machine Service, Inc. has grown into one of the largest full service companies of its type in the industry. Quality is our number one priority. This commitment has gained us a reputation that is second to none. Our company is involved in almost all phases of repairs, remanufacture, fabrication, development and sales of mining machinery. Some specific areas of operation include the following: repair and remanufacturing of cutter drums; rebuild of continuous miners, roof bolters, scoops, etc; rebuild of complete longwall faces; new manufacture and remanufacture of shuttle cars; the sale of used equipment, and service exchange assemblies. Phillips offers the exchange of completely rebuilt continuous miners and shuttle cars of most currently popular models, regardless of original manufacturer. A warranty equivalent to new machine warranty is included with all rebuilt and remanufactured machines. The primary reason for the success story at Phillips Machine is our personnel. The management team leads a dedicated work force of nearly 300 employees worldwide. The skill and expertise of our team is what makes Phillips an important player in the coal industry both nationally and globally. Through their dedication, we have developed a cutting edge technology base. The Phillips Philosophy is "To get our customers back in production as soon as possible. We are committed to listen to our customers needs through underground inspection and consulting." The resulting innovations have provided for our continued growth.
Views: 123 phillipsmachine
Ain't no Sunshine  -  jazz piano
 
04:59
SPOTIFY: https://show.co/E4D6R4J Learn piano songs quickly and easily with this app: https://tinyurl.com/pianista-flowkey Dear friends listeners, here one of my version of the famous song of "Bill Withers", while I was playing in a morning (Brunch). The photo of the lone wolf, must prove the state of mind when she goes away. I hope you enjoy :-) You can also visit my other new channel: http://www.youtube.com/JustPianoforte There I just start to make some tutorials for Jazz musicians beginners, and more :-) More info about the Composer: William Harrison "Bill" Withers, Jr. (born July 4, 1938) is an American singer-songwriter and musician who performed and recorded from 1970 until 1985. He recorded a number of hits such as "Lean on Me", "Ain't No Sunshine", "Use Me", "Just the Two of Us", "Lovely Day", and "Grandma's Hands". His life was the subject of the 2009 documentary film Still Bill. Early life: Withers was born the youngest of six children in the small coal-mining town of Slab Fork, West Virginia. Raised in nearby Beckley, West Virginia, Withers was twelve years old when his father died. He enlisted with the United States Navy at age eighteen and served for nine years, during which time he became interested in singing and writing songs. Soon after his discharge from the Navy in 1965, he relocated to Los Angeles in 1967 for a musical career. Withers worked as an assembler for several different companies, including Douglas Aircraft Corporation, while recording demo tapes with his own money, shopping them around and performing in clubs at night. When he debuted with the song "Ain't No Sunshine" he refused to resign his job because of his belief that the music business was a fickle industry and that he was still a novice compared to other acts. Sussex Records: During early 1970, Withers' demonstration tape was audited favorably by Clarence Avant of Sussex Records. Avant signed Withers to a record deal and assigned Booker T. Jones to produce Withers' first album. Four three-hour studio sessions were planned to record the album, but funding caused the album to be recorded in three sessions with a six-month break between the second and final sessions. Just as I Am was released in 1971 with the tracks "Ain't No Sunshine" and "Grandma's Hands" as singles. The album features Stephen Stills playing lead guitar. The album was a success and Withers began touring with a band assembled from members of The Watts 103rd Street Rhythm Band: drummer James Gadson, guitarist Benorce Blackmon, keyboardist Ray Jackson, and bassist Melvin Dunlap. At the 14th annual Grammy Awards on Tuesday, March 14, 1972, Withers won a Grammy Award for Best R&B Song for "Ain't No Sunshine." The track had already sold over one million copies, and was awarded a platinum disc by the R.I.A.A. in September 1971. During a hiatus from touring, Withers recorded his second album, Still Bill. The single "Lean on Me" went to number one the week of July 8, 1972. It was Withers' second gold disc awarded track with confirmed sales in excess of three million.His single "Use Me" released in August 1972, became his third million seller, with the R.I.A.A. gold disc award taking place on October 12, 1972. His performance at Carnegie Hall on October 6 1972 was recorded, and released as the live album Bill Withers, Live at Carnegie Hall on November 30 1972. In 1974 Withers recorded the album +'Justments. Due to a legal dispute with the Sussex company, Withers was unable to record for some time thereafter. During this time, he wrote and produced two songs on the Gladys Knight & the Pips record I Feel a Song, and in October 1974 performed in concert together with James Brown, Etta James, and B. B. King four weeks prior to the historic Rumble in the Jungle fight between Foreman and Ali in Zaire. Footage of his performance was included in the 1996 documentary film, When We Were Kings, and he is heard on the accompanying soundtrack. Other footage of his performance is included in the 2008 documentary film Soul Power which is based on archival footage of the 1974 Zaire concert.
Views: 89371 PianistaItaliano
WRAP 25 dead in US mine blast, worst since 1984, reax; CEO s''bte
 
03:33
(6 Apr 2010) Montcoal, West Virginia 1. Wide shot police roadblock at entrance to Massey mine 2. Mid shot of building in Massey mine site 3. Close-up police officer talking to people in car Dry Creek, West Virginia NOTE: THESE SHOTS ARE NOT FROM MASSEY MINE 4. Various shots of coal from nearby site Montcoal, West Virginia 5. SOUNDBITE (English) Joe Manchin, Governor of West Virginia: "They''re telling me that the first hole could be as late as tomorrow evening before the first hole is down. Knowing what the conditions would be then to send the rescue teams in. So, it''s going to be a very long, slow process. Of course the families, you know, we went through the whole thing again about the 4 that we haven''t located. We have 18 people in the mine; 14 have been located and we know have been passed away, 4 we don''t know." 6. Manchin during briefing 7. SOUNDBITE (English) Kevin Stricklin, An administrator for the federal Mine Safety and Health Administration: "It''s quite evident that something went very wrong here for us to have the magnitude of this explosion. So, it''s apparent that something was wrong and I would just ask to give us an opportunity to conduct a full investigation and we''ll leave no stone unturned to get to the bottom and tell you exactly what was not going right here when this explosion did occur." Julian, West Virginia 8. Sign outside Massey Coal Services headquarters 9. SOUNDBITE (English) Don Blankenship, Massey Chief Executive: "When I first heard that there was CO (carbon monoxide) at the mine, I was hopeful it was just a smoking bearing or something. But we''ve scrambled to get in place and of course as the seriousness of it progressed we''ve become more and more concerned and of course we launched the rescue effort at an early stage." 10. Cutaway of interview 11. SOUNDBITE (English) Don Blankenship, Massey Chief Executive: "Well, it''s not possible to put production ahead of safety because you can''t be productive if you''re not safe." 12. Pan of headquarters Montcoal, West Virginia 13. SOUNDBITE (English) Candice Atkins, Family friend of one of the miners: "Profit over human life is what I think; all they care about is money. Cause all the citations they did not care of it, money over human life. That''s basically my opinion." Dry Creek, West Virginia NOTE: THESE SHOTS ARE NOT FROM MASSEY MINE 14. Pan of coal Whitesville, West Virginia 15. SOUNDBITE (English) Name not known, Resident: "My brothers, my dad; all of them was miners. My son used to work in the mines, which, you know, he had got hurt. He is not working in the mines no more, he has been trying to get back in, I don''t want him back in. I don''t care if he has to clean toilets, I don''t want him back in the mines." 16. Wide of restaurant 17. Close-up of decoration on wall 18. SOUNDBITE (English) Larry Asbury, Has two sons who work for Massey mines: "Well, everybody knows mining is dangerous but if you''re going to live here, which is our home, if you''re going to live here you''re probably going to end up working in the mines. Young kids know that and any middle aged person that is working out of state and decides to come home, he knows he is probably going to end up going underground, working in the mines." 19. Wide Asbury walking inside restaurant STORYLINE: A huge underground explosion blamed on methane gas killed 25 miners in the worst US coal mining disaster since 1984, and rescuers on Tuesday began a dangerous and possibly futile attempt to rescue four others still missing. Crews were bulldozing an access road so they could drill 1-thousand feet (300 meters) into the earth to release gases and make it safe to try to find the missing miners. You can license this story through AP Archive: http://www.aparchive.com/metadata/youtube/63392fdae96780069d9b196345473249 Find out more about AP Archive: http://www.aparchive.com/HowWeWork
Views: 56 AP Archive
Phillips Machine OEM Products
 
03:12
Visit: http://www.phillipsmachine.com "Twenty-Four Hour Service" was the slogan painted on the 1,600 foot, two-bay garage in Glen Daniel, West Virginia, when Jack and Jim Phillips opened Phillips Machine Service. The date was June 1, 1976, and the sky was the limit for what could be accomplished through this small business. In 1979, Phillips Machine Service moved to Harper Park in Beckley, West Virginia and Tom Cushman joined the Phillips team as Vice President of Marketing. Expansions continued at the Beckley facility throughout the 1980s and 1990s. Then in 2000, Phillips introduced their first OEM product at the Las Vegas MINExpo. The Freedom® Car was designed to meet the increased haulage capacity requirements of today's coal mine. This machine can be provided with battery power or cable power, as a new or rebuilt shuttle coal car; whatever is required for our customer's application. In 2002, Phillips branched out into the international market, opening Shanxi Phillips in China. 2007 brought more international growth with the start of a sales office in South Africa. That year also included managerial changes, as Bruce Dickerson was appointed Vice President of Operations. Expansion moved toward the western United States when Phillips opened a manufacturing facility in Delta, Colorado in 2008. That year, another Phillips first was revealed at the Las Vegas MINExpo -- the PM15DE Diesel Electric shuttle car. 2009 ushered in more changes, as Phillips Machine South Africa added manufacturing to their repertoire. A larger shop space was built there in 2011, to accommodate a greater workload. On February 23, 2011, Phillips acquired The Combs Group, Inc, adding office and shop locations in Tennessee and Kentucky. Formerly owned and operated by John and Susan Combs, The Combs Group specializes in rebuilding underground mining machinery, associated part sales, machining, fabrication, hydraulics and chrome plating. Phillips retains The Combs Group as an operating subsidiary. Now nearly four decades in the making, Phillips Machine Service, Inc. has grown into one of the largest full service companies of its type in the industry. Quality is our number one priority. This commitment has gained us a reputation that is second to none. Our company is involved in almost all phases of repairs, remanufacture, fabrication, development and sales of mining machinery. Some specific areas of operation include the following: repair and remanufacturing of cutter drums; rebuild of continuous miners, roof bolters, scoops, etc; rebuild of complete longwall faces; new manufacture and remanufacture of shuttle cars; the sale of used equipment, and service exchange assemblies. Phillips offers the exchange of completely rebuilt continuous miners and shuttle cars of most currently popular models, regardless of original manufacturer. A warranty equivalent to new machine warranty is included with all rebuilt and remanufactured machines. The primary reason for the success story at Phillips Machine is our personnel. The management team leads a dedicated work force of nearly 300 employees worldwide. The skill and expertise of our team is what makes Phillips an important player in the coal industry both nationally and globally. Through their dedication, we have developed a cutting edge technology base. The Phillips Philosophy is "To get our customers back in production as soon as possible. We are committed to listen to our customers needs through underground inspection and consulting." The resulting innovations have provided for our continued growth.
Views: 1345 phillipsmachine
Coastal Walk & Sea Coal Hunt
 
13:14
Saturday 16th April 2016, I visited an old haunt from my youth, walking the tideline in part between Crosby and Formby, north of Liverpool. Although a walk, the aim was to locate and collect some sea coal for use in a couple of future videos here on Youtube. I recalled as a child, people collecting the coal after storms and so decided to see if I could locate some, which I did and in amounts suited to my aims.
Views: 1198 StonecatWales
How To Play Piano: Bill Withers "Just The Two Of Us" Piano Tutorial by Ramin Yousefi
 
02:05
http://www.freemusicteacher.com/ How To Play Piano: Bill Withers "Just The Two Of Us" Piano Tutorial by Ramin Yousefi You Can Learn Piano From Basic to Advance by Watching These Music Clips William Harrison "Bill" Withers, Jr. (born July 4, 1938) is an American singer-songwriter and musician who performed and recorded from 1970 until 1985. He recorded a number of major hits, including "Lean on Me", "Ain't No Sunshine", "Use Me", "Just the Two of Us", "Lovely Day", and "Grandma's Hands". Withers' life was the subject of the 2009 documentary film Still Bill. In April 2015, he was inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame. Withers was born the youngest of six children in the small coal-mining town of Slab Fork, West Virginia. Raised in nearby Beckley, West Virginia, he was thirteen years old when his father died. Withers enlisted with the United States Navy at the age of 18 and served for nine years, during which time he became interested in singing and writing songs. Discharged from the Navy in 1965, he relocated to Los Angeles in 1967 for a musical career. Withers worked as an assembler for several different companies, including Douglas Aircraft Corporation, while recording demo tapes with his own money, shopping them around and performing in clubs at night. When he debuted with the song "Ain't No Sunshine" he refused to resign from his job because of his belief that the music business was a fickle industry "Just the Two of Us" is a song by American rapper Will Smith. It was released as the fourth single from his debut solo studio album, Big Willie Style (1997). The song was inspired by Bill Withers' and Grover Washington, Jr.'s love song of the same title; Smith's version samples and incorporates lyrics from the original. Instead of love between a couple, "Just the Two of Us" focuses on the relationship between a father and son. The song reached number 20 in the U.S. on the Billboard Hot 100, as well as number six on the Hot 100 Airplay. It was also a Top 5 hit in the UK, reaching number two. "Just the Two of Us" was one of Smith's biggest solo hits. Smith originally wrote a children's book with the same title and lyrics. For his album, he performed it in rap form. Instrumentation was provided by "Sauce" from the R&B group "Somethin' for the People". The song was parodied by Dr. Evil in the 1999 film Austin Powers: The Spy Who Shagged Me. The accompanying music video features Smith playing with his son, Trey, as well as numerous clips of several other famous men with their children.
Views: 23690 Free Music Teacher
Bill Withers - Use Me
 
04:51
William Harrison "Bill" Withers, Jr. (born July 4, 1938) is an American singer-songwriter and musician who performed and recorded from 1970 until 1985. Some of his best-known songs are "Lean on Me", "Ain't No Sunshine", "Use Me", "Just the Two of Us", "Lovely Day", and "Grandma's Hands". Withers was born the youngest of seven children in the small coal-mining town of Slab Fork, West Virginia. Raised in nearby Beckley, West Virginia, Withers was thirteen years old when his father died. He enlisted with the United States Navy at age eighteen and served for nine years, during which time he became interested in singing and writing songs. Soon after his discharge from the Navy in 1970, he relocated to Los Angeles for a musical career. Withers worked for several different companies while recording demo tapes with his own money, shopping them around and performing in clubs at night. When he debuted with the song "Ain't No Sunshine" he refused to resign his job because of his belief that the music business was a fickle industry and that he was still a novice compared to other acts. During early 1970 , Sussex Records Withers to a record deal and assigned Booker T. Jones to produce Withers' first album. Just as I Am was released in 1971 with the tracks "Ain't No Sunshine" and "Grandma's Hands" as singles. The album features Stephen Stills playing lead guitar. The album was a success and Withers began touring with a band assembled from members of The Watts 103rd Street Rhythm Band: drummer James Gadson, guitarist Benorce Blackmon, keyboardist Ray Jackson, and bassist Melvin Dunlap. At the 14th annual Grammy Awards on Tuesday, March 14, 1972, Withers won a Grammy Award for Best R&B Song for "Ain't No Sunshine." The track had already sold over one million copies, and was awarded a gold disc by the R.I.A.A. in September 1971. Withers recorded his second album, Still Bill. The single "Lean on Me" went to number one the week of July 8, 1972. It was Withers second gold disc awarded track with confirmed sales in excess of three million. His single "Use Me" released in August 1972, became his third million seller, with the R.I.A.A. gold disc award taking place on October 12, 1972. A Friday, October 6, 1972 performance on a rainy night was recorded for the live album Bill Withers, Live at Carnegie Hall released November 30, 1972. In 1974 Withers recorded the album, Justments. But he became involved in a legal dispute with the Sussex company and was unable to record for several years. Withers signed with Columbia Records in 1981. His first release with the label, Making Music, Making Friends, included the single "She's Lonely" which was featured in the film Looking for Mr. Goodbar. During the next three years he released an album each year with Naked & Warm (1976), Menagerie (1977, containing the successful Lovely Day) and Bout Love (1978) and Get On Down, the latter song was also on Looking for Mr. Goodbar soundtrack. Withers concentrated on joint projects between 1977 and 1985, including the successful "Just the Two of Us", with jazz saxophonist Grover Washington, Jr., which was released during June 1980. It won a Grammy on February 24, 1982. Withers next did Soul Shadows with The Crusaders, and In the Name of Love with Ralph MacDonald, the latter being nominated for a Grammy for vocal performance. In 1985 came Watching You, Watching Me, which featured the Top 40 rated Rhythm&Blues single "Oh Yeah". Withers ended his business association with Columbia Records after this release, which as of 2010 is his last studio album. In 1988, a new version of "Lovely Day" from the 1977 Menagerie album, titled "Lovely Day (Sunshine Mix)" and remixed by Ben Liebrand, reached the Top 10 in the United Kingdom, leading to Withers' performance on the long-running Top of the Pops that year. The original release had scored #2 in the UK in 1973, and the re-release scored to #1. In 1987, he received his ninth Grammy award nomination and on March 2, 1988 his third Grammy for Best Rhythm and Blues Song as songwriter for the re-recording of Lean On Me by Club Nouveau on their debut album Life, Love and Pain, released in 1986 on Warner Bros. Records. In 2007, "Lean On Me" was inducted into the Grammy Hall of Fame. SOURCE: Wikipedia PLEASE NOTE: I divided my uploads among multiple channels, Bookmark this link in your browser for instant access to an index with links to all of John1948's oldies classics. LINK: http://john1948.wikifoundry.com/page/John1948%27s+Youtube+Index
Views: 36285 John1948TwoA1
Adkins Fork Campaign - Tell Banks to Stop Funding MTR
 
03:00
The Blair Mountain Battlefield in Logan County, West Virginia, is an extremely important part of US History. Companies such as Arch Coal, with financial backing from some of the largest banks, are attempting to destroy the battlefield with MTR. In addition these operations have already decimated much of the community of Blair. The Adkins Fork permit sits directly above the town of Blair and is in the center of one of the most important parts of the battlefield. Take a stand today. Tell banks to stop funding operations that destroy communities, people's health, our environment, and our heritage. Sign our petition here: http://signon.org/sign/stop-financing-the-destructi Go to our website to learn more: www.blairmountain.org
Views: 380 Blair Mountain
Blaupunkt Coal Mine Commercial
 
00:46
Experience profound sound quality with Blaupunkt.
Views: 284 BlaupunktIndia
Black Suit Daddy - Willow Branch Wanderers
 
02:54
From Wikipedia: The Upper Big Branch Mine disaster occurred on April 5, 2010 about 1,000 feet (300 m) underground at Massey Energy's Upper Big Branch coal mine at Montcoal in Raleigh County, West Virginia. Twenty-nine out of thirty-one miners at the site were killed. Due to the large concentration of toxic gases in the mine, MSHA investigators had to wait for over two months to enter the mine for investigation. Investigators were able to enter the mine on July 2, 2010. On May 19th, 2011, the independent investigation team released a report which faulted both Massey Energy and the Mine Safety and Health Administration for the blast. Massey was strongly condemned by the report for multiple failures to meet basic safety standards outlined in the Mine Act of 1977. "A company that was a towering presence in the Appalachian coal fields operated its mines in a profoundly reckless manner, and 29 coal miners paid with their lives for the corporate risk taking," read the report. "The company's ventilation system did not adequately ventilate the mine. As a result, explosive gases were allowed to build up." Also detailed in the report are allegations that Massey Energy threatened miners with termination if they stopped work in areas that lacked adequate oxygen levels. Numerous other state and federal safety standards that Massey failed to comply with were detailed in the report. Investigators also say that the U.S. Department of Labor and its Mine Safety and Health Administration (MSHA) were at fault for failing to act decisively at the mine even after Massey was issued 515 citations for safety violations at the Upper Big Branch mine in 2009. The report lambastes MSHA inspectors for failing to issue a flagrant violation citation which could have fined the company up to $220,000. Investigators claimed that this citation was entirely necessary given Massey's failure to meet basic safety protocols and the investigators found it "disturbing" that the violation was not issued. The failure to issue flagrant violation citations was attributed to MSHA which also failed to notify the miners and their families that they were working in a mine which had not met minimal safety requirements. As further evidence of MSHA's failures in the lead up to the UBB mine explosion, the report discusses how MSHA safety inspectors failed to enforce the safety protocols at Massey Energy's Aracoma Alma #1 mine. In 2007, a fire broke out at the Aracoma Alma #1 mine killing two miners. The report described the fire as "preventable" and cites an internal MSHA review following the fire which found that inspectors "were shocked by the deplorable conditions of the mine" and that MSHA inspectors had "failed" to enforce adequate safety measures. Furthermore the report outlines how in the lead up to the blast the UBB mine "experienced at least three major methane-related events". One in 1997, another in 2003, and a third in 2004. Instead of addressing these issues, "Upper Big Branch management elected to consider each methane outburst or explosion as an anomaly." Furthermore, MSHA officials "did not compel (or to our knowledge even ask) UBB management to implement," safety precautions following these events. The report claims that Massey used its power "to attempt to control West Virginia's political system." The report cites how politicians were afraid of the company because it "was willing to spend vast amounts of money to influence elections." Massey intentionally neglected safety precautions for the purpose of increasing profit margins according to the report. Safety precautions in mines are "a hard-earned right paid for with the blood of coal miners" read the report's introduction. In addition to MSHA, the FBI has also launched a probe, investigating possible criminal wrongdoing at the mine, including criminal negligence and possible bribery of federal regulators.
Views: 953 gonzoroot
McDowell County Outreach and Correctional Facility Preach
 
05:55
Giveaway Clothes, shoes, blankets, toiletries, food and cleaning supplies
New York's DiNapoli Discusses Massey Energy Leadership: Video
 
02:01
April 13 (Bloomberg) -- New York State Comptroller Thomas P. DiNapoli talks with Bloomberg's Matt Miller and Carol Massar about his call for the resignation of Massey Energy Co. Chief Executive Officer Don Blankenship following a fatal explosion at the company's Upper Big Branch mine in Montcoal, West Virginia, on April 5. (This is an excerpt of the full interview. Source: Bloomberg)
Views: 136 Bloomberg
Save Blair Mountain Rally in Charleston, West Virginia
 
06:27
The rally was an important gathering of young and old to protect West Virginia's heritage. Mountaintop removal is threatening the site of the largest uprising is US labor history, and one of the most important historical labor sites in the country. People came together that day to protect union history and the people's' heritage from out-of-state coal companies.
Views: 375 CAYENWV
Pike Co. Vs. Winfield 1of6 HD
 
14:05
Coal Field Classic WVSN brings you a look in at this border showdown, WV vs. KY.
Views: 268 wvsportsnet
Bill Withers - Aint No Sunshine (Midnight Special - 1974)
 
02:24
William Harrison "Bill" Withers, Jr. (born July 4, 1938) is an American singer-songwriter and musician who performed and recorded from 1970 until 1985. Some of his best-known songs are "Lean on Me", "Ain't No Sunshine", "Use Me", "Just the Two of Us", "Lovely Day", and "Grandma's Hands". Withers was born the youngest of seven children in the small coal-mining town of Slab Fork, West Virginia. Raised in nearby Beckley, West Virginia, Withers was thirteen years old when his father died. He enlisted with the United States Navy at age eighteen and served for nine years, during which time he became interested in singing and writing songs. Soon after his discharge from the Navy in 1970, he relocated to Los Angeles for a musical career. Withers worked for several different companies while recording demo tapes with his own money, shopping them around and performing in clubs at night. When he debuted with the song "Ain't No Sunshine" he refused to resign his job because of his belief that the music business was a fickle industry and that he was still a novice compared to other acts. During early 1970 , Sussex Records Withers to a record deal and assigned Booker T. Jones to produce Withers' first album. Just as I Am was released in 1971 with the tracks "Ain't No Sunshine" and "Grandma's Hands" as singles. The album features Stephen Stills playing lead guitar. The album was a success and Withers began touring with a band assembled from members of The Watts 103rd Street Rhythm Band: drummer James Gadson, guitarist Benorce Blackmon, keyboardist Ray Jackson, and bassist Melvin Dunlap. At the 14th annual Grammy Awards on Tuesday, March 14, 1972, Withers won a Grammy Award for Best R&B Song for "Ain't No Sunshine." The track had already sold over one million copies, and was awarded a gold disc by the R.I.A.A. in September 1971. Withers recorded his second album, Still Bill. The single "Lean on Me" went to number one the week of July 8, 1972. It was Withers second gold disc awarded track with confirmed sales in excess of three million. His single "Use Me" released in August 1972, became his third million seller, with the R.I.A.A. gold disc award taking place on October 12, 1972. A Friday, October 6, 1972 performance on a rainy night was recorded for the live album Bill Withers, Live at Carnegie Hall released November 30, 1972. In 1974 Withers recorded the album, Justments. But he became involved in a legal dispute with the Sussex company and was unable to record for several years. Withers signed with Columbia Records in 1981. His first release with the label, Making Music, Making Friends, included the single "She's Lonely" which was featured in the film Looking for Mr. Goodbar. During the next three years he released an album each year with Naked & Warm (1976), Menagerie (1977, containing the successful Lovely Day) and Bout Love (1978) and Get On Down, the latter song was also on Looking for Mr. Goodbar soundtrack. Withers concentrated on joint projects between 1977 and 1985, including the successful "Just the Two of Us", with jazz saxophonist Grover Washington, Jr., which was released during June 1980. It won a Grammy on February 24, 1982. Withers next did Soul Shadows with The Crusaders, and In the Name of Love with Ralph MacDonald, the latter being nominated for a Grammy for vocal performance. In 1985 came Watching You, Watching Me, which featured the Top 40 rated Rhythm&Blues single "Oh Yeah". Withers ended his business association with Columbia Records after this release, which as of 2010 is his last studio album. In 1988, a new version of "Lovely Day" from the 1977 Menagerie album, titled "Lovely Day (Sunshine Mix)" and remixed by Ben Liebrand, reached the Top 10 in the United Kingdom, leading to Withers' performance on the long-running Top of the Pops that year. The original release had scored #2 in the UK in 1973, and the re-release scored to #1. In 1987, he received his ninth Grammy award nomination and on March 2, 1988 his third Grammy for Best Rhythm and Blues Song as songwriter for the re-recording of Lean On Me by Club Nouveau on their debut album Life, Love and Pain, released in 1986 on Warner Bros. Records. In 2007, "Lean On Me" was inducted into the Grammy Hall of Fame. SOURCE: Wikipedia PLEASE NOTE: I divided my uploads among multiple channels, Bookmark this link in your browser for instant access to an index with links to all of John1948's oldies classics. LINK: http://john1948.wikifoundry.com/page/John1948%27s+Youtube+Index
Views: 33589 John1948TwoA1
Don Blankenship's Tele-Town Hall on February 15, 2018
 
57:49
Mr. Blankenship appreciated the questions from West Virginians who joined him for a live telephone town hall on February 15th. Thanks to those who participated.
Views: 219 Don Blankenship
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Logan - Logan, West Virginia
 
02:03
Hotel and Resort photography & video by PhotoWeb (photowebusa.com) Logan, West Virginia Hotel's amenities are sure to please. Travelers appreciate our West Virginia hotel's great location as we are close to nearby attractions and businesses. The Logan Holiday Inn Express® Hotel & Suites offers convenient amenities and a thoughtful, accommodating staff. Business travelers appreciate the fact that our facilities include a Business Center with copy services and computer access. Our Logan hotel also offers a meeting room for your convenience. Nearby companies include Mohawk Flooring, Massey Energy and Walmart, and we are just a few miles from downtown Logan. While in West Virginia, our hotel's guests can take advantage of our great location. Downtown offers numerous activities for visitors to enjoy and is just six miles from our Logan hotel. History buffs are sure to enjoy the Shawnee Living History Trail while families can go to attractions like Water Ways Park and Hatfield and McCoy Trails. Be sure to visit Chief Logan State Park, as well, where you can enjoy outdoor productions and the beautiful West Virginia landscape. We proudly offer free high-speed, wireless Internet access throughout the hotel for your convenience. You can relax by the indoor pool after a long day of meetings, or you can use the Fitness Center to keep up your workout routine. Be sure to also take advantage of our complimentary, hot breakfast bar each morning. Call our Logan hotel to make you reservations today! Hotel and Resort photography & video by PhotoWeb (photowebusa.com).??PhotoWeb's Virtual Tours, videos, Digital Stills & Worldwide Distribution allow clients to put their most powerful media where the booking decisions are being made. With superior technology and the highest quality custom content available, viewers are guaranteed to be impressed.?Photo Web has been providing cutting edge imaging services since 1996. With offices in the US, UK, Australia, Japan, India, and Colombia, PhotoWeb provides services worldwide.??For further information, please contact [email protected] or tel: 614-882-3499.
Views: 791 photowebhd

Fsc magnesium 150 mg viagra
Levitra 10mg schmelztabletten preisvergleich deutschland
Antivert 25mg uses
Fluoxetine mg capsules
Differin gel 0 1 galderma logo